We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody good”
Review of Hotel Castell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castell
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Some of the reviews already posted paint a poor picture of The Castell, and also suggest the manager is rude and staff poor, plus moany comments about the food and small rooms. I beg to differ - big time. We have been there several times and have NEVER found the manager to be anything but charming, as are all the rest of the staff including the SEVERAL staff cleaning the rooms etc. The Castell is a smallish 3* Italian hotel, and The Castell delivers exactly what smallish 3* Italian hotels deliver - good but simple food served by efficient and friendly staff, small but very adequate rooms serviced very efficiently by friendly housekeepers and a warm welcome by a really nice manager who is very hands-on. When we arrived very late in the evening nothing was too much trouble; we were provided with a very nice salad with nice cold meats, and we were able to buy wine by the bottle without any trouble. Those complaining about The Castell very obviously need to stay on the Spanish Costas in a glass and concrete monstrosity. We will be back to The Castell - we know exactly what to expect, and find it serves our purpose well. On other holidays to other parts of the world our expectations are different, but The Castell is in Italy, in a most beautiful place, delivering great Italian 3* small hotel service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Skippy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2008

I dont understand the critics from some of the visitors. I arrive late evening and they offer me food and help in anyway. Rocco was vey helpfull and nice. I get room 3 in the top with aircon and a fantastic view.
I have been travelling all over the world for many years and must say that the condition for this hotel is ok to the price.
When I had birhtday, the staff have made some exellent food with flags and sing the birthdaysong also.
I can only recommend the place, and I will sure return next year to the same spot.
sorry my english is not so good.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank dkjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

I had the misfortune to stay in this hotel with family recently, we were there the week 15th Sep to 22nd Sep. The only good thing about this place were the views and the location, and it's cleanliness was of an acceptable standard....what was not acceptable however was the attitude of the manager, Rocco, and his staff. The service was truly appalling, i have honestly never met people quite so rude! We arrived after midnight on the Saturday (obviously through no fault of our own) and we were told to be down in the dining area for a cold plate in 5 minutes, which we did, to find plates of cold meats already dumped on the tables with flies buzzing around them. We then politely asked the manager for drinks at which he actually shouted at us 'YOU WILL WAIT! DO YOU KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS?' We were slightly taken aback to say the least! The service from then on was of a very poor standard, as was the food at the evening meal, including the behaviour of the two waitresses who made us feel truly unwelcome, we lasted 4 days and then decided to eat elsewhere in the evenings.
Also beware, the pool is icy cold even on very hot days and there is no lighting on the steps to and from the horel at night.
We spoke to 3 other groups of people who stayed there when we did and they too were extremely disappointed. The attitude of the manager seemed to be that they had our money so now don't bother us!
Although i was sad to leave Limone at the end of the week it was a complete relief to get away from this hotel.
It is the first time that i have ever felt the need to write to the tour operator and complain about a hotel. I'm quite sure i will not be the only one!!
I can't reccomend Limone and Lake Garda highly enough, it is a beautiful place with some lovely people but i would advise to avoid the Hotel Castell at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie74Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Castell from 15th to 22nd September. The holiday was supposed to be a relaxing break. How disappointed we were!

The Castell is graded as a 3 star hotel, but is a poor example of one. When we arrived we were given room 5, directly above the reception and directly next to the main road which goes around the lake. The noise from the traffic was unbearable and kept us awake well into the night and and we were awake again at 5.45am. We mentioned this to the Crystal rep and she asked the Manager if there was another room that we could move to. We were offered 403 which was at the other end of the hotel. It had a huge tree in front of the balcony, but that was fine in the sacrifice for peace and quiet. Sadly, there was to be no peace and quiet as blaring music from the Hotel Palme (below the Castell in 'down-town' Limone) blasted out every night. It was appalling - local crooners torturing their way through old hits at very loud volume. Like it or not, you had to listen to it, there was no escape.

The manager was very rude throughout the stay. He struck us as a cross between Basil Fawlty and Rigsby from Rising Damp - except not funny! As other reports on this website say, he was in no rush to deal with his guests, was brash and displayed a bullying attitude.

We agree with other reviews with regard to the food in the hotel - pretty poor to be frank.

In summary, great resort (in its own right and as a base to exlore lake Garda from) but very disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sparrow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

My husband & I book our Stay through Thomson's Lake & Mountains. Although we had a fantastic holiday in Lake Garda (our 2nd trip to Italy), the hotel Castell in Limone Sul Garda was not a very high standard.

Main points being:

1. They only have a 1 hour slot for dinner (7-8pm) where you have to order your food the night before, the food was very much like 'School dinners' with some of the meals being cold and not that appetising.

2 They only have 4 members of staff, 2 young girls & 1 guy that bring your food and take your drinks order and 1 cleaning lady. The Manager Rocco was very rude, would happly make you wait at reception for your room key or a drink while he finished he telephone call (one night 8 of us waited for about 15mins to be served).

The plus sides of the hotel are:

1. Location - a great location just above the main shopping area and the ferry port (and yes, there are 100 steps down the the town).

2. No evening entertainment - For my husband and I this was a good thing, most night we could lay in bed and listern to the local music being played either from other hotels or from the town centre

Our final suggestion is if you are open minded and are happy to pay a little extra would be to have your evening meals out.

We hope this has helped you ! And pre-warned you ! Have a great time Lake Garda is very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AudiTT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

we stayed at the castell in 2005 and 2006,we found it to be very clean ,the rooms had beautiful views of the lake and the food was very well presented and the waiters were very hospitableand friendly,also rocco the manager is very helpful ,.we like it that much we are going again in 2007 ,and cannot wait,we like to go around the 10 th august as limone has a festival of events around this time and the firework display is fantastic,this is watched from our balcony with a glass of wine,.....devine

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank dvdwrght7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Castell in May 2007 on the bottom floor ( floor -4). It was a late deal which we had booked 2 weeks before and was only £250 per person half board (so very cheap).

When we arrived at half midnight the manager said as we had missed the meal we could have a "cold plate" which we did as we're not ones to pass up food! It was nice - salad, rolls and cold meat and cheese.

Our room for the stay was on the bottom floor (you enter the hotel on the top floor as it is on a cliff). We had decided not to pay extra for a lake view, though we could see from the pictures they were amazing, as we wanted to save money.

Our room was fine - very basic really but very clean. I think pretty much all of the rooms had twin beds but that's normal for most hotels there. Our were pushed together. The beds were very comfortable. There was a tv with Italian and German channels plus Sky News and MTV in English. There was no hairdrier in our room and no kettle, but I don't think there is a kettle in most hotels outside Britain, as they think they are dangerous. There was quite a bit of drawer and cupboard space. The bathroom was fine - shower pretty small but worked well.

In the morning, we were very pleasantly surprised that although there was a half wall in front of our balcony (the balcony is in one of the levels of the lemon grove), you could see the lake and Malcesine on the other side standing up and there were beautiful views to either side of the balcony of the town which you could see sitting down. On the half wall opposite there are flowers and grapes growing on vines, so that was pleasant too, and there are orange trees growing below the balcony.

The view from all rooms above the bottom floor would be amazing, as the swimming pool is on a level with the next floor up and the views from there really are spectacular. The dining room is on the top floor and we could see the lake from our table. There is also a terrace with tables on the top floor where you can have drinks and coffee etc. You can also buy proper Italian ice cream in the hotel and chocolate, snacks, etc.

The breakfast is fine and is served from 7.30-10am - nice brown, white and granary rolls, cold meats, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, pate, plus muesli, cornflakes and coco pops, croissants (if you get down before about 9.15am), pannetone, chocolate and plain sponge loaf cake, plain and fruit yogurts and tinned fruit. There are also grapefruit and pineapple juice drink things, which are very sweet.

The tea bags provided are very weak so we put about 6 in the pots they gave us, but they don't give you the water very hot so its not the best cup of tea ever! We didn't have coffee so not sure what that's like.

However, the evening meals were pretty awful. You choose from 3 choices of 3 courses the evening before. There were 2 pasta dishes and one soup for each starter, for the main course one meat, one fish and one vegetarian and 3 choices of sweet. There is also a salad buffet. The main problem was that the meals were obviously as cheap as possible, so for example, if you had spaghetti with ham and tomato to start, you might find one piece of ham. The cannelloni seem to be made from not very nice sausage meat. The starters were edible though.

The main courses were the worst though - like school dinners or hospital food really. Some sort of sloppy meat and obviously tinned veg. It had me in fits of laughter. The roast chicken and chips was the best meal.

The salad buffet was a redeeming feature so it was best to fill up on that.

The sweets were fine really - obviously bought not home-made, but we had a nice creme caramel, chocolate mousse and tiramisu.

We braved the evening meals 5 nights out of seven, as we knew it was included and just had bigger lunches out- lovely pizzas and pastas. Because the holiday had been so cheap and we had seen b&b's for the same price, we didn't mind too much, though it was depressing knowing there was so much nice food out there elsewhere.

The staff were polite though not overly friendly. The manager spoke quite good english and it was fine to communicate with all the staff.

Limone is gorgeous and a very good spot to explore the lake from on ferries. The Castell is in a very good position. Though there are steps up from the town, they are on different levels, some are very shallow and there are benches and lots of places to stop and look at the beautiful views. It only takes about 2 minutes to walk up if you don't stop.

Overall, the Hotel is in an excellent position and has beautfiul views. It is basic but very clean. The breakfast was good with lots of choice, but the evening meals were pretty awful. If we had payed full price for the holiday we would have been annoyed about this. If paying full price I would suggest just getting b&b. Getting a cheaper deal, I would say it is fine to get half board, as you can just take or leave the evening meal or just have nice lunches out eat the salad, starter and desert in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RosieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
380 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#28 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
483 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell

Address: Via IV Novembre 62, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £57 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castell 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Castell, grown in the rocky face of an lemon house "limonaia", in a quiet and phenomenal location, situated just e few steps from the characteristic historical center of the town, with shops, cafe's and restaurants, which can be reached by an internal staircase. The hotel has 48 comfortable and friendly rooms, divided into two categories: the double rooms Standard and the double rooms Superior. All rooms with shower/W.C., hairdryer, telephone, TV/Sat, safe and balcony. Internet connection (WLAN) free throughout the Hotelproperty. Rich breakfast buffet. The evening restaurant offers great quality and style cuisine that retrieves all the flavours of Italian tradition. Our Outdoor Pool is in a beautiful location, with a small refreshment area, the ideal place to relax, to ffer you drinks, snacks or sip an aperitif in the magic of the place Small parking place in front of the hotel or free garage (300mt) from the hotel You will have a reception open 24 hours on 24 and the friendly staff is happy to provide tourist information and help with your every request. Parking-place guarantee at 300 mt. from the Hotel. In Hotel ONLY on request and reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Castell Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing