We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting on the lake”
Review of Hotel Al Rio Se

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limone sul Garda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Al Rio Se
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It seems a little churlish to complain about anything regarding this hotel in such a wonderful location.... but .... it was to be the highlight of our trip across Europe .. a suite costing a lot more than other hotels we had stayed in. We were not disappointed by the size of the room or the splendid view but it really was not a suite and did not match some of the superb rooms we had stayed in. On the plus side the aircon was very efficient and we needed it in very hot temperatures, there was a fridge in the room and the food in the restaurant was superb. They say that the prouce comes from their gardens and we saw it collected every day, beautifully fresh ! It was a very easy walk into Limone which was a charming place with plenty of bars and restaurants... great atmosphere ! The hotel benefitted from being in a very quiet location in a busy area.

The aproach road to the hotel (2 way!!) was so narrow just before the hotel that wing mirrors had to be folded in and we still felt that we would not make it. Range Rover etc? Maybe not !!! The hotel parking is a bit hit and miss and if you arrive too late to take one of the few places which are available it is a case of double parking and leaving your keys at Reception. A very steep drive down to the small parking area which might frighten any elderly or new drivers !

The owners appeared to be very friendly on arrival but it seemed very easy to upset the host... maybe the end of a very busy season ! He didn´t want us to book a table for dinner. At times we felt we were still in Germany, most of the other guests were German but very friendly and no towels were put on sunbeds to reserve them !!! The pool was small but it was a good feature in such a confined space..

All in all, allowing for the downsides, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 13 is the biggest and best but not cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

The beauty of Al Rio Se' is the fact that,unless you happen to be staying at one of the few hotels on this side of the village you would never know it was there.As the ferries disgorge passengers the vast majority bear left and head into the centre where most of the lakeside restaurants show pictures of dishes on thier menu's ( ugh! ) Those in the know proceed up past the ferry booking office and continue up the fairly steep lane,past the Splendid Palace lower entrance to the top of the hill which takes around 10 mins max.There will be found on the right hand side the steep driveway leading down to ' heaven ' in the shape of one of the best restaurants in the entire area,with well shaded tables and spectacular views of the gardens and lake.The food is all freshly prepared to order so dont expect 'fast food',the fish dishes and hand made pasta are to die for and the wine list is more than adequate at reasonable prices,we have lunched here literally dozens of times over a 14 year period and have never been dissapointed.And on one occasion our grandsons were even invited to use the swimming pool,the owners of this family run hotel/restaurant could write a book on customer service! Just one word of advice if you intend walking further along the delightful lakeside pathway before lunch,table reservations are not possible and if you arrive back much later than 1230 you will probably be unlucky.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stumbled upon the restaurant of this hotel a few years ago and no matter where we are staying on Lake Garda ( usually Riva) we go for lunch. We are recognised from our previous visits and the food, particularly the fish- breaded perch is amazing- and service is excellent. The view over the Lake is breathtaking and we find we recharge our batteries by spending a couple of hours over a leisurely lunch. It is a fair step along the road to get to this hotel, but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carojohn139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maran_wust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siabiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: auf keinen Fall Standardzimmer nehmen,
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mutsch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Locanda Ruscello
Hotel Locanda Ruscello
#2 of 19 in Limone sul Garda
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garni Gianmartin
Garni Gianmartin
#1 of 19 in Limone sul Garda
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mercedes
Hotel Mercedes
#3 of 19 in Limone sul Garda
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Rio Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Rio Se

Address: Via Nova 12, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Limone sul Garda
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family Bertera will do his utmost to give you a relaxing and unforgettable holiday! Hotel al Rio Se is situated on a very lovely and quiet spot with a beautiful panorama. It is surrounded by lemon- and olive trees, free from the noises of cars, near to the lake, but at the same time only 2 minutes walking away from the historical centre of Limone and the boat landing-stage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Rio Se Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing