We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Europa
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got home after spending a week at this friendly family run hotel. We had a lakeside room with balcony. The views are breathtaking, but unfortunately the noise from the main road in front of he hotel spoilt our sleep pattern. The traffic roared past especially motor bikes. The rooms have no air con o not only did we have the noise from the traffic, the room was unbearable hot. 2euros a day for a fan. The hotel was spotlessly clean. We opted for B&B. breakfast was very average. Fortunately Limone has some excellent restaurants. Not much chance of putting on weight as the walk back to the hotel or should I say hike will wear of the calories and keep the body in shape. Ladies don't bother with high heel shoes keep to flats as the walk in heels could be dangerous. Very steep walk from the lake to the hotel. The hotel had a lift, but that was on the first floor. You have to climb steep staires to get to the reception. This wasn't mentioned in the description of the hotel. Not good for people with mobility problems. The swimming pool was very clean and so was the area around the pool. Not much space though for stretching out, room very limited. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very clean and smart. The towels in our bathroom could have been bigger and softer . I couldn't recommend the hotel for people with mobility or heart and breathing problems because the walking to and from the hotel is difficult. Limone is beautiful and there are some good hotels on the Lake. I would recommend the hotel if you want a reasonably priced place to stay without any frills and are in good health. Be prepared for a two and half hours coach trip from the airport to hotel though. Only takes one and half hours to fly to Verona from Gatwick!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony. Get the sun in the morning. Some over look the pool. Great views over Limone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    43
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from relaxing week at this small but sociable hotel in Limone. The owners,Dominico and his sister Sophia are approachable,and always available. Born and bred in the area, they can answer any question. My single room was spotlessly clean,as we're all areas. I faced the mountain at the back,but although lacking a view, it was quieter. The terrace was well-used,as was the pool area,but was never crowded.
Dinner was in a delightful dining room overlooking the lake. Ramona was a cheerful and efficient waitress. Each of the three courses had three choices. While not large portions,food was tasty.
Due to it's hill-top location, it is not perhaps suitable for anyone with mobility problems,but the views are superb,and it is not far into the "centro storico"

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Four of us travelled to Garda in high expectation of a fantastic holiday. Two and a half hours trip from the airport did not bode well.This wasn't mentioned in any of the literature. We were dropped off in a car park and then picked up by a mini bus to take us to the hotel. Uhm.... First thing I noticed is that we were smack bang on the main road, a very busy main road. Sofia,part owner with her brother, Dom, was charming, as was he, and all the staff, but, that couldn't compensate for that which was lacking. We ate only once at the hotel and it was abysmal, tiny portions covered in a glutinous 'sauce'. A style of cooking I have never come across before. As we had paid over £2000.00 for b&b we were very disappointed with our situation. We would go back to Garda, but not stay at this hotel. The walk back to the hotel from the lake was a test of grit and stamina, so steep, as to be dangerous for people with any fitness problems. The trips around the lake,by boat, were fantastic value and well worth the visit to the other towns. Our room faced onto the road, the traffic and noise were horrendous to such an extent that I didn't get one nights sleep. Be warned. Finally,to add a comment about breakfast. Dry rolls, with slices of non descript cheese and finely sliced salami. I don't partake of cereal or yoghurt, so I was on a loser. Parting shot.... the evening before leaving we were asked to pay 140 euros, for the balcony and the view. I could go on about the room and shower, but I think i've made my point

Room Tip: To get a breeze you need to be on the front rooms.NO air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spitfire42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

this trip was bought as a Christmas gift, Very friendly hotel, clean, staff were very nice nothing to much trouble.
my only negative on this was no air con in the room, and maybe tea & coffee facilities in the rooms, 1.50 Euro for a small tea or coffee and i mean small,.
i would go back to this hotel again...............

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I can not fault the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. My room was cleaned, bed made and towels changed every day. My room, a single, was on the side of the hotel with a view over the kitchen garden and the lake much to my surprise. I had expected that it might have been at the back of the hotel but it wasn't. I enjoyed waking up to my great view and looking out over the town lights below me at night. The walk down to the lakeside is steep but only takes a few minutes. The walk through the narrow streets and alleyways is very pretty. Limone is nothing like the other towns on the lake. The buildings are built into terraces on the rock face which gives you lots of places to explore.

Most restaurants and cafés are on the lake edge and the shops spread from there up into the back streets. This town is traffic free with car parking well catered for out of sight. Many day visitors arrive by ferry but the town did not seem too crowded during the day. I took trips to other towns by ferry, to Malcesine €9, Riva and Torbole €8, which were interesting. I enjoyed one day by the hotel pool and on the terrace with great views across the lake and over the town. The hotel is close to the bus stops and supermarket on the road round the lake but I did not find the road intrusive. I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caister-on-Sea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were very impressed by the Owners, Sofia and Domenico, who create a lovely family atmosphere. You really need to book the front view with a balcony because the rear of the hotel is against a cliff face. I was surprised to notice that other reviewers highlight the high number of Germans and Danes staying here - this is in Europe and what you will find in all parts of Lake Garda in the Summer and we didn't have any issue. Whilst it is true that you need to select your 3-course meal for the evening at breakfast there is also a Bar Meal menu available at most times of the day.You will have to make a 3 or 5 Euro purchase for 3 or 5 hour Internet access and the hotel is obliged to make a 7 Euro each regional holiday tax..
Our Room was fine, clean and comfortable and contained more drawer space than anywhere we have stayed in Europe, but I mustn't gain too much more weight if I should need to enter the small shower againn! The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the blankets provided were a great comfort, Breakfast is Continental and in a spacious area. The real plus is a very good terrace bar with a view overlooking the town and Lake.There is a main road in front of the hotel, but we did not find this intrusive, although this was at the end of September.
Be warned that the terrain is very steep - you can take the short, direct, 5 minute route to the Lakeside or the meandering 15-minute main road stroll, but it's certainly an aerobic exercise if you return by the more direct route up the "ravine".
We did not partake of any excursions but did venture a couple of times to Riva on the Ferry, 10 Euros each and Malcesine, 9 Euros.The Ferries run about every hour but worth checking the return jetty and time as Riva has 4 close together and the 5th is about 200 metres away..Riva is bigger and has more variety on offer, Our experience was that young couples will not find enough to occupy them for a week, but, being older, and just looking for a leisurely break, we enjoyed experiencing the small shops in back alleys offering leather goods, scarves and food, etc.
Although the weather was poor we managed to get out and about. The highlight was the wonderful family atmospere. We were made to feel friends/extended family and we we cannot thank them enough. If we manage to visit this area again, then we would want to stay here and wish Sofia and Domenico every success.

Room Tip: Balcony room at the front, overlookng the Lake, is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kab40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here late August hotel clean but the food was awful paid for half board had 2 meals there ate out all other times . Also no good for anybody with walking difficulties steep roads to walk up and down .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bmiddleton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#8 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
Centro Vacanze La Limonaia
#36 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#10 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#16 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#13 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 35, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Europa Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing