We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why have we not been back for 5 years????”
Review of Hotel Castell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castell
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“why have we not been back for 5 years????”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

You will see previous reviews from us for this hotel, and for Limone and surrounds. Nothing has changed; we still love it here. The manager is a really nice and very helpful bloke, as are all the staff and if anyone has said otherwise then it can only have been down to them. For us the rooms are more than OK - we are not into 5* flashiness and while there are some parts that may well be in need of a spruce, with that view who the hell cares? Will we go back? You bet we will!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    117
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
48
143
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warrington cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On arriving at the resort, we were taking from the Hotel Splendid down the road in a mini bus as the tunnel wasnt safe , the hotel is a bit dated but they are very friendly and helpful in reception. I asked for extra pillows and they were put in the rooms quuickly.

The room we had -106 was small but we did get used to the space within a day or 2, double wardrobe, dressing table, twin beds, bathroom I think on talking to other was quite bigger and was on an angle. The beds were okay, THE VIEW WAS SPECTACULAR and well worth it, cant believe the view.

the only downside was all the steps we were knackered but on the upside we needed the trek to get rid of all those extra calories.

The breakfast was continental and didnt bother us at all, cheese, meats, jam honey etc which we enjoyed and cakes, like jam tarts but square, swiss roll, brioche- that was lovely with chocolate spread, boiled eggs, so very adequete. Cereal it was the same all the time we were there.
The bread was fab different ones available and rolls LOVED IT.

They had a machine for hot drinks but it was good, my husband loved the americano coffee and i had the cappicino, the tea was hot water from the machine and varied tea bags you could use, to get a decent cuppa i used 2 t bags

the evening meal (we went halfboard) was okay nothing spectacular, you had a first course of help yourself buffet which had varied dishes on sometimes what was left from night before, but you could have a much as you wanted and it was tasty, next course was soup, or pasta etc then main couse and then dessert, but one thing we noticied you nearly always got a piece of lettuce whatever you had on the plate funny but perhaps they grew there own.

You had to to choose your meals the night before, we didnt mind that at all.

The hotel is small but good staff and not many of them.

the pool was small and the 2nd week it was the towels down at dawn and they didnt come to the pool till 1pm whcih a few commented on and I think that should be stopped.

Also I noted that around the pool there were no signs to say wcs under the pool you could use, and for changing and on a few occassions saw people going into the table tenis room to change so went and told them like we were told, that there were wcs under neath

DONT FORGET THE TOURIST CHARGE Of 1e pp per night they add on your bill, why dont we charge that for tourists coming into the uk!!!!!!!!! get some extra revenue for us

Limone is quaint and all little nooks and crannies, clothes were expensive (ie linen shirt 109 Euros, mens shirts 115 euros) but there were some shops a bit more reasonable the same with shoes 159 euros, but again there were some shops cheaper, saw some sandals 32 euros.

For water etc there is a spar on the top road for 30 cents, in the town 1.09 euros, there were some lovely present ideas from all prices.
For wine there was a deli in the town opposite the fountain that was really big and had everything you needed and if like us didnt take a bottle opener, you could get a bottle and they would open for you, ask at the till.

Ferries to get over to Malcesine was 9 euros return use the promotional card that gives discount off some places, well worth a visit and go up the cable car use your discount card, WELL WORTH IT ITS AMAZING if just to watch the gliders jump off.

Riva was another place good for shoppping and flatter, but we didnt think much of Tabole enjoyed the walk from Riva to there, watch all the bikes that come from behind you


We went on a trip with the tour Company around the lake not cheap but we enjoyed it but didnt get enough time in some of the places, do some research before you book and use the buses and water ferries yourself.

We went to a restarant for my husbands birthday as a treat www.hotelallanoce.com/
it is fab eat outside and the views was specatular well worth it and great food, you can also stay there.

We also went to Simionie which would have liked to have stayed longer, but we were on an organised trip .
if you cant get direct ferries or buses from your resort to other resorts ie North to South try going across to other resorts and try from there as some resorts you cant commute easily to.
taxis are expensive but the buses were okay of not quite on time, the water taxis sometimes came early make sure you give an extra bit of time

ON ALL WE HAD A GREAT TIME AND WOULD DEF GO AGAIN AND RECOMMEND

Room Tip: all the rooms have lake facing but some do have restricted views. rooms 300 pus have fab balconeis a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dazzamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The views from the room were breathtaking, we had a lovely big balcony! the hotel is built into the mountain and Limone is a lovely place to stay, scenic and quiet but lots of nice places to eat. A 15 min boat trip from Malcesnie which is worth seeing.
The room was ok, basic but large and lots of storage space. The bathroom was tiny and the flush on the toilet didnt work properly. But once you see those beautiful views, all is forgiven!! (We stayed on floor -2)
The Staff are very helpful and the breakfast included is good.
Overall a very pleasant experience and I am very pleased that I chose this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had a great week staying at the Hotel Castell, the staff food and views we exceptional. We could not fault the accommodation and the housekeeping staff were very thorough in their cleaning routines. Always clean tidy with fresh towels daily and very friendly.
Reception was always manned and exceedingly helpful. The food (we stayed 1/2 board) was of a high quality and every day had a different choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 sweets, with a salad bar to help yourself to as much as you wanted and a great selection of breads.

The breakfast was equally good and again as much as you wanted.

Many reviewers mention the 100+ steps..... Well! they are not steep and it is quite a nice way to aid the digestion of great food.

The Swimming pool was very clean and not overloaded with chlorine and catches the sun until the evening.

All in all a great hotel with spectacular views across the lake to Malcesine and snow capped Mount Baldo, in a great location. We would recommend it to all, but those who do find steps too much to handle.

Room Tip: All rooms look out across the lake..... great viwes from all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex_Fleming508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

wow, what a wonderful place to spend a weeks holiday, the staff and hotel was excellent, very close to the little picturesque town of limone. staff at the hotel worked very hard and nothing was too much trouble for them. rooms were cleaned every day and the food at night was excellent, all fresh produce, soup was lovely, buffet was very healthy with a good choice of lovely salads and vegetables. went to some lovely places via the boat trips , including, malcesine, lake garda, sirmione, riva la garda to mention a few.. our room was 109 and the view was breathtaking and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great holiday with excellent service .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiemullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed in room 301 which is a single room. Initial reaction was what a dark, small and poorly decorated/furnished room it was. Paintwork on doorframe into room and en-suite was badly chipped and didn't make a good first impression. I will say that it was clean as was the tiny en-suite.
That aside the view from the ample balcony was outstanding. However I like my hotel to be more than purely a 'base' to sleep in and just to admire the view. This is where I felt very let down, it was a very tired, dated hotel and having stayed in several 3* hotels, this was or at least my room was a very basic 2*.
I stayed for one night, the choice of courses of dinner were not particularly to my taste on that night but was adequate as was the early breakfast, cereals, rolls with jams/spreads etc.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301 if you require a single maybe others are better. Third floor has wonderful views ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The views of Lake Garda and Limone from this hotel are stunning and it's location and ease of access immediately into the town center is too good to be true. The staff are the most friendly and helpful that we have ever encountered. Although spotlessly clean the rooms and interior decor of the building are all in need of some redecorating and updating. The food was quite good and the restaurant well organised. Would love to go back and be prepared to pay extra to see improvements to the rooms. This hotel could have everything going for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#22 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell

Property: Hotel Castell
Address: Via IV Novembre 62, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castell 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Castell, grown in the rocky face of an lemon house "limonaia", in a quiet and phenomenal location, situated just e few steps from the characteristic historical center of the town, with shops, cafe's and restaurants, which can be reached by an internal staircase. The hotel has 48 comfortable and friendly rooms, divided into two categories: the double rooms Standard and the double rooms Superior. All rooms with shower/W.C., hairdryer, telephone, TV/Sat, safe and balcony. Internet connection (WLAN) free throughout the Hotelproperty. Rich breakfast buffet. The evening restaurant offers great quality and style cuisine that retrieves all the flavours of Italian tradition. Our Outdoor Pool is in a beautiful location, with a small refreshment area, the ideal place to relax, to ffer you drinks, snacks or sip an aperitif in the magic of the place Small parking place in front of the hotel or free garage (300mt) from the hotel You will have a reception open 24 hours on 24 and the friendly staff is happy to provide tourist information and help with your every request. Parking-place guarantee at 300 mt. from the Hotel. In Hotel ONLY on request and reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Castell Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing