We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, relaxing hotel with great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Dirce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dirce
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing hotel with great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had originally booked a different hotel but due to overbooking by Inghams stayed here. The hotel is nice and there are good views of the lake but it is a way out of town. It is about 20 minutes walk into the centre of Limone. There are some good views on the way but it can feel a long walk in the heat, also when you walk back to the hotel you then have to walk up over 90 steps. The good thing about that is that you can eat as much gelato as you want knowing you will walk it off. There is also biergarten Augusta on the way back which serves nice pizzas and is a good place to stop off for an aperol spritz.

The hotel has a nice outdoor terrace where you can eat breakfast. Dinner is served inside in the dining room but there are some great views across the lake. You are given the menu the previous evening so you can choose in advance, food was generally okay, better some days than others. The house wine is very reasonably priced and perfectly okay.

The hotel is set out with the pool and some rooms on the top floor, then the dining room and terrace on the next, then floor 2 is below that and then floor 3 is the lowest level. We were on floor 3, the rooms have larger terraces than the balconies on floor 2 but there is a small wall in front. The view from the room and when standing on the terrace is stunning. However when you sit down you can see the mountains across the lake but not the lake itself. We resolved this by asking for extra pillows which we folded and put on the chairs so we were a bit higher up, problem solved.

The best thing about this hotel were the staff. The manager, the receptionist, the housekeeping staff, waitresses and bar staff were all delightful. They were all so friendly and helpful. My boyfriend had a problem with his glasses and managed to break the frame the manager went out to find superglue and glued it for him, you wouldn't get that everywhere.

If you want a relaxing holiday with great views and don't mind a walk then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JannyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    89
    43
    22
    4
See reviews for
40
176
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a friend from uni as a base location for a bit of Lake Garda touring and exploration. By far the best part about the hotel was the views it offers guests (as many other reviewers have stated). They really are beyond explanation, especially on a really clear day!

The staff I found were really friendly and welcoming, some never seemed to leave! The rooms were cleaned, beds made and fresh towels every morning. The maids could speak little English but were also very friendly and still tried to make conversation if we were ever still in the room when they came around. The pool view is also to die for! As I went on a tourist-style holiday I spent little time around the pool, but an evening dip before dinner to cool down whilst overlooking Mount Baldo is heavenly.

The walk to Limone town centre is around 15 minutes and is quite hilly! Can leave you breathless in the heat of July. It wasn't a problem for me and my friend, especially as it offered beautiful views and a bench halfway. But this could be a problem for guests with mobility difficulties.

The food isn't fantastic at the hotel, but most of the time you'll find you eat out anyway. Food is a huge part in Italian culture nobody stays there and doesn't sample the pizzerias?! But nevertheless the food is still nice, and the dinner they do provide is HUGE. You definitely won't go hungry either way.

The location of the hotel is great, offers as the perfect base for excursions. I would recommend Limtours. I had a lovely guide during my day trip to Verona. I highly recommend taking the water taxi's to other towns around the lake too, Malcesine was beautiful.

I stayed with a friend but found that the hotel was mainly couples (well the location actually)

Thank you to all of the staff at the Villa Dirche for contributing to the perfect stay in Limone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Villa Dirce on a half board basis, and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was faultless and the views from our room were simply breathtaking. What a place!!
The hotel was quite a distance from the centre of Limone and wasn't the easiest walk as there are some hills, but don't let that put you off. You could walk on a path, away from the main road and it was absolutely fine. But there are steps, so not ideal if you are slightly unsteady on your feet. The hotel do put on a shuttle bus into the centre though for a very small fee, 3 times a day.
All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: It looked like there were executive rooms on the top floor, but not too sure as I didn't stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsarmygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here at the start of July for a week and were blown away by the views. Our room was 221 which seemed very central and the view was amazing of the lake. The hotel staff seemed to work very hard and there were a few faces that didn't seem to leave the place! Limone is a 15 minute walk from the hotel but consists all of hills. This didn't bother us because the view all the way was beautiful; however, the walk may be a problem for others. The location was great for excursions - much better than we thought beforehand, and there were many options for excursions. We visited Verona and Venice.

The food isn't up to much in the hotel but I don't see why anyone would travel to Italy and eat in the hotel? Also, our double room was just 2 single beds pushed together. However, the room was cleaned everyday and the bathroom was perfectly adequate!

The view and location really made our holiday as we didn't spend much time in the hotel as the surroundings were too amazing to stay in, but the swimming pool and sunbathing area were nice!

Room Tip: Room 221 is right in the centre, between the 2 tall trees and has a perfect view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having read the reviews, After I booked a weeks holiday At this hotel I was a little reticent. But hey on arrival, greeted by smiling welcoming manager, directed to our room 300's opened doors to patio and wow a fantastic view of Mt Baldo , opposite on Lake Garda.Eva Bar stewardess very welcoming, all waiters and waitressses very attentive, good food, excellent local wines, free wifi for an hour, when you beed it. Good location to Limone for the ferry service to all points on the Lake.
Only downside for me no lunch time menu, or bar meals only toasties!!

Room Tip: Was happy with ground floor 300's 200's above are below the restaurant, people have commente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Droftel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

we stayed here a few years ago - only to find they would not accept credit cards - there was no one to meet and greet on arrival our room door would not lock nor would the patio door - the telephone in the hall was non excistant - and as we had a drink on the patio the feature waterfall was turned off at 10pm all the lights turned off and all staff went home!!! guests were left to fend for our selves - also when it rained no one removed table cloths or ashtrays etc so when it stopped could not sit outside etc. etc. so I hope things have changed - did we get compensated well yes after a six month battle we got £70 for 2 on a 14 day holiday -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 570terryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this great little hotel before and looked forward to our holiday there. Each room has a lake view and the hotel is approx 20 min walk into the centre of limone, but it is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties as there are some hills.

A few things have changed since our last visit, non of the original staff are there, and Livy and Robert are a great miss! The current staff are nice and friendly, Eva who works on the bar is a hard working efficient girl with a friendly smile. A couple of waitresses are slow often walking past instead of clearing plates and the older one of the two managed to walk past us four times without taking a drink order.

The housekeepers are as good as ever, the rooms are spotless.

The food was reasonable, although we had a risotto that tasted solely of salt! Pork features often on the evening menu, and the only hot option for breakfast was a DIY boiled egg where once scrambled egg, sausage and bacon were available.

Overall we enjoyed the holiday, although it wasn't as good as it had been.

Room Tip: Try to avoid floor 2, some rooms are below the dining room and there is often some noise from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelseasgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#9 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dirce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dirce

Property: Hotel Villa Dirce
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 80, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Dirce 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Dirce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dirce Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Villa Dirce Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing