We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tomorrow we will miss all this.....”
Review of Hotel Garni Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Sole
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We are spending a week in this lovely friendly hotel. Our room is on the second floor with balcony and panoramic view of the lake, we found our room very comfortable, clean and had the comfiest bed ever. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is a buffet with a very wide choice and is delicious every day. Today is the last night in Hotel Sole and we think that tomorrow we will miss all this.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliforitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

The hotel is in a great location on the lakeside and very handy for the ferries to other resorts around the lake although this can get quite expensive if you want to visit the southern resorts as I did.
my room was basic but clean and the beautiful view made up for it, I mentioned to my rep that the staff were a bit miserable and she said that they were probably tired. I did'nt feel that comfortable eating there apart from breakfast time which was ok.

On the day of my departure I had to be at the pickup point at 8 am and breakfast was'nt served until 8 am so they sent up a bag of food to my room the night before.
I was heading off to meet the coach at 7.45 am and asked if I could have a cup of coffee as the transfer to the airport was 2 hours. The breakfast buffet style was set up but the waiter and manager [ Basil] said I had to wait tll 8 am and when i told him i had to get the coach at 8 am he replied that it wasnt his problem. I felt so upset that people could be so rude to their guests. It spoilt the end of what was otherwise a lovely holiday. I will go to Lake Garda again but wont stay at Fawlty Towers that's for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LancashireBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed at this hotel as part of a last minute Crystal/Thomson deal. Limone itself is great, so clean and chilled with a lovely range of hotels and a beautiful location on the lake. The hotel is in a central location where you can while away the hours people/boat watching and sunbathing from the roof terrace or while sipping a Aperol at the front tables. The service was efficient, helpful and friendly, (we even had packed breakfast brought to our room on the days we needed to leave before breakfast for day trips or the airport) the breakfast plentiful, with a great selection of bread, meats, fruit, pastries and cereals and was very relaxed out on the terrace at the front of the hotel. The rooms were clean and serviced to a high standard daily with clean towels, a freshly made bed and a quick tidy up (which considering how untidy we were was welcome!) We had a room at the back without a balcony which was fine as these rooms are cooler anyway but slightly smaller than those with a balcony which are more expensive anyway. The rooms unfortunately don't have aircon, but there are windows etc. Each room as a TV with mostly German channels a few Italian and CNN in English. We also had a fridge which was very handy. The town is at the far end of the lake but most towns can be accessed by boat. There are a few lakeside beaches, with sunbed and pedalo hire and one surf school, Riva is better for this. A good range of bars and restaurants (Hotel Azzuro(?) next to the ferry stop is the best value - high quality and large portions) All in all loved the holiday, relaxed town with plenty to keep us amused and very welcoming, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykate1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stopped at the Tourist information and asked for help in locating a room. We told them what we wanted to pay and they suggested two of which Hotel Sole was one. she a huge balconey that could easily sit 8 people overlooking the lake. The room was spotless and had a nice bathroom. Our room was 118 and the and the corner room 116 next to our ours also had a huge balcony. There is no air conditioning but we opened the doors to the balconey and had a steady stream of air. The breakfast buffet may be eaten inside or outside in the resturant patio area. It was very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SculptorDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We stayed August 17-23. We had a room superior with balcony and a stunning lake view--We felt like we were in a "home away from home." Breakfast was wonderful. The room was nice. Bathroom were especially clean. I hope I can stay again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We have just come back from a holiday in Limone Sul Garda.
We stayed B & B at the Hotel Sole. This hotel is the perfect base for touring the northern lake. We had good service and good food which we ate on the terrace overlooking the lake. The hotel is very clean and our room was cleaned every day to a high standard. We had an en-suite room with a television, fridge and safe included. Although Sole does not do evening meals, they do serve snacks and ice cream until late and there is a great choice of restaurants within strolling distance.(try the one behind the hotel, up the steps.) Everything we wanted to do was easy to reach either by walking or by ferry (which stops directly outside the hotel) as the hotel is lakeside. There is a pleasant roof terrace with sun beds and a lovely view from here over Lake Garda if you have a room without a balcony. The advantage of staying at the Hotel Sole is that it is in a very central position for shops and restaurants without being too noisy. Limone is very hilly because it is built on the side of a mountain but there was no need for us to climb steps or hills to get to our accomodation. At first sight the interior of the hotel seems dark but don't let this put you off as we had a very pleasant stay. We would definitely go back there and can highly recommend Hotel Sole.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middleagedcouple47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I would adivse all travellers to avoid this hotel - the owner tried to exercise a personal vendetta gainst me and my girlfriend.

We arrived around mid day on the Saturday, and from the moment that we arrived at the hotel the manager was at best rather surly. However, given the wonderful setting overlooking the lake we did not dwell on this and got on with enjoying our holiday.

On Tuesday we spent the day pottering around Limone and came back to the hotel in the afternoon. Whilst we were walking through the bar area, the manager approached us saying that 'we must explain something'. He pulled out one of the bedsheets which had some residue from a fake tan that my girlfriend had been using. We explained that this was a make up based product and that it would come out in a normal wash - he claimed that he had tried to wash it twice and that if we 'damaged' any more sheets we would have to pay for them and told my grilfriend to wash properly. We were quite embarrased by this incident and went up to our room (I dread to think what he would have done if it was a genuine 'accident' by an old or young guest and he had pulled their sheets out in front of the whole bar in this way).

The manager then ignored us for the rest of the holiday until the Friday morning at breakfast where he marched over to our table and presented a bill for 80 euros for damage to the sheets.

At this point we called the rep (who was very helpful). This resulted in a huge and embarrasing argument in the bar between ourselves and the rep and the manager. He accused us of lying and said that we had agreed to pay for all damage caused (although these were in fact the same sheets that he had brought out earlier in the week), he also said that we had 'brought the problems on ourselves' (although why was never explained).

The rep agreed to take the sheets away and wash them in her appartment - which he was very opposed to. We felt very uncomfortable staying in the hotel so left and booked in to the Hotel Limone for our last night (which was very nice with very friendly staff)

Incidentally, after one wash all of the make up came out of the sheets. My conclusions from this were either,
1) He was trying to con us and has tried this scam before on other young couples who he thinks will pay up without arguing
2) The hotel does not wash its sheets properly (he claimed they had washed the sheets twice) as in evry other hotel that I have staid in they can get pretty much anything out - let alone make up!

Neither explanation is very encouraging!

I asked the rep whether they had had any other issues with the hotel. She said that they had, but that most of the problems had been with his mother who was apprarently even worse - so maybe we got off lighty!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulfrommanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Elite
Hotel Villa Elite
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Alla Noce
Albergo Alla Noce
#32 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#38 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#9 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Capo Reamol
Hotel Capo Reamol
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Sole

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 36, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £63 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 70 beds the Hotel offers different type of rooms, all with shower, toilette, phone, safe, freeze, TV-satellite. Treatement: bed & breakfast with a breakfast-buffet; buffet is rich and complete, including marmelades, italian cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, eggs, juices and hot drinks. Enclosed to the Hotel is a spacious and lively open-air cafe with music (every evening) where you can spend on the lakeshore pleasant moments enjoying the many touristic events (fireworks, musical events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garni Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Sole Hotel
Hotel Garni Sole Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing