We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Hotel Cristina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cristina
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Arrived back from a 2 week stay in Hotel Cristina, with husband and son. We found the rooms in need of a refurbishment. We were first given a standard room and this we found to be unacceptable, we were then upgraded to a 'Superior' but it wasn't superior quality. It did have air conditioning and better views of the lake but the 70's decor was still the same. We were upgraded at a cost but Davide who dealt with us on Reception was professional and did his upmost to rectify the situation. Breakfast was the same everyday and the only hot, was scrambled egg, boiled egg or frankfurters. Evening meals was like catering for the masses, nothing was great but mostly average but something for everyone, definately lacked vegetables, although plenty of salads. Hotel offers beautiful views and the hotel is probably in the best position to appreciate the good views. Staff all very friendly, with special mention to Davide. There is a TV in the room but the only English channels were the news. Wifi incredibly slow, at times not worth using. Hotel prodominently Germans and yes they still reserve the sunbeds with their towels early on, despite this being a hotel request for this not to happen. If you do any excursions, please bear in mind you might be the first pick up and last drop off, making the day very long. Limone is stunning and worth visiting but I'm not sure I would return to Hotel Cristina, as it does not warrant a 3 star.

Room Tip: Go superior upwards. I have heard the 'Deluxe' is better but at a cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Louise,

thank you very much for your review. We're sorry that you didn't like our hotel thoroughly. We will take your review into consideration. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We chose Hotel Christina for its adverts of "views of the Lake and great quality rooms, ok we arrived and were handed the keys to what i would describe as a barn style room with 60's or 70's decor, the place was littered with cobwebs and there was what appeared to be nasal hair around the sink next to the dirty towels! (hand prints on the towels)

We were given an apology and a new same sized room with a great view, unfortunately that was all that was great about it, it was filthy, you only get a bed sheet and a bedspread which stank, there were blankets provided but after opening the first to find pubic hair, we lived 2 nights with just a sheet.

The food. I am an adventurous Englishman and I enjoy multinational dishes, but to find mashed potato made from powder in the heart of Italy...then you need to question what are they thinking, it became clear this hotel goes for the "Loads of people stay but reduce the standard and cost of food to make a fast profit"

I would seriously not stay there again as we went home 3 days early because our stay there ruined what was a beautiful holiday.

This hotel claims to have won hotel of the year etc... I would guess that bribery is not just limited to the Italian football league then!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Very accommodating and friendly staff especially at reception. The distance from town (25mins walk) up a steep hill are out ballanced by the spectacular views. The pool was nice with good sun beds. The food is pretty good although not a big choice for breakfast. The hotel is geared towards an older crowd my wife and I our in our early 30's. If you are looking for a nice relaxing slow paced holiday with spectacular views you cannot go wrong here but If you're young and/or looking for a lively nightlife you are not going to be disappointed. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear jmk,

thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope that you would like to come back for your next stay on Lake Garda.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel Cristina a nice clean friendly hotel
Just back from a 4 day break .very good staff always so helpful.
Very steep climb from main road.
Wonderful views across the lake.caters mainly for the German market
Could do with more English tv channels, and mini bus could run much later at night 6.30
To early .half board has a good choice of food.
I would go back to this hotel again ,good value for money.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear William,

thank you so much for your review. We're happy to read that you're going to come back, so we look forward to it.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here recently with my boyfriend for a long weekend. The hotel complex is very big since it's for 2 hotels. They upgraded us to a bigger room on arrival which was great because I couldnt have imagined what the smaller room looked like.

Our room was OK..I noticed an odd smell when we entered the room but got used to it after a few days. Stepping into the room was like stepping back in time as the furnishings look like they were all from the 70's. The sheets made me itch a little as well. The TV (which we never used) was awkwardly situated on the side table, parallel to the bed which would make it extremely uncomfortable to watch if you ever did decide to watch TV. The carpet was freaky and the room was all in all pretty depressing aside from the view which was spectacular.

Walking from the hotel to the center of Limone took us a good 20-30 minutes so this might be something to consider before you book

Breakfast was nothing special--same thing everyday--but they do have a lot of variety compared to other Italian hotels I've stayed in.

The staff are all very friendly and efficient. It's really a shame that the rooms are so disappointing. But I guess you get what you pay for.

All in all, I'm pretty on-the-fence about whether or not I would recommend this hotel..right now I'm leaning more towards not recommending it but if you're not planning on spending a great amount of time in the room, then, by all means, book it.

TIP: If you have a car, since the hotel is a part of a chain of hotels in Limone, your parking ticket gives you free access to parking spots in other hotels within the chain as well. There's one close to town so you can park your car there and just walk

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singmearainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Singmearainbow,

we're happy that you appreciated the sight and the service of our hotel. We would only like to suggest that you check the type of the hotel room you intend to book beforehand on our portal. Thank you so much for your review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We only had one night here and I wished it was longer..

The hotel is clean and comfortable with lots of space and the reception staff seemed friendly and helpful.

We got upgraded on arrival to a lake view with a balcony and WOW what a view. There is breakfast in the morning that looked good, although we passed as we wanted to find somewhere and sit outside.

The only downside is the hotel is joined with another hotel and it took us around 20 minutes to find our room as its not very clear where the rooms are.

Limone is an amazing place and the weather was hot in April, one of the nicest parts of Lake Garda.

I would stay here again great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrAvElQuE3N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCristinaLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Lucy,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you spent a nice holiday at our hotel. We look forward for your coming back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great value for 3 star, but co-joined to the same chain's 4 star so I imagine that much of the same standard rubs off. Liked the pool areas. We travelled with our14 year old daughter so upgraded our room and it was worth it. Food choice and quality is good, loved the salad bar. Bar is reasonably priced and the cocktails good. Shuttle bus very useful as the uphill walk back is hard going in the heat. Would have been handy to have had a few later evening pick ups though. Staff all friendly too. Would recommend and hope to return when it's not the middle of a heat wave!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynneandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#27 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
270 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
475 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#8 of 33 in Torbole
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristina

Address: Via Tamas 20, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £42 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristina Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Cristina Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
Cristina Limone Sul Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing