We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Village
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Really enjoyable stay at the Royal Village Hotel. This Hotel is well worth its 4 stars. Really clean lovely staff great swimming pools and fantastic views. Only downside is its location at the top of a really step hill although there is a bus 5 times a day.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at Hotel Royal Village. It was our first trip to Lake Garda and our first trip booked with Newmarket Holidays. We were well taken care of from the time we landed at Verona and found the hotel reception staff to be extremely helpful. We like our room, our balcony, our view and we found the food to be of very good quality with a wide variety available at all times. The restaurant staff were welcoming and all in all given the reasonable cost of this holiday we were very impressed. We would definitely return to this hotel it is in an awesome location and if only we hadn't gone on so many trips we could have happily sat in any of the beautiful pool locations and just looked at the view. Thank you Hotel Royal Village we had a great time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room and if you don't like music don't have a room on the music bar s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wasawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Hi, My wife and I stayed in the Royal Village in late May. This is a totally honest opinion of our stay. We travelled with Thompson / Crystal
We arrived at around 10.30, thus our room wasn’t ready which is only to be expected. We were told to relax by the pool and have a drink which we did. All fine so far. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

After a while we checked to see if our room was ready and indeed it was. We had booked and paid for a SUPERIOR room, with lake views and a double bed. Our room was superior…. In an IKEA kind of way....CHEAP. Going to Italy I expected nice furnishings with flair. This was IKEA type flair. Now, I fail to be convinced that by pushing 2 single beds together they magically become a double bed. Any midnight manoeuvres quickly found one or both slipping through the middle. Our view of the lake was a side view. It really was not what we expected. My wife asked to be moved. The staff were shocked and said “That’s our BEST room” We were shown another room. Then we realised our original room WAS superior. The new room was like a 1960 Swedish horror movie, with OLD MFI furniture and also dark. The bathroom was like the shower scene from the film Psycho. Thus, we stayed where we were…..To say the room was sparse is an understatement. 2 single beds, 2 bedside tables to kitchen type chairs 1 wardrobe unit with 5 draws. It was like student accommodation. NOT a so called 4 star hotel.

Food. I must say, the food was really good with always lots of choice.

We had an All Inclusive Package. What a JOKE. The free stuff, water, coffee, orange, basic cola, cheap beer and wine from a machine and that’s it. No local spirits. Plus (and here’s the big one) it all stops at 18.00. You are allowed the drinks with an evening meal, but that stops at 20.30.

If you want a drink after dinner, you have to pay. A pint of beer is £4. What a Rip Off. These details were on the company’s website, but, in a VERY small dropdown box you really have to look for.

Anyway, in addition to our room being basic, we also found out the walls there were very thin. At 07.00 the darling child next door woke screaming …everyday. Oh what joy. I suppose it could have been worse. If the All Inclusive was as it should have been I might have had a hang over and the little darling screaming would have been even more annoying. Maybe it’s Gods way of telling me not to drink too much?

Cleanliness. The hotel and indeed the resort itself was spotlessly clean. It made London look like a toilet.

The hotel is sited on a hill as you would expect being around Lake Garda, so anyone with walking difficulties WILL have a problem. We nicknamed the hill Cardiac Hill… If you’re a mountain goat you will be fine. The hotel has a shuttle bus to take “inmates” opps guests to the resort, around 5 mins down the hill. For this gesture they charge you 1 Euro each. Thus for a family of 4, it’s a round trip of 8 Euros per trip to the esplanade. So, with the All Inclusive that isn’t, the trips to the esplanade, bring PLENTY of money.

Our Rep was a nice girl, a big smile and nice personality told us about the excursions. We chose a trip to Venice and a lake tour. This relived me of 224 Euros. Just think what a family of 4 would pay. And that’s before they try to sell you extras on the trip to Venice.

I did read reports that the hotel is geared up for the Germans. The place is absolutely FULL of Germans but, they are polite, friendly and not a problem at all.

In short, we had a super time, only let down by our “Student” accommodation and the stupid All Inclusive arrangement.

Room Tip: Great rooms if you like Ikea furniture...YUK
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maryrose1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Me and my fiance travelled to the Hotel Royal Village on the 1st of May 2013. On arrival we were picked up by a friendly team and taken into Limone, and then picked up by another bus which took us directly to the hotel (as the hotel is quite a way up the mountain, we were intially worried about lugging our luggage up there, which we need not have worried about). The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms, clean and comfortable, the views spectacular. The whole Lake is an amazing place to visit and i would recommend it to anyone. The hotel food was nice as well, they had a good choice. We are planning on returning to Italy, as we got engaged on this trip. We want to return in around 5 years time and would definately look at staying in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We travelled as a Family in May 2013. We booked with Thomson's but were dealt with by Crystal in Resort. Everything from booking the holiday, transfer from Airport and settling at the Hotel Royal Village, Limone was excellent. We were met immediately after collecting luggage, Crystal were waiting and knew who we were and immediately shown to a coach with other guests in Limone. There was no delay and we were on our way almost immediately. There is a steep hill from Limone main road to the Royal Village Hotel but we had no problem with it, a very steady walk took about 5 minutes. On arrival at the hotel we were met by a very friendly receptionist (we spoke to 4 receptionists during our stay, all spoke very good English and all were very friendly and professional). Check in is not until 5pm, we arrived at 12 noon, she immediately asked us what time our flight out was at the end of the holiday and because it was in the morning gave us our key to our room and orange card which meant we could access all inclusive immediately. We found our room to be a fantastic size, plenty of room for a couple and our 13 and 11 year olds. We had a lake view superior room which was fantastic for sitting out on an evening but still able to see all the activities going on. We had fantastic trips to Venice, Wine Tour and the Dolomites. We also made our own way on the ferry to Malcesine. The Hotel was immaculately clean with towels and shower gels replaced every day. We found Crystal to be absolutely fabulous in resort with reps who were really knowledgeable and had useful tips. Nothing was too much trouble at the Hotel. We requested packed lunches, early breakfasts for trips off and something to eat when we were going to be back late after trips to Venice and Dolomites. It was always ready for us, nothing forgotten, very professional. We would all definitely go back to Limone and especially Hotel Royal Village.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa Lucia which had very good sized rooms and views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauljoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just back from 7 day holiday at The Royal Village Hotel, Limone Sul Garda. Lovely area with lots of lovely places around to visit, but the hotel, although clean & tidy, lacked the 4 star rating we were expecting. Paid more for the 'superior' room and was more than disappointed with just how basic it was. Used the shower gel within the first night there and it wasn't replenished the rest of the stay..... no iron in the room either!!!
With being there for 7 days the food was very repetitive. We ate out on several occasions just for something different. Felt that any cakes not eaten one night were put back out the following evening as some were very stale.
Lift only goes to the restaurant floor and therefore we had to carry our luggage down steps to get to the reception area - as it was really heavy rain we couldn't walk outside with them.

On the plus side - Bar Porto is well worth a visit - staff and service excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

On 22 May I returned with my family from a 7 day stay at The Royal Village Hotel, Limone Sul Garda, Italy. For the benefit of anyone travelling to hotels in the Lake Garda area, be aware that there is a sickness and diarrhoea virus which is affecting many holiday makers. We were all afflicted and spent several days confined to our room and unable to eat normally. I caught the virus the day before we were due to return to the UK, and it was questionable whether I would be able to fly. In the event I contacted a Doctor who gave me an injection and tablets which were extremely effective and we managed to return on our normal flight. It would be worthwhile ensuring that you have a good supply of medication with you just as a precaution, as this condition is airbourne and was not confined to our hotel.

We have used this hotel as recently as September 2012 and were very happy to return. My comments are not meant to reflect badly on the hotel and are simply to aid travellers who may be going to that area imminently.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile paying for a superior lake facing room, as the views are wonderful.
2  Thank CharlesTeesside_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Village

Address: Via Benedetto Croce 23, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £82 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Village Hotel
Hotel Royal Village Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing