We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Excellent Hotel Al Azzurro 6th May- 17th May”
Review of Hotel all`Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel all`Azzurro
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Reading some of the reviews i wonder if we stayed at the same Hotel.
Our Experience when we stayed at the Hotel Al Azurro.We found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff were excellent and could not have done more .The view from the Hotel was very scenic with snow capped mountains across the lake.The Jetty outside the hotel proved to be very handy,and people arriving and leaving added to our holiday.This holiday was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.When i mentioned to Alberto the Manager to order me 25 red roses he not only ordered fabulous roses but also arranged for us to have a Al a carte 5 course meal including champagne on the terrace with the head waiter attending to us,the food was absolutely wonderful and made our day just complete this was all on the Management.Big Big thanks to everyone at the Hotel can,t wait to return.

Room Tip: recommend balcony with lake view front of hotel worth the additional cost
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank daveb186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Hotel all`Azzurro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

We booked our holiday at the last minute and weren't able to book a balcony or lake view but the travel agent sent a request for a lake view, not really expecting much. In fact we thought we might be in a room either in the annexe or at the back of the hotel and had no idea what to expect. But when we arrived in the hotel the manager very kindly told us he had upgraded us to a lake view room - and what a view !! We were really lucky and had a corner room with two windows, one at the front overlooking the lake and one at the side, overlooking the pool, annexe, the town and the lake - fantastic.

We had arrived later than expected due to a one hour delay on the road from the airport, due to an accident, and dinner had finished, more or less, but the manager ensured we were all ( nine of us) given a full three course meal ( plus starters).. Another time, when we had been to Florence and had had a five and a half hour return journey by coach and didn't get back till 11pm he very kindly asked the chef to make us a pizza from scratch. He was a really lovely person and very friendly with everyone, which made our holiday really special.

The food isn't "top notch" but then we probably didn't pay "top notch" prices so we got what we paid for and had no problem with the quality. You can watch the sun rise behind the mountains while you are eating breakfast outside on the terrace, which is a fantastic experience, and not to be missed.

Since coaches ( and cars) are too big to go into the tiny little streets to get to the hotel, it provides either a golf cart or a small car / mini van to take you and your luggage to the hotel from the airport and back again., which is great fun. The airport transfer takes about two hours as the coach has to go around the lake to get to the resort, and there are a few drop-offs, but the landscape is interesting and very picturesque so the time goes quickly.

The hotel's location is brilliant - right next to the ferry stop from where you can take one of a variety of ferries to various interesting places on the lake. There is always something interesting to see in the pretty little town of Limone, as well as some really quirky shops.

Room Tip: Room A10 is a corner room with views of both the lake, (on one side) and the pook, terrace, hillside...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shepherdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We’ve been back from our 11 day stay in the All Azzurro for a few days now, which means we have had time to reflect on our very mixed experiences of this Italian 4 star hotel.
Some other recent reports have (in my opinion) shown a few inaccuracies and I shall start there.
Germans from other hotels grabbing the sunbeds? I think you will find they were All Azzurro guests staying in the annex.
People with lake view balconies getting better dining tables? We booked 8 months ago, and booked a lake view and balcony. First night we were sat in the main dining room with a pleasant couple from Glasgow. We were told that this would be our table for the duration of the holiday. (We knew better).
So, perhaps the dining room and the food are a good place to start my review proper.
We arrived on Saturday and spent our first couple of hours having a quick nosey around Limone. When we returned to the hotel we were amazed to find that the evenings “hor'dourves” had already been placed on the tables at around 5.30pm. Diner started at 7.00pm, meaning the “hor'dourves” would be sat on the table for at least 1.5 hours for most guests, and 3 hours for late diners. The appetisers were coleslaw based and they would probably be downright dangerous to eat. To the waiter’s surprise, we declined.
As it was our first night we had not had the opportunity to order our meal the day before (that’s the system) and were presented with a plate containing a spoonful of “smash” potatoes, another spoonful of tinned baby carrots and some unknown meat covered in glue. When we complained we were told by the waiter, “that’s it”, “that’s all we got”, “you don’t want?”, and off he went. Not the last run-in we had with the grey haired waiter who everybody nicknamed “curtains”.
The following morning we spoke to Jim, the Crystal rep and made are comments and opinions known. (unbeknown to us, we weren’t the only complainers).
On our second night, we were caught by the manager who apologised about our previous nights problems and asked us if we would like to sit in the outside restaurant area. We did, and so did some of the other complainers. OK, we were eating off the standard menu, but at least we had escaped the indoor dining room. The food also took a step upwards in quality, and remained at a reasonable level throughout the rest of our stay. Not all meals were good, but they were now at least edible, and just occasionally surprisingly good.
Breakfast was exactly what we had expected, it was OK. Other people have reported on the restaurant running out of things at around 9 to 9.30, that was also our experience, and not just scrambled eggs.
We had heard previously of the fluctuating standard of the food at this hotel, but the moral of the story is COMPLAIN STRONGLY TO YOUR REP. If he doesn’t sort it out, COMPLAIN TO THE MANAGER, QUOTE TRIP ADVISOR ETC. Because a number of us complained things got better. You shouldn’t have to do this but it works.
The food on the outside dining terrace, (non residents restaurant) was a different class, and the pizzas were some of the best I have eaten. Try sharing one between 2 people for lunch; amazing.
Quote of the holiday from Mr Curtains......
“You want pudding”
What sort of pudding is it?
“Pudding”
Yes, but what sort of pudding?
“You don’t know pudding?, is PUDDING!”
We gave up and asked another waiter for ice creams. (Maybe I should learn some more Italian.)
Rooms.
We were in the main building, sea view and balcony, 2nd floor. Room OK, if a little basic, but it was spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The main problem was the shower cubicle. I didn’t know they made them so small. You had to be one of those contortionists that you see on variety shows. The ones that fit into a small box and juggle with shampoo and wet sponges. I kid you not.
Pool Area.
Small pool with about 10 - 12 sun beds. Water and pool didn’t look clean, tide mark around the edge. We didn’t bother going in. If you like to spend time around the pool, look elsewhere.
I have tried not to be too unkind to the All Azzurro as the manager is a really nice guy and most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, nice guys don’t always make good hotel managers, and this place needs a bit of a kick up the rear end to bring it up to the Italian 4 star rating. The standard and consistency of the food was the lowest we have experienced for many years. We haven’t been to Italy for a few years so maybe it’s the norm. If it is, it shouldn’t be!
Limone.
Nice place to visit for a day trip, but you could certainly do it in a full day. Wouldn’t stay here again. Might look at Malchesne sometime in the future. It’s a bit bigger with a lot more going on, and a bit more life about it.
Having said that, lots of people go back to Limone year after year, and the views really are fantastic.
P.S. Take some waterproofs, 7 days rain out of 11. It happens.

Room Tip: Must go for Lake view with balcony, worth every penny extra.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brieryfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I am just back from a week's stay at the Azzurro. Having read previous reviews I was disappointed to find that the accommodation is not as good as these reviews say and the food was every bit as bad as hinted by other reviewers.

Let's get some things straight - If you are staying in a balcony room at the front of the hotel with a lake view then I can understand that your stay will be pleasant as you will also have a dining table allocated on the terrace at the front of the hotel, again with wonderful views of the lake and the ferries coming and going.

If you are allocated an Annexe room beware! There are two annexes, one across the road beside the main hotel has refurbished rooms, some quite large, some with partial lake views and balconies, but the small road is very noisy particularly in the morning with deliveries and street cleaners. The other 'annexe' is behind the main hotel with some of the smallest rooms I have ever seen. I have experienced many Italian hotel rooms in 8 years coming to Lake Garda, these were the worst by far! They have air conditioning and a fridge but to accommodate the fridge it was positioned on top of the beside cabinet next to your head! The rooms are next to a pedestrian passage to the Hotel Splendid Palace and other hotels, so late night revellers will keep yo awake. There are no views although from some rooms,if you lean far enough out, you will just catch a glimpse of a ferry. The rooms are poorly furnished with torn curtains and a shower cubicle that can only accommodate a size 8. The worst aspect of these rooms is that smokers are given these rooms, even though the hotel says there are no smoking rooms, the smell, even in the corridors is awful.

Needless to say I was allocated one of the above rooms. The Crystal reps were good at contacting the manager who agreed it was unacceptable. He arranged, at his expense, to move us to another hotel until a room in the 'proper' annexe was available.

Something not referred to in brochures featuring this hotel is that you are allocated to a shared dining table for the week, so if you don't get on with your table guests tough!. Because of the trouble we had with the rooms we were given a terrace table on our own which made our holiday.

Now the food - The chef is clearly working to a very tight budget because the food is not good, as other reviewers have pointed out. Breakfast does have scrambled egg and a continental form of bacon, but when these run out at 9.00 they are gone. The surly head waiter will just shrug his shoulders and move on. Unlike some other hotels in Limone meal drinks are not free, not even the water! A number of guest eat out at lunch to avoid relying on the evening meal.

The location of the hotel is its biggest asset, right by the ferry stop, but it also means you are furthest from the drop off/collection point for arrival/departure and excursions. The hotel has a little buggy to take you to this point at the far end of the town. Limone is also the last drop off resort from Verona airport so transfers are at least 2.5 hours, (more with traffic) and collection is required 5 hours before your flight time.

I can understand the loyalty some reviewers have to the All Azzurro if they continue to return to the best rooms in the main hotel and forgive the food issues in favour for the best scenery on Lake Garda. However, if you end up in a poor room without the views there are plenty of other hotels that offer a better service than this one!

Room Tip: Select balcony lake view in the main hotel and ignore the annexes and eaves
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank eros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were on a short break, only staying three nights in a basic room in the annexe which was in a seperate building across the road from the main hotel. The room however was a decent size, clean and with everything you could require including air con and a fridge. The food was o.k with a decent choice at breakfast and dinner. The best thing was the location as it was right at the ferry departure point and very convenient for all the shops etc.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have amazing views
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Food in restaurant was poor to mediocre. Habit of putting starters out before guests arrived meant that on at least one occasion, food was pecked by a bird before guests arrived to eat it. Head waiter very poor and long wait in between courses while priority was given to non-resident diners in hotel a la carte restaurant. Every day of the whole week, all the pool sunbeds were 'reserved' with towels before the pool opened. On the day we left we were told by another guest that hotel is part of a German company and every year a large group of Germans from another hotel are allowed to use the pool and reserve sunbeds. No welcome drink offered as advertsied in Inghams brochure. Holiday organiser Inghams not interested in dealing with complaints. Crystal and Thomson rate the hotel more accurately than Inghams. On the plus side, the hotel has a stunning lake side location, providing you get a bedroom at the front.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside view or you will be staring at a rock wall!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Azzurro and Limone were beautful. wonderful rooms over looking the lake. The staff were amazing, esp Pepe who was a gem. I meet people who returned every year. The Hotel is at the end of the resort and on the lakeside, so no traffic. The hotel was overflowing with charm and charactor. We visited other towns but Limone won hands down. Belive the high rating on this one.

Room Tip: It must be a lake view, worth every penny.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#13 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel all`Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel all`Azzurro

Address: Piazzale Franco Gerardi 2, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel all`Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel all`Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All`Azzurro Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
All Azzurro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing