We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great holiday ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, in keeping with the classic Italian decor. Some say old fashioned, but that's the style of hotels in Limone. Food was excellent, different choices each night. Also free beer, wine and soft drinks with evening meal which was a real bonus!
Location is perfect, right in the heart of Limone, no noise or drunk people, as this is a exclusive area.

Would strongly recommend a stay here.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosewood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    155
    58
    11
    5
See reviews for
96
359
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are just about to leave this lovely hotel after a short break here in Limone. The hotel is old fashioned so if you're looking for modern and minimalist this hotel probably isn't for you. However despite the 1960s bedroom and decor everything is immaculate and spotlessly clean. The hotels location is amazing and the hotel has a gorgeous huge balcony overlooking the town and lake. Our room was small but had a small balcony for sitting out. We slept like logs as the room was cool and quiet. The pool area is lovely and the pool decking overlooks the lake. The town is a short 2 minute walk away and the ferries leave for all over the lake from Limone. The food is fine and as it's all buffet style it's easy to find something to suit everyone. It's not Masterchef but it's perfectly fine. The reception staff are lovely and so helpful. It's generally a hotel for older people but it suited us very well and we are early fifties. Only two minor gripes. The music played in the foyer is truly awful and not at all relaxing and the hairdryers are so useless you may as well not even try to dry your hair. I'm writing this drying my hair in the sun. I'd advise bringing your own hair dryer. Apart from that we loved this hotel and it's wonderful views. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Floor one is the top floor and floor 4 is the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Meath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from a one week stay at Hotel Splendid Palace and it truly was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The views from the hotel were stunning, the staff were super friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were spotless.(I found the bed comfortable but it was a bit too hard for my husband.) All the rooms look out towards the lake but if you have a ground floor room then you won't be able to see it, you will be looking at the outdoor pool. Our room was one floor up and we had a beautiful view. The layout of the hotel is very interesting and it took us most of the week to find our way around. We discovered that there is a lovely wee hidden garden at the side of the hotel called the Calmness Garden. It has a few sun loungers in the shade of the lemon trees and a covered outdoor jacuzzi. The hotel is barely a 5 minute walk from the centre of Limone which is a stunning little town with practically no traffic. Quite idyllic really. A look forward to returning. 8-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnyblueswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I have just had a super week at the Hotel Splendid Palace in beautiful Limone. What a great hotel. At first glance it appears a little dated, but is actually fairly typical in style to other hotels in the area. It is however immaculately well maintained in all areas. The whole staff take a pride in their hotel and were faultless in their service and friendliness. The food was varied and plentiful, served in buffet style along with free wine, beer or soft drinks at dinner and afternoon tea at 4pm each day. On top of all that Limone is by far the best resort on the Lake. It is full of old world charm and provides endless opportunities for ambling around the winding cobbled streets. The views across the lake take in snow capped Monte Baldo and we did lots of resort hopping on the very inexpensive ferries that run throughout the day. A great hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Top tip - ask for a lakeside view on one of the upper floors in a quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 464sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontneddfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family and I stayed here for one week in Late May. The hotel offers fantastic lake side views and was very clean. Based on other trip advisor reviews we requested two top floor rooms to get the best views but after two noisy nights I had to change my room as the noise of scrapping chairs and chatting from the top most floor bar was keeping me awake! Generally the soundproofing doesn't seem very good for light sleepers like myself as I also had poor nights sleep for a further 2 nights from guests sitting out chatting on their balconies until the early hours of the morning. Having said this the Hotel Splendid Palace is located in a beautiful spot and only a convenient 5 minute walk into the center of Limone. We preferred to use the swimming pool and facilities at their sister hotel, Hotel Panorama as this offered even more amazing pool side views (please note both inside and outside pools at both hotels were cold, including the Jacuzzi!).

The staff at the Hotel Splendid Palace were very helpful. The buffet style dinning food was of a good quality and different each night. However the breakfast food was plentiful but remained the same each day. Free unlimited wine, beer or soft drinks with the evening meals and free fruit juices with breakfast. Hotel Beach Towels provided so no need to pack any. Rooms kept very clean and although a little dated you can ignore this due to the lovely views outside.

Evening entertainment (4 nights out of seven) was mixed with some excellent nights and some not so.

Overall, a lovely clean hotel in a beautiful location with good food and friendly staff. Handy location for Ferry point in town and great being able to use sister hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views but can be noisy as just below the roof top bar and reception. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodloverKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've traveled a lot over the last twenty years but this is one of the friendliest hotels I ever stayed in and that is mainly due to the fantastic staff. The hotel is ideally situated and food was lovely with a large choice.
My only draw back and it has been mentioned before, is that the ground floor(4th floor) rooms need to be updated.
I hope to return again in September and I'll look for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms and enjoy again the beauty of Lake Garda..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

i stayed in the Splendid palace for 4 nights, the hotel does have a very friendly and Characteristic atmosphere. don't feel its outdated by the interior as i was looking round hotels in pretty much every other resort on my duration there, they all pretty much have the same sort of interior. staff was very friendly and made a effort to try as much English as possible for people with minimal Italian. they do have evening entertainment most nights of the week to keep everyone happy and enjoy the evening. the food was very good and changed every night believe it or not drinks are on tap(only breakfast and dinner.) so you get unlimited refills this does include wine and beer as well as fruit juice and soft drinks.the breakfast is pretty much the same every morning with a wide range of choice.they do have wifi but this does cost. 2 downsides that i thought of the hotel but wont ruin your holiday, 1 the sauna does cost and you have to prebook it the indoor pool didn't feel that it was warm so the Jacuzzi wasn't the best to sit in when cold.2nd is the location amazing views don't get me wrong however the walk down to the town and return maybe a bit tricky for people who have wheel chairs. overall great impression of the hotel really enjoyed myself, especially on the food as being a lot heavier to when i came out, it seemed families was welcome to stay but more of elderly couples or solo travelers. one top tip i learned is dont by a drink before dinner as you get free ones downstairs !

Room Tip: choose any rooms on second level down if you wan quiet as the first floor is beneath the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FREESTYLE016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#9 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Dirce
Hotel Villa Dirce
#7 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#10 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Property: Hotel Splendid Palace
Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing