We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable holiday”
Review of Hotel Castell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castell
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Although basic Italian hotel, staff were very friendly and room although basic was cleaned daily , food was fine and value for money, we stayed on top level and views over lake were very good, lounge area could have been nicer , location of hotel is good but if not able for steps would be a bother. Pool was nice and also kept very clean. Have no complaints as we didn't go to sit in hotel room and would return without hesitation, all in all we had a very good holiday with no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    112
    35
    19
    10
See reviews for
46
136
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Limone, booked last minute with Thomson. We had previously booked a 4 star hotel with another tour company but were told a week before the flight that our hotel and destination had been changed so we cancelled and rebooked again, the 3 star Castell being only 1 of 2 options possible at that time. It was with some trepidation that we arrived at the Castell as we had read some of the mixed reviews. Our holiday, however, was truly memorable and any shortcomings in the hotel were, in my opinion, more than made up for by the staggering view from our balcony. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and our room was cleaned and towels changed daily. Sheets were changed twice during our stay. We booked half board and the food was plentiful each evening, starting with a salad/antipasto buffet and then progressing to pasta, followed by fish or meat dish and then a dessert. There was always a vegetarian option. Breakfast was fine also. This is not a gourmet experience but we enjoyed it. Guests do have to sit at the same table and have to choose the next day's evening meal in advance (bit like a hospital!) but this did not bother us at all. Drinks were reasonably priced and both food and drink were served with a smile from the 2 extremely pleasant waitresses. The hotel is built into the hillside and is right at the top of the village so most people had to go "downstairs" to their rooms. We were right at the end of the -2 floor, a room meant to sleep 3 so room or storage space was not a problem. The en suite was "snug" but ok. Soap and 2 sachets of shampoo were provided so take your own toiletries! Our room did not have a hair drier - not a problem for me but could be for some - but I do believe that other rooms had this piece of equipment. Our room, because it was right at the end of the corridor, had a large balcony with superb views. We also had the advantage of a gate and private (fire escape) stairs leading to the pool area. There are the oft mentioned steps down to the resort so if you have mobility issues, this is not the hotel for you. For us, the view and the close proximity to the centre of the resort,more than compensated for the climb back up. The only black mark I would give is the absence of air conditioning which should be supplied as part of the package. I believe most rooms have a circulating fan but our room did not. During our stay the temperature rarely dropped below 30 degrees and we slept with windows open, louvred shutters closed and fine drapes artfully arranged to keep out any biting insects! I believe that air conditioning could be purchased but, when asked, the member of staff to whom I spoke seemed very reluctant so I did not press the point. With temperatures expected to rise in the coming weeks, I most certainly would not be put off again if I were returning. My review is influenced strongly by the fact that we had a wonderful holiday in a stunning location, enjoying fabulous weather, at a bargain price. This is a 3 star hotel so should not be compared with the facilities of a 4 star. Would we stay there again - absolutely.

Room Tip: End of corridor rooms are set at right angles to the rest and enjoy large, private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandECarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

we booked late with Crystal & were aware of some of the negative reveiws for this hotel.We had been to Limone before & would say this hotel provides fantastic veiws & good value for money.The half board was perfect for us Italian food & excellent service.The hotel was friendly with a fabulous pool area.The famous steps are fine if you are fit & well ....it could be struggle otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborahdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The stunning views turn a fairly basic hotel into a very special place to stay.
Food better than adequate, rooms clean, staff friendly and helpful.
We would happily return here, in preference to may of the more highly rated hotels in this resort .
We have stayed in Malcesine previously, and love the lake, but now prefer Limone as a base for the area.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed at the Castell early May 2012. Really didn't know what to expect from other reviews but were pleasantly suprised. We loved this little hotel and felt very much at home. There's nothing flashy here but you get the feeling the staff were all trying really hard to look after you. The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas. The food was lovely. Buffet breakfast very adequate, with wonderful croissant. take your coffee on the balcony afterwards for a real treat! Dinner was at 7pm and was generally lovely. Always a help yourself salad with seafood or meat buffet starter then a course of delicious pasta and then a meat or fish or vegetarian course. Home made desserts. I would definatley go to the Castell again. As everyone says the 100 steps could be an issue if you're not healthy but we found it a small price to pay for the beautiful scenery from this hotel and in 2mins you are at the ferry or the lake and town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed for 10 days in September booked through Thompsons.

The Hotel offers fantastic views of the Lake and Mountains, particularly when the sun is rising and setting. It seemed to be as good as anywhere in Limone. This made the holiday.The Hotel was clean, rooms were cleaned daily, Maids were helpful as was the Manager.

The room was average. Somehow we had a three person room even though there was only two of us which was a bonus. However, we went on holiday to get out, not stay in the room. The balcony formed part of the fire escape so this does cause access and security issues.
The shower tray was very small, 54 centimtres square (21 inches) and difficult to use. I am fairly slim so how larger people cope I have no idea. The lack of air conditioning is a problem. It was hotter than normal when we were there so rooms at night were very hot meaning balcony doors had to be open with potential security issues. Some rooms had air con but this is controlled at reception and we were told by other travellers that it is always off. I would not want to be there in July/August when it can be very hot, but if you can cope with heat then you will be ok.

Food was average. Breakfast was the normal continental. Dinner was 3 options, again average but that is what we expected from a 3 star Italian Hotel. We knew it would be average and wouldnt be anything else. The Waitresses appeared rushed and sometimes irritated when they bought the wrong order. They were very quick (too quick) to remove plates. As soon as you put down your cutlery, the plate was gone. It was like watching Usain Bolt in action! However, while the plate would be taken, they would leave the used cutlery to be used for the next course, despite my trying to get them changed.

The Hotel is 107 vsteps down to the vTown. You will love to hate them.

Overall, the Castell is an average Hotel in Limone. If you want 4 or 5 star then book a 4 or 5 star Hotel. It is not perfect and improvements could be made (Air con, Fridge in room, bigger shower) but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrMan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel fluctuated in my opinion for the duration of our stay.

Initially we were lost trying to find it. I think it is mainly geared towards tour groups as the private travellers route to it is complicated and tiring. No signage in the town and when you finally do get directions its a steep walk when you have 2 suitcases in tow.

However, once the swift check in was completed and we opened the doors onto our balcony all was forgiven as the view was perfect. Exactly as described in the hotel blurb, and a pleasure to sit and enjoy a drink or 3 over.

Once you`re just on your own with no baggage, the walk up isn`t too bad at all, and the swimming pool was superb, also taking in the lake and mountain view. We didn`t eat at the hotel as between the three towns we visited (Malcesine, Limone and Riva) there were plenty to choose from. To be honest, why anyone eats at a hotel every night is beyond me.

Overall, for the price (£230 for 4 nights) for this view and location, you can`t argue, and the staff were very helpful with our enquiries (and looking after us when we were the only ones left in the bar one evening).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor minus 1. High enough for best views, but below the busy road that runs by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beauxl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
340 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#9 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#23 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell

Property: Hotel Castell
Address: Via IV Novembre 62, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castell 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Castell, grown in the rocky face of an lemon house "limonaia", in a quiet and phenomenal location, situated just e few steps from the characteristic historical center of the town, with shops, cafe's and restaurants, which can be reached by an internal staircase. The hotel has 48 comfortable and friendly rooms, divided into two categories: the double rooms Standard and the double rooms Superior. All rooms with shower/W.C., hairdryer, telephone, TV/Sat, safe and balcony. Internet connection (WLAN) free throughout the Hotelproperty. Rich breakfast buffet. The evening restaurant offers great quality and style cuisine that retrieves all the flavours of Italian tradition. Our Outdoor Pool is in a beautiful location, with a small refreshment area, the ideal place to relax, to ffer you drinks, snacks or sip an aperitif in the magic of the place Small parking place in front of the hotel or free garage (300mt) from the hotel You will have a reception open 24 hours on 24 and the friendly staff is happy to provide tourist information and help with your every request. Parking-place guarantee at 300 mt. from the Hotel. In Hotel ONLY on request and reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Castell Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing