We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd year in a row,..still fantastic! Fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal Village
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“2nd year in a row,..still fantastic! Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We came last year and we were really impressed. I would say that the views from the hotel are possibly the most beautiful that I have ever seen.

The children ( aged 12 and 8) were happy even though there were fewer children to play with than last year. There is one road in and out of Limone,and as the children were already familiar with the area, we had no worries about them getting lost, as they knew their way back to the hotel, which was pretty straightforward. The only issue with safety is the little road that runs between the two sides of the hotel, but it is very quiet.

We asked for the same room as last year, which is room 118. That is a ground floor room facing the pool. The room next to us (115 I think) was an apartment. All rooms have balconies and most have lake views. It is near the playground where there is a table tennis table, a trampoline and a football area along with children's soft play area/ swings/slides etc within easy reach of the room. Our room was comfortable but clean and the beds were nice and firm. The room had a hairdryer,, television, and the shower water was warm, but you had to wait a minute for it to warm up. Towels for the pool were available for a 10 euro deposit per towel.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The entertainment left something to be desired compared to last year, but this year there were a lot of elderly couples, so I think that it was more geared towards them. I did not mind, as it was only for 2 hours on an evening and hardly offensive.

There is no English TV in the rooms apart from a news channel, but we did not go there to watch tv.

We paid half board but received full board. The breakfast consisted of cereals, yoghurts, various breads/continental stuff along with german sausages, egg and toast.

Lunch was a buffet style with a generous spread of fabulous and inventive salads ( veggies would be impressed!), soup, bread, pizza, chips, pasta and free packed lunches if you are going on a trip.

Dinner was again salad and soup along with delicious meaty and veggie options.

Wine and beer and soft drinks/ coffee and teas were available from 10am- 8.30pm for free.

We experienced no mad rush for queues etc. Dinner was very relaxed.

Teatime was 4-5pm when there were cakes available, so you were never short of food.

The outdoor pools were freezing but you get over it after the first few seconds. There is also a heated indoor pool, but I preferred the outdoor ones. They are about 20 metres in length and good for a healthy swim. The pools have been quiet on both years that we have been so you have a chance to get a good workout. There are always plenty of sunbeds available.

We travelled with First Choice who gave us a £150 discount when we said that we would go with Thomson! We paid £2700 for a holiday for 3 adults and 1 child ( kids age 12 charged at adult rate). Considering it was all inclusive, I think that was money well spent.

They specially arranged a trip to Gardaland ( theme park) for us. It was raining, and because Italian schools were not on holiday, we had no queues there and did not mind the rain as we got wet on most of the rides anyway!

We also took a speedboat ride across the lake. It was 40 euros for a half hour ride. We did not drive the boat ourselves, but we found it a very pleasant experience and a lovely way to view the lake.

The best way to get about is by boat and the boat services to Riva, Torbole and Malcesne are frequent and fairly cheap.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rosiegibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    87
    31
    16
See reviews for
153
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We found the attitude of the majority of staff completely off-hand and one in particular totally obnoxious. This was one of the managers who screamed at us (in German) just because we had not seen the notice about taking drinks from "the dining room" (busy self-service cafeteria with mediocre food, occasionally warm and fairly bland) and whom we found to have as much charisma and charm as an earthworm. We received an "apology" the following evening,not in person but by one of the nice ladies in the bar who presented us with a round of free liqueurs. Needless to say, we would not stay in this hotel again. The decor was extremely dated, there was no mirror in our bedroom (apart from a full length mirror in a dark corner), the carpet in the main areas was in very poor & trodden down condition and the whole hotel needs a total refurbishment. To describe this hotel as 4-star is a joke. It may sport an indoor & outdoor swimming pool (with sauna) and amazing views over Lake Garda but these do not merit 4-star status. Maybe the staff were tired after a long season and perhaps tired of the many German guests (who we found to be very friendly, in spite of the language barrier) but then if they don't like their jobs they should not make their guests feel totally unwelcome - it's not our fault.
Maybe the long walk up "cardiac hill" from the beach to the hotel was too steep for some guests but to be fair it was mentioned in the brochure - and for a small fee one could use the hotel minibus which could carry the less able bodied up the hill. All in all, we loved Limone and enjoyed all the trips but it was with a sinking feeling that we returned to the cheerless hotel after each day out sightseeing and to say we felt pretty unwelcome and uncomfortable would sum it up in a nutshell. However, we did meet a lot of lovely friendly people who were staying at the hotel and this certainly compensated for the lack of charm from the staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anjobanjo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limone sul Garda hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

There are many mixed reviews of this hotel but we had an excellent stay in September 2010. My advice would be to take the 4 star rating with a pinch of salt, but instead compare the facilities with other hotels of the same price, in which case we found it very favourable. The restaurant is a buffet restaurant rather than a la carte, and is very busy, but that's the same at most resort style hotels I have been at where people are on a half-board/full-board basis. There's the option to book the pizzeria at no extra cost which is much quieter.

We paid extra for a superior lake view room, and did not regret it - the room was huge with two balconies overlooking Lake Garda with beautiful views toward Malcésine. The decor/furniture was functional and modern but the room was very pleasant.

The food was excellent and at every meal we found something we enjoyed from the buffet -- however other reviews here about the queues for food are accurate. For the main course in particular there were queues up to 20-deep. I would recommend that the hotel considers rearranging the buffet layout to overcome this (having 2 queues or something), but with reasonable planning it wasn't too long to wait. The lunch (considering this was a half board deal) was substantial and the free soft drinks and wine all day long were very welcome.

The hotel location has a great view of the lake, but it is a fairly steep walk back up to the hotel - particularly the last 200 yards - as others have reviewed. We managed it fine despite not being especially fit and having a pushchair to push, but it does puff you out (another good reason for the free drinks!) There is a €1 minibus shuttle service but we managed without it. Plenty of parking if you are driving to the hotel (although parking down in Limone is busy during the day).

My main criteria on whether you should go to this hotel is whether or not you can cope with a busy buffet for your meals - if you'd prefer quiet a la carte meals, I would recommend you look elsewhere. But for a family holiday, especially with young children, we found it ideal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jedp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmead
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

You get what you pay for, this is not the Ritz. The hotel & its surroundings are extremely clean. Decent room, comfortable bed, power shower. Clean towels everyday. Restaurant VG. You will never go hungry, food for every taste. Friendly, helpful hard working staff througout the hotel. You treat them right they'll treat you right. Entertainment staff are brilliant. They get all the guests of all ages to join in & have great fun. Fun we certainly had, they have a great sense of humour. You will be surprised at how most other guests are really friendly if you make an effort to get to know them, no matter what nationality.This is our 2nd visit. & won't be our last. A beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannahDenmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel, with mixed feelings. The hotel is frequented by about 90% germans which in itself is not a problem apart from the arrogance displayed by them and the smoking next to you while you may be eating (outdoors only). But it does mean that any entertainment that is put on is geared towards them. All the acts were singing german songs or playing german party tunes and sing alongs, the music played around the pool during the day was also circa 1980's german soft rock.
We always found plenty of space around the two pools, this may have been due to the time of year and the temperature, the pool was ice cold but the indoor pool was nice for a swim in or a jacuzzi (10 mins for 1 euro).
We paid for a superior room but found nothing superior about it. The room was very small with air con. (most rooms have this anyway) and a partial lake view. The bathroom was also small with only a shower. The room was kept clean by the maids, who we found to be very noisy on a morning when one might have liked to sleep a bit longer.
We found the food to be of an average quality but almost certainly to be luke warm to cold. Drinks were always plentyful especially the wine which one could quiet easily get a bit worse for wear on after only two to three large plastic cups full of .
Most of the staff were very pleasant except the reception which is a bit of a problem as they are the first people you meet from the hotel when you arrive. When we arrived at 8p.m. on the saturday the receptionist gave us directions to our annex (50 meters! up the road on the left). We duly went up the very steep hill (more about that later) to find nothing only to come back down to find that the 50m is more like 15m, we heard other english quest's talking of similar experiences.
Finally the location. The hotel is about 250m up a very steep hill which does mean good views but it also puts you off venturing up and down too much (you are usally a bit out of breath by the time you get to he top) we passed a few elderly couple that had have to stop for a breather half way up. None of the brochures mentioned this hill which I think they should because it can be a bit disconcerting when you first get there in the coach and find yourself laid back in your seat while going up. To be fair because of the location of Limone ther are very few places that are not up or down a steep hill just take this into account before deciding to go.
All in all we still enjoyed our holiday because Limone is a nice clean place and the weather was pleasant when we needed it to be.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerr93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

This was our 2nd all-inclusive holiday - we thought last year's in Austria could not be matched, let alone beaten, but we were pleasantly surprised. On arrival, despite there being only 5 mins of the lunch time left, we were allowed to go and dine ( not so in Austria), and found there was more than enough food left. Eating on the terrace, with the breathtaking views beyond the pool and palm trees made us feel like we were somewhere in the Caribbean.
The room was fine and clean although the en-suite rather "compact". Since the temperatures during our entire stay were rather high (reaching 45 degrees C most days) we were glad of the air conditioning and also the free drinks.
The food was never disappointing, being of a high quality, masses of choice -fresh fruit and vegetables as well as the meats, cheeses, pasta, fish, desserts, ice cream ....and in great abundance. We started every day with an excellent breakfast of cereals, yoghurts, fruits, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, vegetables, jams...., made room at lunch for a plateful of more exotic vegetables, salads, kebabs(meat or fish), chips, pasta, casseroles, chicken....., had afternoon tea and cake/biscuits and finally squashed nothing less than a banquet each evening. we made it into four courses though the more experienced italians made it into more! we started with roast vegetables and salad, moved on to several pasta dishes (never the same) had a main from a selection of fish, meat, chicken... and finished off with fruit, cakes or ice cream! Other reviews have given examples of some of the dishes - we were equally impressed and never bored. The pizzaria was a lovely alternative and is not to be missed.
The elevated position of the hotel is the reason it enjoys such spectacular views - can't have it both ways! The intense heat was our only groan, making our trek up the hill more of an ordeal than it would have been - nothing to do with the hotel!
My only criticisms (small) were the juices served at breakfast, which I doubt saw real fruit, and the coffee - definitely instant! Even these I managed to overcome: I made my own fresh fruit salad each morning to replace the fruit juice, from the baskets of oranges, apricots, plums, nectarines, kiwi.......and at breakfast, an expresso (still from a machine, but from real coffee beans) with frothy hot milk replaced the instant cappucino or latte from the machines. The dining room was large and busy, but this came as no surprise as we knew it was a big hotel. However, it was always civilised and we tried to go in the second half or the evening when it was less hectic yet certainly no decline in the amount or variety of food available. I really do not know how they produce such delicious, attractively served, quality food, on such a large scale in such a hot climate.
In summary, this was a lively hotel, plenty going on for every agegroup and delicious food to look forward to every few hours.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckie
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Royal Village and not sure i would return.The hotel itself is quite old fashioned but well maintained and our room was immaculately clean. The staff were all really pleasant and helpful when we needed directions and travel information .The setting of the hotel(quite high up in the resort ) might be a problem for the elderly or less able and it certainly gave my heart a work out everyday.There is a shuttle bus to and from the centre of limone but it does not seem to run at convenient times.The food at the hotel was nothing special and everything seemed to be cold, the eating style was totally uncivilised with guests queueing up outside the restaurant doors before service ready to "fight " for a table and food.It was a really awful way to dine and i would never opt for all inclusive again.The atmosphere in the dining room was not pleasant with people literally pushing others out of the way to get to the food first,by the end of the week it actually made me angry,and to think that there are people in this world actually starving!!All manners and courtesy towards others seemed to vanish at meal times.NOT a decent way to behave.The same seemed to apply in the scramble for sun loungers,i saw one guest putting his towels on his lounger at 6 in the morning as i was leaving for a day trip to venice.Needless to say i did not spend any time at the pool and preferred to walk down to the public beach at the lakeside.Limone itself is a nice village but gets very busy,there are a few nice places to eat and some nice shops selling clothes and souvenirs.An absolute must is a trip to venice,it was the highlight of my holiday and well worth the 3+ hour journey to get there.We chose to use the public transport rather than on an organised trip and it was a real treat,the trains are efficient and on time and take you right in to the heart of Venice.Overall, a good holiday,just not at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfwidow53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#5 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#16 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#13 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilma
Hotel Ilma
#14 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Village

Property: Hotel Royal Village
Address: Via Benedetto Croce 23, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Village Hotel
Hotel Royal Village Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing