We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok disappointed with room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal Village
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Norwich
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hotel ok disappointed with room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

This was a 4star hotel so I didn't think I would be living in a shoe box for the week,the beds were almost on the floor.I had up graded to a balcony and lake view, so paid extra for that. The shower room was also very small. The hotel itself was ok.
No complaints with Newmarket Holidays everything ran smooth reps were fine.
Steep road to the hotel so not good for elderly or infirm.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fishnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    87
    31
    16
See reviews for
153
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel comprises several buildings and for this reason never feels too large - quite the reverse. Our room was clean and comfortable. Most public areas are fine although a few sections, indoor and out, do need some refurbishment. Many of the sun-bed covers need to be replaced.

The staff, without exception, were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel's location, on a short but steep hill, means there are wonderful views across the lake. The hill could be problematic for some elderly, disabled or unfit guests, but there is a low-cost shuttle bus running several times a day between the hotel and Limone centre.

With a wide choice of food always available, we had no cause for complaint. The option of having dinner in the pizzeria, and of a packed lunch, are a welcome way to add flexibility. We were there in late September. I could imagine that the dining room may be very crowded in high season. The free drinks offered for a substantial part of the day - and with meals - comprise of soft drinks, water, one lager (reasonable) and red or white wine (OK...). Since the hotel is not sold as All-Inclusive, it is hardly justified to complain about free drinks, although some people did.

Limone is extremely attractive and offers many options to travel by boat to other places around the lake. Malcesine, almost opposite Limone, is well-worth a visit, especially if you take the Monte Baldo funivia, which will reward you with incredible views.

As a final and very relevant comment - we would happily book the Hotel Royal Village again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fastdriver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had a fabulous week at this hotel. The location is good for getting around - the hill up to the hotel was rather tiring but not a problem. We had a good view of the lake in a very quiet room on the top floor above the restaurant. The food was great - plenty of choice and lots of cakes and icecream! The room was rather basic - lack of drawer space but the hotel was good. There were 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool. Even though it was very hot the outdoor pools were too cold for me so we used the indoor pool. The hotel was very quiet during the day - most people were out on trips. So there were plenty of sunbeds available at all times. We had to go to another hotel about a mile away for our welcome meeting with the rep - this wasted half a day. We were rather disappointed to find the all inclusive finished at 6pm - we booked on line and this was not made apparent to us. However you can sit in the dining room until 8.30 and have a drink with your meal. I recommend the ferry trip to Torbola - walk to Riva and get the ferry back - a lovely walk. Take a waterproof as the storms ane sudden and wet and windy but dont last long. If you need cigarettes you can get them at the Hotel Limone at the bottom of the hill - not many places sell them. Its very expensive out and about so make the most of everything available in the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor above the restaurant was quiet with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pamsytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Perhaps it was the time of the year (11th September) but it was almost like staying at a different hotel to some of the other reviews.

The reception staff were very helpful and all spoke English. We arrived at 9.00pm to be greeted with a salad dinner + sweet.

We never had any problems finding a sunbed.

The food was varied and plentiful, we never had to queue for anything. The restaurant manager quite clearly took his position seriously and made sure the staff removed plates quickly and generally kept them on their toes. He was always courteous and helpful to the guests.

There are notices requesting guests not to take glasses out of the restaurant. The swimming pool is just outside so it is only commonsense. The restaurant and indoor hotel is non smoking. From other reviews I expected it to be full of cigar smoking beer swilling Germans. This was far from the truth. Yes there were are number of Germans, after all it is only a fairly short car journey, but they were polite and friendly.

The entertainment was mixed but a lot of variety and mainly good something for everyone. Typical hotel entertainment but better than we experienced in Menorca.

Yes there is a steep hill but all our party were 65 + and could walk up in 15 minutes with no problem. With a bit of timing you can catch the shuttle bus for 1 euro. The tour guide always arranged for the shuttle to come and pick those who had been on an outing.

The rooms were clean and functional plenty of hot water and pressure from the showers.

We had paid for half board but wine beer soft drinks tea coffee were available as was a lunch and if you were out for the day an enormous packed lunch was provided. Cakes were supplied every day between four and five.

The three pools were all very clean although a bit cool. I managed quite well after the initial shock kiddies do not seem to notice. After 35c in the sun it can come as a shock to the system the rest of the party thought I was a wimp!

There is a public highway running through the complex but it is not too busy. Youngsters should however not be let out of sight as there are a lot of bends and difficult to see traffic coming.

Limone itself is built on a hill and most hotels involve a walk up a hill but all provide a shuttle bus. Lake Garda is a beautiful place. Do not miss a trip to the Dolomites and Malcesine by boat and the cable car ride to Monte Baldo. Verona is wonderful but we did not have enough time there.

Weather was great 35C each day with clear blue skies although I can not guarantee this every holiday!

Room Tip: We stopped in the St Lucia apartments which was near swimming pool and free bar. All are a very shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Realistic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great hotel, food was really nice with a good selection, rooms were clean and comfortable. Only problem was the indoor heated pool was cold.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G_raff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel at noon and were met with friendly reception staff. The hotel was clean, big and the all inclusive was great. Albeit it finished at 8.30pm, earlier than other hotels I have been in that provide all inclusive. The hotel itself is set on a hill, so not suitable for disabled clients in my opinion. The scenery from the hotel is amazing. The whole lake just oozes character, warmth and stunning views. When you think of Italy, this is what you expect. Limone was a delightful town. Gorgeous were ever you went. We took several trips to other parts of the lake, Garda, simione, malcesine etc and felt limone was by far the prettiest part of the lake, if that was possible. We hired a speed boat one day from captain johnny, by the pier in the town. Fantastic bloke. No problems hiring the boat, and no questions asked when it was returned. (for those of you that may worry about been ripped off). It was a fantastic way to view the lake. But be careful, if you enter the north of the lake by speedboat it is fine of approx 200 euro. The boat cost us 120 euro. I would definitely recommend this as a way of viewing the lake. We also went to Venice and Verona. Both very different but well worth it. Venice was 64 euro each with added charges if you wanted to go on a gondola or do the lake tour. Gondola was 18 euro each, as apposed to 130euro they normally charge. So be sensible and book with your guide if able. We ate out in Venice and it was expensive, we didn't mind as we were on our honeymoon, but be aware they have a legal service charge of 12% and then sitting charges as well. Plus the food and drink are generally expensive also. I would advice people to stick to the gorgeous back streets if they want to do this as you won't get charged for an orchestra playing, which is common in st marks square. Verona was 40 euro each and well worth it. Gorgeous city. We even managed to write our names on milkweeds wall. Lol! Overall a fantastic stay. I agree with other reviews in that I was shocked to read about how there were hardly any English etc....need I say any more. I found it a pleasant change that there were many nationalities in the hotel. It made for a more interesting stay. I would definitely go back. We had a fantastic honeymoon and one we will look back on fondly for years to come.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrontlieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel has several buildings and swimmingpools, the one at the main building is nice, the other are average. Due to this situation there is a public road leading right through the propertygrounds which you have to cross several times if you want to go to the reception, bar or other swimmingpool.
The buildings are situated on a steep hill so this hotel is not recommendable for old people or handicapped.
They "convieniantly" let you get your free drinks at only one location, the bar which is at the other side of the road from the main building.
The rooms and beds in the main building are small but very clean. Housekeeping does a very good job here.
Breakfast, lunch and diner are okay but not great, lots of pastas and salads but not many choices of meat and fish. All the free beverages are of poor quality and from a machine, tasting likewise, no brands like CocaCola etc.
Drinks are free from 10 to 18 hrs, after that you can get the real brands like CocaCola and others at the bar and for those you have to pay.
The staff at the reception is friendly but not very helpfull.
There is a small pizzaria available after making a reservation, the pizzas are good but the saladbar is the same as in the restaurant, okay but not great.
Animationteam is available but does the same trick everyday, nice for little kids though.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the Lucia building, the main buildingrooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jumparound65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#5 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#16 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#13 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilma
Hotel Ilma
#14 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Village

Property: Hotel Royal Village
Address: Via Benedetto Croce 23, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Royal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Village Hotel
Hotel Royal Village Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing