We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“limone base camp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel all`Azzurro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel all`Azzurro
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“limone base camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

stayed here in mid june. after doing homework, limone does lose the sun in mid afternoon due to the hight of the mountains. and it does attract the day trippers, but they go home and you are left in peace. limone is pretty and select(no football shirts or tatts or nightclubs). stunning views are available at this hotel. but you will pay extra, as you will for a balcony. but its worth it. one more thing, you want the hotel not the annex. the pool is nice, but can get oh so hot. the air con works as long as the doors are shut, and you have sun shutters to make your room tottaly black out. Pepe is the man to ask for, to get you a nice table outside, for your whole holiday and a extra bottle of red, at dinner. food is prob 3* as its adequate at best. its passable though as long as you like h-b eggs.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    87
    57
    18
    15
See reviews for
43
154
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We arrived at the hotel and were taken to our room in the annexe (4), which had a lovely balcony and lake view. Our friends, however, were allocated room 1 in the annexe and did not have a very good view at all, also their room was much smaller. We had requested adjacent rooms when we booked with Thomson Lakes, so went to the reception desk to ask if it was possible for our friends to be moved next door to us. It was not possible immediately, as the hotel was totally full, however, they only spent two nights in room 1 before being moved to room 8 (next door to room 4 - a bit odd). The room was slightly larger than room 1 with a much better outlook. Both roooms were sparkling clean, and appeared to have been recently renovated, with new bathroom fixtures and fittings, and new looking bedroom furniture. Our only problem was that four ladies of somewhat short stature had a bit of difficulty with the "land of the giants" wardrobes, and had to use a chair to gain access to the hanging rail! - However, we did not find this too much of a problem. The room was also equipped with a small fridge and a safety deposit box, for which you pay a 10 euro deposit, which is refunded at the end of your stay. Bedding and towels were changed daily.

Continental breakfast, accompanied by either hotdogs, or "bacon" and scrambled eggs, plus boiled eggs, with a selection of bread and croissants, was very nice. You filled in a request sheet for dinner, with a choice of three starters and three mains, plus salad bar and, also, a little "taster" at the beginning of each meal, with dessert of either fruit or the dessert of the day, which ranged from chocolate mousse, torte, ice cream, apple strudel. all very enjoyable. We requested a mix of rose wine and red wine, and found that we received 2 x 500ml rose and 1 x 500 ml red wine each evening, between four of us, plus two jugs of water, which meant we didn't spend as much when we went out after our dinner. Our waiter, Stephan, was lovely and really looked after us, plus he had a great sense of fun, which brought us quite a few laughs.

We took the Verona/Wine tour with Thomson, which was very good, especially as this was a free trip, because we booked early. Verona is a beautiful city and lovely to visit, this was then followed by a trip to a vineyard, where we tasted some very generous measures of several wines, accompanied by lovely bruschetta. All the wines were reasonably priced and we bought some, which we drank on our balcony during the remainder of the holiday. Our other trip was the day in Venice, which was stunning! Our only concern was that the reps did not mention the cost of the optional gondola ride and boat trip around the lagoon, (18 euros and 13 euros respectively), Fortunately, we had sufficient funds with us, but more by good luck than anything else. As expected, Venice was very expensive, even away from St Marks Square (you need a mortgage to sit and have a drink there!). It cost 1.5 euro to use a public loo, so the 2 euro cover charge made by most restaurants seems a lot less expensive if you can use their facilities. Thomson also offer a Venice by Night tour, but we were shattered after just the day tour, a further six hours wandering the streets of Venice, plus the cost of an evening meal, would have been exhausting, both for the body and for the purse!

We took the ferry to Malcesine and had a trip to the top of Monte Baldo in the cable car - fabulous!! The All Azzurro is adjacent to the ferry terminal and we could literally roll out of bed and on to the ferry. It was great to sit and watch the ferries coming and going and the various passengers and their antics. This also makes the other resorts on the lake very accessible. It is worth getting a discount card for the ferry from your hotel reception, as this also entitles you to discounts on quite a few other attractions, such as the cable car at Malcesine and Gardaland etc.

The pool is not the largest, but there are plenty of sun loungers available and we never had trouble finding four together. There is also a mini jacuzzi area, which is a nice touch, although the pool was very cold. Again, this was kept spotlessly clean, as were all the public areas.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, it is without doubt in the best location in Limone. The staff are absolutely lovely, nothing is too much trouble for any of them. The rooms and all the public areas are kept spic and span. We found the food included in our holiday was lovely and we also had a couple of lunchtime snacks in the main restaurant, the pizzas are highly recommended. They also have an icecream counter, with a very good selection for only 1 euro a scoop. If we ever return to Limone. this will be the hotel we will stay at.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anlaby1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here for one week in September. The hotel is in a perfect location with beautiful views over the lake which you pay a supplement for.......but this doesn't always guarantee a lake view.We stayed in the main part of the hotel and reading other reviews we were very lucky with the room we were given.However, I was very disappointed when we first arrived as the room was very basic even for a 3 star hotel.The furniture was very cheap looking and the bathroom was very small. One morning there was no cold water so it was impossible to have a shower.However the amount of time spent in the room was minimal as Lake Garda is just perfect.The food was ok breakfast was the usual continental choice but this was the same each day......evening meals varied and the salad bar was very good and we had a table on the terrace overlooking a perfect setting. The carafes of wine each evening and the free afternoon tea and biscuits were a nice touch which also was a very big saving. We visited Riva, Malcesine, Torbole , Garda and Venice during our stay.The Lake is very big and the ferries are really good but not cheap and getting from one end of the lake to the other takes around 2.5 hourson the fast ferry, Limone was stunning and of the places we visited far the prettiest. The trip to Venice was worthwhile but expect to be sat on a coach for along time.The rep said it would take 3 hours to get there but after picking everybody else up this was 5.5 hours each way. We had thought about doing this trip independently going by train but as Limone is at the other end of the lake to Desenzano where the staion is and the bus takes 1.5 hours it would probably have taken as long. If we go back to Lake Garda and I am sure we will we would stay at the other end of the lake to explore places like Salo Gardone and Sirmione which look just as lovely in different ways.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

After reading some of the horrible reviews on here, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. There were four of us, split into two rooms. We were given rooms in the annexe, which lead me to be apprehensive straight away!! It turns out the rooms were wonderful, new, clean, the room I was in have a HUGE square balcony, giving us lake views from the balcony doors.

The food at the hotel was good. We never went hungry and always ate whatever we had chosen. We found there to be 3 choices for the first pasta dish and the main course, all of which we had a taster of each others.... always very nice.... The geonese lasagne was just to die for!!! We were also allocated a table outside of the main dining area, this was great! We got to sit and eat dinner on the edge of the lake, even more fantastic was the thunder storm we experienced on the second evening... Very surreal to sit eating your dinner while sitting and watching a thunderstorm.... Excelent.

After reading all the reviews saying this was a resort for the older traveller, the four of us 20 somethings were quite worried about what to expect. On the contrary!! Although it has to be said we did visit in the main week of the summer. This is NOT your typical young brits abroad holiday, but we are also not your typical young brits! We enjoy the culture and we had a fab time! There were cocktail bars open along the lake till the early hours, we got to experience the food and wine tour of Limone which was absolutely wonderful! Such a great night all together!

The location of the hotel is PERFECT, especially if you want to get an early boat across the lake, walk out and you're right where the boats pick you up!

Fab holiday and will be definately going to Garda again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

We were worried by some reviews but pleasantly suprised on arrival at 8-15pm. Evening meal was 7-00 to 8-00 pm. We were taken to our room by a helpful receptionist who said we would be provided with a meal after we had freshened up from our journey. The four couse meal was OK, nothing special but much better than we had expected. You have to remember this is a 3* hotel and judge it accordingly. Breakfast choice was very good . No full english but still very enjoyable.

The room in the Annexe was spotlessly clean, with basic furnishings and comfortable beds. Bathroom also very clean but somewhat dated. Shower worked very well and plenty of hot water. Sheets and towels changed every day.

All staff were very helpful. We went on two coach tours and the hotel provided free transport to the coach pick up point on request as it is some distance away and the coach cannot get to the hotel due to the very narrow and picturesque streets of Limone.

The trips we went on were the Lake tour and the Dolomites which were excellent.

The location is superb with fantastic views. We felt that the location was the best of any of the hotels we visited when picking up from the coach on the tours.

Evening meal choice is limited and could be improved. There was choice of two starters and two main courses, Having said that we never went hungry.

The rooms in the eaves are to be avoided as they are small,dark and hot. with a very small window. A lady on our coach was allocated one of these rooms but changed it without a problem at her request.

We had a fantastic holiday here and will return in the future

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leadybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sout East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel, but not my first time in Limone. The location of the Azzurro is fabulous. It is right on the lake front, and close to everything you could want. The pool is quite adequate, and the terrace area overlooks the lake on the ground and first floors. Some rooms do have stunning views BUT the rooms do also seem to be pretty variable. Some rooms look onto a wall at the back, and are quite dark and depressing, with small windows and poor natural light. I stayed here on my own and paid a single supplement, and was given a really awful room (overlooking the wall). However, the travel rep arranged a room change, and the hotel manager seemed accommodating enough about this. Talking to other guests, it did seem that rooms varied hugely. In addition, what guests paid seemed also to vary hugely, I'm not too sure why. If you get a good deal for this hotel, I can see that it offers good value for money but if you pay quite a bit for one week, I don't think it is great value. Two major things (for me) let it down: firstly, the food provided to hotel guests differed greatly from that in the (public) restaurant; it was cheap, basic food, sometimes made from frozen or packet ingredients in the evenings, and largely lukewarm and overcooked. Secondly, if you don't have a balcony, there are few places for you to sit and relax in the hotel itself, and there is the distinct feeling that the management are more interested in the paying public than in the hotel guests. However, all in all, if you can get a good deal at this hotel, with a balcony and lake view guaranteed, the location really does count for a lot.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regular_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Our first trip to Italy, well worth every penny.The Hotel is clean and tidy, staff very nice,the waiters are a credit to this Hotel,made us laugh every day. The views are spectacular.we ate in at the Hotel every night and were not disappointed,yes its basic but very palatable.
No full English at breakfast I am afraid,though. Don'T be put off by some of the reviews, its a great hotel, great location. Get out and about though we recommend the Lake tour and the trip to Venice,Italy is beautiful,Lake Garda is a spectacle,very quiet in the evening but very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTrish-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Dirce
Hotel Villa Dirce
#7 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#13 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#8 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garda Bellevue
Garda Bellevue
#27 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#16 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel all`Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel all`Azzurro

Property: Hotel all`Azzurro
Address: Piazzale Franco Gerardi 2, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel all`Azzurro 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel all`Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All`Azzurro Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
All Azzurro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing