We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my wife for 1 week at the end of May. We travelled with Thomas Cook and on arrival were allocated a pool view room. The hotel is upside down as its built into a cliff so you go down in the lift to the rooms. Our room was on the bottom level on floor 4 and smelt very musty and unused when we entered...the smell remained for a couple of days then went. The room was quite spacious with a very large bathroom but an incredibly small shower.If you happen to be XL or larger then you may have an issue. There was a small balcony which was separated from the pool patio. This did prove to be a slight issue regarding privacy as the sun beds are positioned right next to the rooms. You did however still have a good lake view, however I would pay a bit more and have a room on level 3 or 2, but not 1 as other guests told me there was noise from the reception area upstairs.
As the hotel is rated as No.1 in Limone I was expecting the food to be good, but was disappointed to find it was a buffet. However there was a good choice but you had to negotiate waiters and other guests with food to get back to your table. One perk is the unlimited drinks with dinner(this includes wine, beer, water and soft drinks).
The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the ferry point, though coming back it is slightly uphill. For anyone who hasn't been to Limone it is one of the prettiest towns in Europe, with Malcesine over the water following close behind.
This was our 6th visit to Lake Garda and I think this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and all speak very good English.
The hotel puts on entertainment several times a week, with music, dancers and a magician. We watched a couple of shows and they were OK.
From 4 to 5 each afternoon they have free tea, coffee and biscuits, which was great as we usually arrived back most days around 4ish.
Note that the winter boat service remains in palce until 31st May so there was a restricted amount of boats each day. If you want to visit the southern lake area you really need to take the rapido hydrofoil which does cost more than the conventional boats but its worth it.
Overall a good holiday and we would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room on floor 3 or floor 2...you have a great lake view, privacy and the room is coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, in keeping with the classic Italian decor. Some say old fashioned, but that's the style of hotels in Limone. Food was excellent, different choices each night. Also free beer, wine and soft drinks with evening meal which was a real bonus!
Location is perfect, right in the heart of Limone, no noise or drunk people, as this is a exclusive area.

Would strongly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Rosewood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are just about to leave this lovely hotel after a short break here in Limone. The hotel is old fashioned so if you're looking for modern and minimalist this hotel probably isn't for you. However despite the 1960s bedroom and decor everything is immaculate and spotlessly clean. The hotels location is amazing and the hotel has a gorgeous huge balcony overlooking the town and lake. Our room was small but had a small balcony for sitting out. We slept like logs as the room was cool and quiet. The pool area is lovely and the pool decking overlooks the lake. The town is a short 2 minute walk away and the ferries leave for all over the lake from Limone. The food is fine and as it's all buffet style it's easy to find something to suit everyone. It's not Masterchef but it's perfectly fine. The reception staff are lovely and so helpful. It's generally a hotel for older people but it suited us very well and we are early fifties. Only two minor gripes. The music played in the foyer is truly awful and not at all relaxing and the hairdryers are so useless you may as well not even try to dry your hair. I'm writing this drying my hair in the sun. I'd advise bringing your own hair dryer. Apart from that we loved this hotel and it's wonderful views. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Floor one is the top floor and floor 4 is the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have recently returned from a one week stay at Hotel Splendid Palace and it truly was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The views from the hotel were stunning, the staff were super friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were spotless.(I found the bed comfortable but it was a bit too hard for my husband.) All the rooms look out towards the lake but if you have a ground floor room then you won't be able to see it, you will be looking at the outdoor pool. Our room was one floor up and we had a beautiful view. The layout of the hotel is very interesting and it took us most of the week to find our way around. We discovered that there is a lovely wee hidden garden at the side of the hotel called the Calmness Garden. It has a few sun loungers in the shade of the lemon trees and a covered outdoor jacuzzi. The hotel is barely a 5 minute walk from the centre of Limone which is a stunning little town with practically no traffic. Quite idyllic really. A look forward to returning. 8-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank johnnyblueswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I have just had a super week at the Hotel Splendid Palace in beautiful Limone. What a great hotel. At first glance it appears a little dated, but is actually fairly typical in style to other hotels in the area. It is however immaculately well maintained in all areas. The whole staff take a pride in their hotel and were faultless in their service and friendliness. The food was varied and plentiful, served in buffet style along with free wine, beer or soft drinks at dinner and afternoon tea at 4pm each day. On top of all that Limone is by far the best resort on the Lake. It is full of old world charm and provides endless opportunities for ambling around the winding cobbled streets. The views across the lake take in snow capped Monte Baldo and we did lots of resort hopping on the very inexpensive ferries that run throughout the day. A great hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Top tip - ask for a lakeside view on one of the upper floors in a quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 464sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family and I stayed here for one week in Late May. The hotel offers fantastic lake side views and was very clean. Based on other trip advisor reviews we requested two top floor rooms to get the best views but after two noisy nights I had to change my room as the noise of scrapping chairs and chatting from the top most floor bar was keeping me awake! Generally the soundproofing doesn't seem very good for light sleepers like myself as I also had poor nights sleep for a further 2 nights from guests sitting out chatting on their balconies until the early hours of the morning. Having said this the Hotel Splendid Palace is located in a beautiful spot and only a convenient 5 minute walk into the center of Limone. We preferred to use the swimming pool and facilities at their sister hotel, Hotel Panorama as this offered even more amazing pool side views (please note both inside and outside pools at both hotels were cold, including the Jacuzzi!).

The staff at the Hotel Splendid Palace were very helpful. The buffet style dinning food was of a good quality and different each night. However the breakfast food was plentiful but remained the same each day. Free unlimited wine, beer or soft drinks with the evening meals and free fruit juices with breakfast. Hotel Beach Towels provided so no need to pack any. Rooms kept very clean and although a little dated you can ignore this due to the lovely views outside.

Evening entertainment (4 nights out of seven) was mixed with some excellent nights and some not so.

Overall, a lovely clean hotel in a beautiful location with good food and friendly staff. Handy location for Ferry point in town and great being able to use sister hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views but can be noisy as just below the roof top bar and reception. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodloverKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've traveled a lot over the last twenty years but this is one of the friendliest hotels I ever stayed in and that is mainly due to the fantastic staff. The hotel is ideally situated and food was lovely with a large choice.
My only draw back and it has been mentioned before, is that the ground floor(4th floor) rooms need to be updated.
I hope to return again in September and I'll look for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms and enjoy again the beauty of Lake Garda..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £100 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing