We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Travelled to Limone in August 2014 for one week. Weather not brilliant but fortunately the indoor pool was available. Food was very good and the chef cooked fresh fried eggs every morning when requested. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are fine except for the tiny shower cubicle but this would not spoil a holiday at the Hotel Splendid Palace. Location was excellent just up a small slope from the centre of Limone. We had a pool room view which may be noisy (luckily not many people round the pool in the rain!!!!) and no privacy if you open all the curtains so probably better to have a room in upper floors. Tea and biscuits were a nice extra although it was from a machine but the biscuits were lovely lemon ones!!! Overall a good holiday and as this was the first time we stayed half board (usually stay in apartments) we were extremely impressed with the quality and quantity of the food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    156
    59
    11
    5
See reviews for
96
363
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Limone and staying at the Splendid Palace Hotel. We booked last October 2013 after reading some great reviews. Just before we travelled I checked Trip Adviser again and was sad to see so many poor comments re rooms, décor, food, sun bed availability etc. Well all I can say is ignore the bad press - this Hotel is Splendid and great value for money. The décor is what you would expect of a typical old Italian Hotel - the rooms were spotless, as was the whole Hotel. The staff were friendly and made our stay very comfortable. Great choice of food at Breakfast and at evening buffet with wine and soft drinks included. Its in a perfect location, in a perfect spot on Lake Garda, its a perfect Hotel for a perfect Holiday. You are in Italy not London or anywhere else where chocolate and cream and plain white bedding has become the fashion. This is Italy and like us enjoy it for what it is - Splendid!! WE LOVED IT SO MUCH WE ARE ALREADY AFTER JUST 24 HOURS BACK HOME - WE WANT TO BOOK AGAIN FOR NEXT YEAR.

Room Tip: Lake View room best. We had 309.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandssmithson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel first 2 weeks August, 2 adults and a daughter who is 12.
The hotel is very welcoming, got in after dinner and had a table in the bar area reserved and a cold plate of delicious food served after we checked in.
The hotel could be said to be dated but we have been to many places in Italy and it's very much the Italian style, also it does not matter at all as it's spotlessly clean everywhere and most importantly the rooms have a view to die for. The rooms are a decent size with a shower room that is adequate, great balcony with tremendous view, yes safe is small, hair dryer not that great but everything else makes up for this.
The staff are really fantastic, Maritzio, Stefano, Marco, Simone and Larissa really made our holiday, we were treated as friends and as real people, they seemed interested in us all as we were them, makes a huge change from being just a room number!!
The food was so very good, we went thinking we would have several evening meals out but there was never a need as in 2 weeks the food was never repetitive and was really of excellent quality, from the starters, pasta, meat/fish, desserts and cheeses, even the wine, beer etc was all good.
Cocktails before dinner were great, so many and very much a talking point that we ended up meeting many friends just asking each other what the different ones were.
Pools lovely, yes towels out early, the same as anywhere, the couple of days when we decided to go to pool we did same, as long as you had a towel out by 9, no problem.
I have to say the swimming in the lake was by far the best place to be, totally wonderful and swimming alongside swans with cygnets and ducks with ducklings, could not be beat.
We will definitely go back to the hotel, probably next year, maybe for a week and try a week at another lake.
Limone is by far the prettiest around the lake, we did several places, all worth a look.
The Dolomite trip was also worth it, stunning.
All in all if you want a real Italian experience with great staff, food and views, book it.
If you a modern minimalist hotel where you come and go unnoticed then this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caz226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful location and like your other reviewers I agree the decor needs up dating. Also Tea and Coffee facilities in the rooms would also be a plus.Had a Lovely time despite 4 Days of rain out of 7 which is beyond anyones control.

Room Tip: We were in the second block of the Hotel with Rooms Numbered 900 +.These are away from the Main bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devalliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I do not normally return to a resort or hotel, preferring to try somewhere new but made an exception this year. Having had a really good time at the Splendid Palace some years ago we returned in July only to be really disappointed. The room we were allocated (032) was in what I can best describe as a villa at the side of the main building. It was not up to the standard we remembered from our first visit. The furnishings were very shabby. The floor creaked with every step and the shower room / toilet was a joke ( see photo ). I estimated it's size at 1.4 x 1.5 metres in which were crammed a shower, toilet and wash basin. The door was a folding door as there was no room to open a conventional door. The room was a hell of a long way from the main body of the hotel ( see photo )with the final part being a narrow flight of stairs down which we had to carry our suitcases. There was no offer of assistance ( not very 4 star). I went to reception to ask for a change of room and there was the chap from the adjacent room doing the same. We were both told that other than another room in the same "villa" the hotel was full and nothing could be done until rooms became available later in the week. We did move when a room became available but the experience has spoiled our opinion of this hotel. I spoke to a number of people housed in this villa and none were very impressed. We had travelled here with Thomson lakes and mountains to whom I sent an email relating our experience and also the fact that our transfer from Verona airport took over 4 hours but they where adamant that we got what we paid for and made no comment on the transfer times. In our opinion this part of the hotel is definitely not 4 star. As for the rest of the hotel, it is looking a little tired but the food was pretty good and the hotel was very clean. Don't let this put you off Limone which is a lovely place. Just beware that there are rooms in this hotel that are not all that they claim. As for Thomsons we were very disappointed in there attitude after using them for so many years.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location of this hotel is truly breathtaking, hewn as it is into the side of a mountain directly overlooking the spectacular Lake Garda. Every room in this hotel has a lake view which is just as well, as from a decor point of view the rooms are truly grim, but walk out onto your balcony and the view is simply stunning. This almost makes up for the drab decor, almost.

Picture if you will, carpet which runs along the walls in every corridor to a height of 3ft up the wall, fake flowers in abundance in both the lobby, bar and restaurant, patterned everything - all clashing, dreary lighting in the room, and a lack of ambient lighting in the communal areas also, tiny ensuites with nowhere to hang towels save an awkward towel heater half way up the wall and beds as hard as a board, no luggage rack, no tea and coffee making facilities, no iron and a worse than useless hairdryer.

Having checked in and been suitably disappointed by the decor I was fully expecting to find everything else wanting. How wrong I was. Whilst the restaurant is dull due to unsympathetic lighting, (despite its abundance of yellow tablecloths, and yellow walls,) the food was really excellent quality. Each night there was something to suit even the fussiest of eaters with a variety of meat, fish and pasta dishes, cheese, cold-meats salads and breads and a large selection of deserts and the breakfast in the morning was similarly varied and good. To me this is the hotels saving grace as, when travelling with children as we were, it is great to just have your food when you want it with none of the waiting around to be served whilst your children get restless. It was just a case of going up to the various stations and taking what you wanted. All very hassle free. The staff in the restaurant were pleasant and professional in a very busy environment. I have read some of the reviews saying the restaurant is a bit too canteen-like and indeed it has that feel to it, but busy though it was, we never had to stand in any queue for longer than a minute or so. So from a food point of view, excellent.

The other great thing about this hotel was the crisp, fresh sheets and pillowcases that were put on the beds every day and the towels, both bath towels and pool towels changed daily, however this obvious cleanliness was let down by the dated and dreary (and in our room, peeling) wallpaper and faded carpets which made it feel not clean enough for my liking.

The hotel has three pools, an outdoor one at ground level, an indoor one (which we were glad of as there was a lot of rain whilst we were there) and a "secret" one that overlooks the lake. The pools were all clean but very cold but our kids enjoyed them. Beware the early risers who put their towels on the sun loungers and disappear for half the day though! We had to adopt an "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" approach to that, alas only for the first couple of days before the rain made lounging impossible!

Now let's talk about steps, as I said, this hotel is hewn into the side of a mountain so consequently there are many steps to negotiate. This is grand if you're fit, healthy and pramless /buggyless but if you have a pram/buggy with you be prepared to carry it up and down lots of steps. On the first night we went into Limone for a walk around and our child fell asleep in the buggy. We decided that we'd carry it up the steps with him inside rather that lifting him out, but the gradient was so steep we feared he'd slip out so we had to lift him out and carry him up. There is no way around this, you will have to negotiate around 40 steps to get from street level to hotel and even though there are lifts in the hotel, on the level we were on there was still a small, mid-corridor set of steps we had to lift the buggy up and down.

Now unfortunately it rained quite a bit when we were in Limone but because of the decor, the last thing we wanted to do was spend any time in the hotel during the rain, especially as there were no tea/coffee making facilities, whereas I've been in many hotels where I'd be happy to potter about the hotel if it was raining outside. There is free tea and coffee in the bar from 4-5pm but be warned, it's from a machine and the water is not warm enough to make a decent cuppa. Oh, and bizarrely there is no tea or coffee in the evening after dinner, why?

Limone itself is a truly beautiful town, small but perfectly formed. We didn't find it particularly expensive and whilst we were there there was plenty of street entertainment. It's a lovely place to be. If you do like the sun and are lucky enough to get some while you are here, be aware that because of the height mountains it is nestled in, Limone is in the shade from fairly early in the evening and you will have to settle for looking across the lake to the town of Malcesine bathed in sunlight.

The towns of Riva and Malcesine are well worth a visit and the hotel is very close to the port where the ferry boats depart from.

Would I go back to this hotel, definitely, as soon as it has been given a decorative makeover.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank f.unger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Splendid Palace despite the weather (rained 4 out of our 7 days) and the hideous decor. My God owners of the hotel you are sitting on a gem here. Get your finger out and update this wonderful hotel! It's fabulous in every other way, food, staff, location....it's brilliant but that decor!!
Ok enough about the decor. The hotel is truely fabulous in every other way. We loved it and would go back. Limone is gorgeous, my favourite of all the towns we visited. Child friendly although I was quite shocked about the abrupt attitude of some of the Italians in this region towards children. In Southern Italy they adore children, not so much up here although don't let this put you off bringing children. Our 4 year old loved it. Great spot, great hotel. Missing it already!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladyllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#20 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Property: Hotel Splendid Palace
Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing