We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Dirce
Nearby Hotels
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Pietro(Limone sul Garda)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel(Limone sul Garda)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Splendid Palace(Limone sul Garda)
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Castell(Limone sul Garda)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cristina(Limone sul Garda)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alexander(Limone sul Garda)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Village(Limone sul Garda)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Panorama(Limone sul Garda)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Lac(Limone sul Garda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
124
111
49
22
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
111
49
22
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain courseminute walkdining roomevening meallake gardaamazing viewsself service buffetwhirlpool areasaladsun terracemain mealshuttle busyogurttop floorcoastal pathhalf boardice cream
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here on a late deal. Some concern after reading some of the reviews. Well here is my view. The hotel has a wonderful situation elevated above Lake Garda just outside of Limone with spectacular views. The room was a good size with a balcony and air conditioning which was effective without being noisy. The standard of cleanliness was high and it appeared that the bathroom had been recently refurbished. I found the food fine, as an example the first night there was the comprehensive salad bar, a starter of lasange (which I enjoyed) a between course taster of pizza, roast chicken and ice cream. I thought the meal was very acceptable and could always find something that i liked as did my wife whi is a very finiky eater. I liked the waiter service which I found better than the self service scramble in some hotels. Eva the manager was helpful and friendly as were all the staff. The pool and the public areas were well kept. The rooms did have thin walls but the noise was not excessive and no different to many hotels I have stayed in.
I did find the walk from Limone and the final 114 steps to our room a bit of a hassle after an evenings cafe culture in Limone and you need to be aware of this if you cannot walk or have mobility difficulties. the mini bus ends at six and there are very few taxis.
That said a minor hassle we thoroughly enjoyed a week of lovely weather and the getting about Lake Garda. Try the Porto Bar by the little harbour run by Antonio. Oh yes there will be germans there and italians and many other races, if you want British go to Blackpool!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We were so tired,mentally & physically and wanted somewhere not too far away,warm and quiet,so opted for Lake Garda, Italy..Having gone through brochures,and researching with the help of Trip Advisor,we finally decided on this hotel,and it was the best choice!It was all that we had wanted,a smallish hotel,every room overlooking the lake,(at no supplement),no rd in front,just lemon&orange trees,and a few grapevines,then the lake & mountains.Limone,a very old,pretty,town(small)nestled into the bottom of the mountain,built around the bay,with a nice variety of good shops,(clothes,shoes,coffee,etc),not lots of shops full of tourist 'tat',and it took approx 20mins walk from the hotel,down a pleasant winding path,avoidind the rd along the lake to the centre of town..The dining room was waiter/waitress service in the evening, the one length of wall being glass with lake view,great food,excellent service.Breakfast was semi Al Fresco on the terrace,self service as was the complimentary afternoon tea,coffee&cake..It was a very quiet,peaceful hotel,most in bed by 11pm.There were always sunbeds on the roof terrace by the pool with fabulous views,but this is not the place if you want to be entertained,late nights and kids activities,there seemed to mainly couples who all wanted peace & calm.The rooms were on the small side,but were very clean and comfortable,towels changed daily,nothing was too much trouble.I have to say,this is not suitable for the less able either,as the steps back upto the hotel off the footpath from the town walk were just over a 100!!We've just come back home today and have really enjoyed every minute.We had 10 days.

Room Tip: best views are on the 2nd floor,though the balcony is much smaller,but worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sollady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here on a one-week walking holiday booked through a tour company and are well aware that these are sometimes ways for companies to fill less-well-used hotels. For this reason we checked other holidaymakers’ reviews (as we usually do) but were reassured by what we found. Sadly, our own experience of the hotel did not match many of those of earlier guests.
Comments about the lady in charge are all correct, she is excellent and tries to be helpful at all times, clearly wanting guests to have a good time. However, we found our room, though spacious, to be unloved and soul-less, with a thoroughly uncomfortable, sloping bed that denied us good sleep. There was also inadequate sound-proofing, with too much noise from plumbing, adjoining rooms, air conditioning, etc.

Our most significant area of dissatisfaction, though, would have to be the food. The breakfast buffet was generous and varied but largely lacking in freshness and, though some other guests did seem happy, we found the dinner provided to be inedible. Of the six dishes sampled the only one that we could eat was the salad bar, with a brick-like, colossally salty lasagne and reheated fish and chicken the clear low-lights. The hotel asks guests to order their dinner at breakfast and the standard of food presented suggests that kitchen policy is far more concerned with ease of service than quality of product.

Trying to end on a positive note, the pleasant walk from the hotel into town is, in fact, only about 15 minutes and the gate now stays open until 11pm (a mercy as we gave up our half-board dinners and ate in town) though readers should be aware that it does involve some steep steps and is pretty dark in places.

The Villa Dirce is in a beautiful location and does clearly suit some people, even as we were checking out early (so dissatisfied that we left after 4 nights of a planned 7) other guests were saying what a nice time they had – it takes all sorts!

Worth a mention: Bar Titano spaghetteria, the only place we found with good, authentic Italian food. Sky Climbers, the company who provided an superb guide for 2 very memorable walks in the Tremosine area above Lake Garda.

One final thing to note - Limone sul Garda caters mainly for the Austrian/German market, it gives little of the feel of the true Italy with many eateries catering very significantly to German tastes (even having signs up in German) and staff more likely to speak Italian and German than English. This is not a problem in itself , it just doesn't feel like being in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We've just returned from a week at the Villa Dirce hotel and although we had a lovely time and the hotel staff could not do enough to make our stay as good as possible this is not to the standard of other 4* hotels we have stayed in at Lake Garda. We booked with Inghams on a Taste of Italy deal and selected the option of being allocated at least a 4* on arrival. The Ingham website only rates this hotel as 3+. which we agree with. The hotel has fantastic views of the lake and mountains. The weather was good a few showers but nothing to stop us enjoying ourselves. The hotel is quite small so we enjoyed a relaxing breakfast on the terrace each morning with no queing and bustling to make toast etc. The food in the hotel is o.k. Buffet breakfast and waiter service for evening meals. The evening meals were sometimes a bit strange - one evening my husband had chicken curry and it came with sprouts! The hotel is quite dated and the rooms are very basic. If we had booked a minimum guaranteed 3* hotel we would have been happy with this hotel. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk away from Limone which we enjoyed walking. It is a bit steep in places but easily manageable for most people. We can not give enough praise to the staff - some of the nicest and friendliest we have ever come across.

Room Tip: Room numbers in 100's at the top of the hotel and 300's are the lowest floor All have lake views.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholidaying24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

First a mention for Lavinia ( the front of house manager), Robert, our waiter, Rita, who runs the bar and the rest of the staff - thank for making our stay such a pleasant one. I wish my Italian was as good as your grasp of English. Our room on the second floor was spotless and the uniterupted view of the lake and mountains from the balcony was stunning. The room was thoroughly cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Breakfast was self service with a good selection of cold meats, scrambled or boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, fruit juice, jams and spreads, a selection of breads and a toaster to make your own toast and tea and coffee. You make your selection for the evening meal at breakfast which is taken outside on the veranda area (again fabulous views). Dinner consists of a serve yourself salad bar then waiter service. There is a small appetiser followed by a choice of three starters, three mains and a choice of pudding of the day or ice cream. Drinks were extra during our stay but I believe wine or water is available free of charge out of the main season. Afternoon coffee/tea and cake is available as part of the package from 1600 to 1700 daily. The drawback with such a stunning location is the walk to Limone. This is either via a steep stone and metal stairway (about 100 steps) to a cobbled path below the hotel and then a 15-20 minute up and down walk to the town. The alternative is to walk along the main road without a footpath for 100 metres before taking a road down to the cobbled path. We never had a problem with the road and really enjoyed the walk but my wife struggled the only time we took the steps back to the hotel. If you have mobility problems then you may struggle. There is a minibus into town a cost of 1 euro. Ensure you tell them if you wish to come back on it. If no one has booked it may not turn up.The ferry to Malcesine is 4 euros 10 (with a discount card) and leaves from the town centre. We took the cable car to Monte Baldo (16 euro 20 return with discount card). It wasn't a very enjoyable experience. We had to queue for an hour on stairways and landings and were then crammed like cattle into both cable cars. The view from the top was obscured by clouds when we arrived. I'm sure the experience could have been more pleasant but not for us. We did an excursion tour of the lake which we thoroughly enjoyed ( the guide, Matilda, was excellent). We also did a day trip to Verona. Good for 2-3 hours but 6 hours was a bit much for us. By the way the Veronese would charge you for breathing if they could get away with it.

To sum up, we loved staying at The Villa Dirce, Limone is beautiful as is Garda and Lazise. We weren't particularly struck with Sermione. Would we go back? To the Villa Dirce definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cratomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews