We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base, wonderful view”
Review of Hotel Garni Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Sole
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great base, wonderful view”
Reviewed 11 September 2007

What a wonderful view,
We stayed for a week at the hotel where the staff were always smiling and eager to please. The room we had booked had a view across the lake (it did cost a little extra but was worth every penny).
The only downside was the fact that the 'chimney' from the kitchen ran up the back of the bathroom meaning the room was always hot, leaving the window open solved this but the noise from the bar did at times make sleeping a little difficult.
The food was basic (toasties etc.) but the ice creams were brilliant.
Would we stay there again YOU BET

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The heat in the room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
9
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2007

Although basic the hotel is spotless and rooms are cleaned every day to an extremely high standard. The rooms have everything you need apart from air-con. There is a large fridge and a good bathroom. The hotel itself is in a perfect location right on the promenade, you really couldnt ask for a better spot, sitting out every morning for breakfast looking into the lake and beautiful mountains. Highley recommended for a cheap but amazing getaway. Surrouned by great food and drink.

  • Liked — The location and amazing views
  • Disliked — No air-con
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate1palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh,scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2006

We decided for our holiday to Italy this year we would visit Lake Garda and we chose Limone after viewing the resorts on the net.We were cerainly not disappointed in any way by this beautiful and relaxing resort .Of all the resorts on the lake we visited ( we didn't manage them all ) Limone we found to be the most picturesque and tranquil and very friendly everyone seemed to be enjoying the experience. We chose the Hotel Sole as this year as it supplied only bed and breakfast and we wanted to eat mainly Italian dishes which most Italian hotels we have stayed at don't usually do, catering more for the tourist than local. We were not disappointed ,as there are some lovely restaurants serving superb food in the resort .The Azzuro and Gemma to mention just two. The Hotel Sole is ideally situated right on the front of the lake and with a lakeside balcony you can sit and watch and listen to the little town going about it's business but at night when you close the doors it is quiet enough to get to sleep. Also there is a sun roof with loungers and chairs and great views across the lake. The rooms are cleaned every day and are comfortable enough and the breakfast was good with all the usual continental items provided.The only black mark was the unfriendly and unhelpful attitude of the owners a lady and her son who on our arrival were only iterested in giving us our keys and despatching us to our rooms as quickly as possible so they could continue their work at their bar/ cafe.No information was given to us on arrival and when we asked we arrogantly dismissed with the wave of a hand.As there was no information in the rooms we had to find our on way about including looking for the sun roof.The hotel was pleasant enough and the other staff are very pleasant but if you want to feel welcome in Limone find another hotel or ignore the very unwelcoming owners of The Hotel Sole . But we would certainly recommend Limone for a wonderful holiday.We spent 11 wonderful days there and we intend to return soon.....but not to The Hotel Sole.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Gramlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews here and was not disappointed. We did not pay extra for a balcony and were given a large room at the back of the hotel which was quiet and relatively cool. The hotel was really clean and the beds were comfortable and the linen and towels were changed often. Good bathroom. Staff were lovely, not overpowering - but then I didn't want them to be my best friend - courteous and efficient. Food in the cafe is limited to salads, snacks and ice creams but these were great and there are so many local bars and restaurants to choose from - we finished every evening with a coffee and liquer on the terrace. I would go back here. If you want a boring chain hotel with lots of "activities"- stay somewhere else!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet;cleanliness proximity to passagiata!!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 July 2006

I recently stayed for 10 days at the Hotel Sole in Limone. I was a single traveller and delighted with the situation of the hotel which was right on the Lake, with stunning views.
The hotel was clean, the accommodation perfectly adequate and the breakfast was very adequate.

However, I would not stay there again for the following three reasons:

1. Upon my arrival and whilst checking in, it was immediately obvious that the Manager was extremely unfriendly and this set the tone for the rest of my stay. Consequently I avoided going near him and did not spend any additional money in the hotel.

2. There was no air conditioning in the bedrooms, it was very hot and extremely uncomfortable at night, in fact it was extremely difficult to sleep.

3. All rooms with a terrace face the lake and are built over the outside bar area: this is extremely noisy at night.

With no air conditioning and a lot of noise up until midnight, I returned home at the end of my state, a very tired holidaymaker.

I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limone sul Garda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 August 2005

First holiday for a long while and luckily found this hotel. Have stayed three successive years and looking forward to further stays. Slight problems with language as Manager doesn't speak English but with a little effort got by without too much difficulty! Rooms (with balcony) overlooking the lake are clean and comfortable. Breakfast (help yourself from loaded buffet) fantastic! Staff are friendly and helpful. Good to be able to book direct. If you are looking for a first class B and B make this your choice. Ideally located lakeside (car parking available). One warning - have plenty of Euros for tips!!!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2005

We paid a supplement for a balcony with a lake view and were not disappointed. The hotel is superbly located within the resort and is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and helpful and although dinner is not available, the cafe bar serves a selection of light meals and snacks together with a large variety of ice cream sundaes. In the evenings the bar plays music but this was at an acceptable volume and stopped at 11 p.m. A typical continental breakfast is served on the terrace, weather permitting. In our opinion the hotel represents good value for money. It is hard to fault this accommodation and we had a really enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Alla Noce
Albergo Alla Noce
#31 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Elite
Hotel Villa Elite
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#24 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Capo Reamol
Hotel Capo Reamol
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Sole

Property: Hotel Garni Sole
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 36, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 70 beds the Hotel offers different type of rooms, all with shower, toilette, phone, safe, freeze, TV-satellite. Treatement: bed & breakfast with a breakfast-buffet; buffet is rich and complete, including marmelades, italian cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, eggs, juices and hot drinks. Enclosed to the Hotel is a spacious and lively open-air cafe with music (every evening) where you can spend on the lakeshore pleasant moments enjoying the many touristic events (fireworks, musical events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garni Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Sole Hotel
Hotel Garni Sole Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing