We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Cristina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cristina
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel two weekends in a row in May, the first time on our own and the second with some friends.

We chose this hotel for the price & reviews, having never been to Lake Garda before we weren't familiar with the area.

The hotel is in Limone, a beautiful little town on the northern coast of the lake. The nearest big town is Riva sul Garda, a ten minute drive. The area is really spectacular!

Hotel Cristina is a resort / package holiday-style hotel located on an incline above the town of Limone. The views are amazing! It is split into two adjoining hotels (Hotel San Pietro & Cristina) S.P. being a 4* and Cristina the 3*. The complex comprises a number of different buildings, villas etc. On our first stay we got a lovely, modern room with a balcony. The second stay (for the same price), we got a standard, resort-style room with access to a communal sun terrace overlooking the pool. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, though if I were going back, I'd request the first room type again!

The breakfast was basic - cold meats & bread etc, but we were happy with it for the price. We did not eat dinner in the restaurants on either occasion, instead going to La Griglia (i think!) in Limone for dinner.

I would recommend this hotel - it is good value and has a fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear client, thank you very much for your recommendation. We're glad that you spent a nice holiday at our hotel. See you soon. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    133
    82
    26
    15
See reviews for
85
165
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S.Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We have just come back from a week in this hotel and were very impressed. We booked with Newmarket travel and unlike the previous review found the rep to be helpful and funny - however, back to the hotel.....We originally intended to get a double/twin room and a single as our 19 year old was coming with us. After reading previous reports of the single rooms, we decided against it and booked a triple room with a side lake view. When we arrived in our room (52) it had the most fabulous front lake views, with a balcony big enough for the 3 of us. It is the largest room we have ever had for 3 people, with the biggest bath room, although this did look dated, it had a bath with shower over, toilet and bidet and the towels were changed as often as we requested. Were surprised to find a kettle with tea/coffee provided ( a first for us in Italy) and also surprised with the amount of wardrobe space and the number of hangers (first time ever I remembered to pack our own hangers and didn't need them!). We heard no noise from any other rooms. The room was air conditioned. The food choice was excellent, with several choices each day, buffet style - again the most I have ever encountered any where - and even though I restricted my intake still managed to put on half a stone! We did not have a hairdryer in our room. Didn't make use of the mini bar in the room but think the prices were the same as in the hotel bar - when usually they are much more.The 19 year old (female) complained the pools were too cold, but hey - she's still a teenager and that's what teenagers do! There are loads of steps, which some people may find a problem and I also heard some people complaining that the hotel bus from the village did not run late enough, but this did not bother us as we always walked. It is a very steep walk from the village but if it weren't you wouldn't get the stunning views! Everywhere was very clean and all the staff were helpful and spoke perfect English. Evening entertainment was provided Mon - Fri - we went along twice to watch the Brazillian dancers and the pianist/vocalist. Free tea/coffee and cakes were provided each afternoon but again, we just had those on two occasions. It is not a resort to visit if you want a hectic night life as it is mainly restaurant/bars where you can sit outside and watch people saunter by. If you are prepared to walk up hills and stairs, or maybe pay for a taxi if the hotel bus finishes too early for you - this is the hotel to go to.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_YorksYorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear client, we are very thankful to you for your review. We're very happy to know that you had a great time at our hotel. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had an extremely enjoyable stay at the hotel Cristina. The hotel was quiet during the day with many people out on excursions. The adult pool I had to myself and there were plenty of sunbeds on our balcony and by the pool. The restaurant offered a great variety of food with a wide selection of different main courses each night cooked.to a high standard. Staff were helpful, friendly and extremely efficient in their work. We had standard rooms which were basic but spacious and immaculately clean with plenty of wardrobe space.There is tea and coffee making facilities and a simple hairdryer in each room, aswell as a mini bar.
I would recommend this hotel to people of all ages as long as you are pretty mobile as there are steps within the hotel on seperate levels and also within the surrounding location.
Only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Limone and many cafes, restaurants and ferries to other parts of Lake Garda. My first visit to Italy....I will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blackcherry1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear client, thank you very much for your kind review and for your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon in Limone. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This was a really nice hotel! I went to Limone from the 15-22 June with my boyfriend for a couples holiday. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who spoke very good English, and they upgraded us from a Superior Room to a Panorama room for free. We had amazing views of the lake and mountains from our large balcony and our room was well furnished with sofas, a dressing table, chairs, a king size bed (though the covers were scratchy so we left them off) a TV, a large wardrobe and safe. In the bathroom there was a bath and shower combo as well as a bidet (this provided much entertainment).

This hotel seemed to be very popular with older people. We felt like we recieved many disapproving looks from a lot of them whilst we were at the hotel (we are both 19) which did make us feel a little uncomfortable, but fortunately the old people only seemed to venture outside in the evening!

Breakfast consisted of a massive buffet which we looked forward to everyday. It was a typical continental breakfast and was of good quality. The town of Limone was lovely though much smaller than other lakeside resorts. There are plenty of pizzerias and gelatarias which we visited sometimes several times a day. Walking down to the lakefront is fine but it is a bit of a tiring climb back up the roads to the hotel. There is a shuttle bus but we never used it.

There were also plenty of excursions on offer for good prices, we went to the Dolomites for 48 Euros and Venice for 65 Euros. We also caught the ferry to Malcesine for a day trip and that was great as there is much to do.

Overall this was a lovely hotel and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanieSekula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

When we first arrived and were dropped off by the coach, we were told to take our cases up a steep slope to reception to book in. Once we had checked in, following behind a member of reception staff who helped us as much as he could, we then had to take them down some more steps, fortunately he then found someone to carry our luggage up another set of steps to get to the lift which took us to our room. Myself and one of my two friends really struggled with this, and bearing this in mind when the time came to check out we did enquire if there was any help available to get our cases down again, and it appears that you can have your cases taken down by 9pm the previous evening and locked in a room near reception, (not ideal) but otherwise for early departures like ourselves there is none. On our last evening, while planning our departure, we did manage to find another lift which took us to the side of reception, we were surprised this was not used on our arrival, or that there is no 24hr help available. This has to be the only negative point I can make about this hotel.

Our room (309) was booked as standard, yet we had a kettle, tv, safety deposit box and shared balcony, with sunbeds, and the most stunning views of the lake. Our room was next door to our friends, and on opening our balcony doors we could all be together, it was ideal for us. The decor is slightly tired looking, but the first things I always check are the pillows, linens and bathroom, I always think you can manage with everything else as long as these are clean, and these were pristine! And all credit to our maid, she kept it this way all week, with regular linen and towel changes, and always a smile for everyone.

The walls are very very thin, so if you are a light sleeper take some earplugs, a child crying in the next room sounded as though he was in our own room! But other than that we noticed very little noise otherwise.

The restaurant also did not disappoint. The cleanliness and standards here are very very good, the food is presented well, and as a very picky eater I had no problems chosing different meals. Top marks to the cooking and waiting staff, this is a busy but very well run area.

The free afternoon tea, cake and biscuits is exactly that. The tea/coffee machines are switched on near the upper pool area, there is a plate of round biscuits, and panetone cake cut up. But this goes fast!

We travelled with Newmarket Travel, (and to be fair I dont think this should reflect on the hotel, but if you are travelling with Newmarket, take note!) we were disappointed that while all other travel companies had their excursion/information boards filled, the Newmarket board was completely empty, until the departure times went up. So if you want to book any excursions, ie lake trips etc, go down to the quay and book them yourself, you will find it alot less hassle! There is plenty of information in reception, and the staff are very helpful. Sadly we were not at all impressed (nor alone in our opinions) by the Newmarket Rep here, who could most definitely do with some customer service training to say the very least!!!

There is a minibus which takes you into Limone and picks you up again, on the hour. (Except 12 -2.30pm) but stops around 5pm, its a shame this does not run until 8ish really as the shops are open quite late, but you can always walk back.

This is a huge hotel, and I would advise anyone to spend a little time finding out what is available here, there were things in the hotel that we missed and did not find out about until we were due to leave, an information folder in each room, (or available from reception) would really help customers get the best from this lovely hotel.

All in all, we had a fantastic holiday here. The location was truly beautiful, yes its steep but so worth it, and the hotel lived up to and surpassed our expectations. I would happily return here anytime.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyCat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear client, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Also, we are very thankful to you for your kind review. We are really looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay completely. The hotel was modern but did not look out of place. The staff were amazing and on aour arrival we were upgraded. Wow, What a spectaculor view over the lake!!! One of the best views I have ever seen.... Yes the hotel is high up above the towwn but once you see the view you will love it.

We ate in the restaurant which was very good and breakfast was very good as well with hot food as well as the normal european stuff. We also ate at a small restaurant just across the road called Restaurant Tovo.. Wow the food was awesome and the price reasonable. You must tryy it!!

I would diffenatly recommend this hotel not just for the view but for the great staff and comfort you will receive.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ifrit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear client, thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bebington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Our room was in the orchidea villa which meant having to negotiate 2 flights of external stairs and cross a courtyard to reach dining area. O.K. by day but not in the evening in the rain.The food was good but only one working coffee/tea machine caused long wait in the mornings. no good trying to make your own in the room as milk was usually sour and only one sachet of coffee per room each day.The staff in the music bar were both idle and rude, One evening a lady knocked over a pint of beer at next table. Despite repeated requests the broken glass and beer were not cleaned up for over 90 minutes.
The carpet in our room was dirty and stained and a trip from bed to the dressing table resulted in the soles of our feet being black. There is a bus to town but only once per hour meaning it is usually not capable of carrying all the waiting people and those least able are the ones unable to board.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superbof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Web PR Manager at Hotel Cristina, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Dear client, we are very sorry to hear that you didn't find your stay at our hotel enjoyable. We will take your remarks into consideration in order to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
256 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#22 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
192 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristina

Property: Hotel Cristina
Address: Via Tamas 20, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristina Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Cristina Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
Cristina Limone Sul Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing