We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Village Hotel Limone Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Village
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a great family hotel. Two out door pools and one indoor with Jacuzzis. Plenty of childrens entertainment. The Food was lovely as much as you like and a large menu so something to please every one. The free beer and wine was very drinkable and went down well available up to 8.30 in the restaurant and 6.00 pm in the music bar. The breakfast was good as well cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bacon and eggs, toast and jam, pastry's and croissants help yourself. They have an Italian restaurant which needs to be booked but there is no extra charge for this, lovely anti-pasti , pasta and pizzas. with plenty of storage
We asked for a quiet room and got it. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms are plain looking but spacious with plenty of storage. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

OK, after reading mixed reviews of this hotel I was a little dubious. It definitely not a 4 star...more like a 3.

The all inclusive.....we knew it wasn't going to be like the AI in other countries but didn't realise the ridiculous rules that were endorsed. At breakfast you could get juice, tea and coffee etc but the other machines were all covered up. Lunch the soft drinks and beer/wine were available but the coffee/tea machines were covered which was the same at dinner which meant you couldn't get a cup of coffee after your meal.....why they had to be covered up is a mystery as I dont see what harm it would do to have access to all the drinks at any time during the AI hours. Lunch and dinner always the same not even a slight variation with the salad mixes. And NO chips at all and no baked beans with breakfast.....AND FOOD ALWAYS COLD.

The Italian restaurant, which you have to book at reception before 10am on the day that you want to go.....in my opinion is worse than the main restaurant. The atmosphere is better and quieter but the food has even less choice than the main restaurant.

The drinks can only be accessed from one part of the hotel so if you are by the main fish pool you have to cross the road, go through reception and downstairs to get a tiny little plastic cup of drink and by the time you have gone back to the pool you need another one.

There is no order around the pool and the German kids run riot, pushing people into the pool and splashing you on purpose and laughing in your faces (and their parents do not say a thing to them). One of them pushed the man who does all the animation and water gym stuff into the pool on several occasions and he called the boy back and gave him a good telling off in front of his parents, who again did not say a word. There needs to be some lifeguards or security around there to curb this.

Rooms are very old fashioned but ok for staying in for two weeks, and in fact even thought they are small they have a lot more drawer/cupboard space than other bigger rooms in which we have stayed.

The staff are neither here nor there, reception seem to be quite miserable and do not want to help you if they dont have to, one day there was a thunder storm so we asked if we could borrow a couple of umbrellas just to walk over to the italian restaurant and they would not lend them to us, whereas over the road in Bar/Hotel Limone they lent us them to walk back to our hotel, and returned them the next day.

Also you have to pay for wifi which is 10 euros for 10 hours, but in any of the bars along the lake....if you are drinking or eating there you can use the wifi for free, so seeing as we paid @£3000 for the 3 of us...to charge for the wifi I think is a bit of a liberty.

If you go on any trips do not take any notice of the timescale that they give you.....add on about an extra hour and a half, the traffic jams are terrible and it takes about an hour to just pick people up.

The toilets.............OMG for the size of the hotel the toilets are absolutely non existent. Usually you go into the toilets in the communal areas and there will be a numerous amount of cubicles....not at Royal Village......there is only one toilet in reception, by the dinner hall and bar so if you have a bad stomach (which a lot of people usually do when in a different country), you have no chance of getting into one in an emergency lol.

Neil the Inghams rep is really good though and will help you as much as he can.....although the Inghams website does say that there is a fitness room at the hotel but there isnt, which didn't please my husband as he goes to the gym every day (yes even on holiday), which was a positive factor when we chose this hotel, so that was a let down for him aswell.

Oh and dont forget the TOURIST TAX (which we had never heard of), when you arrive you must pay a tourist tax which is 2 euros per day per person for adults, so we had to pay 28 euros each for our stay. You also have pay a deposit to get a key for the safe if you want to use it.

Recommend Bar/Hotel Limone down the hill and across the road for lovely drinks, food and staff.

Room Tip: People all say that the other blocks are better than the main one, but these are given predominately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SashaR195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Would definitely not rate Royal Village as a 4 star, they have a nerve to call themselves so, it was a let down... Firstly the rooms are in dire need of refurbishment, they were not cleaned while we were there, I accidentally dropped something on the floor which I cleaned as best I could but the carpet was not hoovered throughout the rest of the stay. To my knowledge they only changed the sheets after one week, and did not replace the complimentary toiletries. Ok I know you don't go on holiday to watch tv (but the odd evening if after a long day you want to relax and watch a film, you can't) the old fashioned tv's in the room had only a few Italian and German channels and the only English channel was BBC world news, there was no cable and you could not buy any films. The mini bar is empty, if you want anything you have to order it. The balconies are right next to the ones next door there is no privacy whatsoever so I never really used the balcony as it was too exposed to the neighbours. We had superior rooms booked with a lake view, but the view was (although still nice) of the back of the hotel and the mountains - the only way to see the lake was to strain your neck around the corner. Most hotels offer free use of a combination locked room safe, but not the old fashioned Royal Village, here you have to get a key from reception and leave a 10 euro deposit. There are no lifts in the old part of the hotel so you have to lug your case up and down the stairs yourself, and the lights on some of the stairs are turned off around 11pm, making it pitch black and very dangerous. I have heard and read that there are better rooms in another part of the hotel, that are normally for some reason given to the Germans - who monopolise the hotel.

The all inclusive is not particularly nice, if you are by the fish pool you have to walk across the road through reception or down some stairs to the bar area just to get a drink (when they could quite easily open the dining hall areas by the fish pool to allow access to water at least. They give tiny plastic cups but put signs up that you should not fill water bottles up with water from the pumps! Also there is no order in the pool area, it is chaos, although there are signs up to say no lilos, flippers etc. there is no one about to monitor this and the kids (mostly German) fill the pool with these and make it very difficult if you just want to swim. The kids also muck about it the jacuzzi part of the pool making it impossible if you just want to sit in it and relax - the purpose for which a jacuzzi is intended! The indoor pool is no better, you cannot sit in the hot tub without the German kids getting in and mucking about trying to swim in a hot tub!

Food is the same everyday, breakfast is fine, but lunch and dinner are pretty much the same as each other - pizza and pasta and the same old salad all the time. The only difference is at dinner they offer meat although it's not that great either.. There is not much order in the dining room, the Germans do not know how to queue and just push in. I wouldn't bother with the packed lunch it's horrible too. The Italian restaurant is no better, not quite sure why it is called a restaurant, it is still self service and serves the same food, always pizza and pasta just with different salad and you see the chef cooking it, but I would call it a canteen more than a restaurant.

The bar drink prices are fair but the cocktails are not very good and it is boring and the entertainment although funny at first is quite rubbish and irritating, they could do so much better than one man on his keyboard. So we spent most evenings going down the hill into other bars or along the promenade where drinks were about the same price but much nicer and more choice, better service and better scenery. Bar/hotel Limone at the end of the hill across the road is only a 3 star but the service, food and drinks were so much better and the staff much more helpful and friendly, they also gave us a free round of limoncello every time we went. One evening when it was raining they lent us umbrellas yet when we asked at our own Hotel Royal Village they said no they didn't have any, in fact the reception staff at Royal Village are pretty unhelpful and unfriendly. Also if you want wifi at Royal Village you have to pay for it, whereas when we went into other bars they all gave us free access. This is pretty stingy considering the price you pay to stay there.

Ingham's reps however were very helpful and friendly, Neil was very good. I just wish they could pass that customer service onto some of the Royal Village reception staff (the ladies working in the bar were very nice as were the staff who provided entertainment)... Just beware if you book any trips through Inghams they take such a long time to get anywhere as Royal Village is usually the first pick up so you spend the first hour or sometimes more just driving around picking up passengers from other hotels which is quite frustrating, for instance it took over 3 hours to get to Verona, which meant not having much time there, when by car it should take approx 1.5 hours.

Lake Garda is lovely and the holiday was great but I would NOT recommend Hotel Royal Village, in my opinion some of the smaller ones at the bottom of the hill (like Hotel Limone) seem much nicer, even those with lower star ratings. Hotel Royal Village seems like it does everything on the cheap and is very tight, which is not what you pay for in a 4 star.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just returned from 10 days in Limone with my Hubby and 16 year old daughter. After having read the mixed reviews of the hotel we were unsure of what we would find on arrival, having booked superior rooms with Inghams we were hopeful that they would be....Wrong the room in the Villa Rosa was cramped, dark and dusty, went down to complain to Ana and Sabine in reception and was told that there are no superior rooms, they are all the same, BULL! So then we spoke to Antonio the hotel manager who moved us the next morning to a larger, airier, cleaner room with a pool and lake view in Villa Royal, here and the Villa Lucia seem to have the better rooms, So insist on being moved or ask the Inghams rep Neil to speak up for you, he is very amenable.
Make sure you go up on the roof terrace on the top of Villa Royal for super panoramic views of the lake.
Food and drink, Yes Ok! I admit it it is samey and not 4 star more like three, but, everything is edible with two choices of meat at the carvery area, three pasta dishes, fish and a good salad bar, there is also a microwave for you to heat up your food if required. Don't dress up for dinner as the Germans make little or no effort at all! Drink is self serve in the restaurant and by the pool bar of which there is only one, so if you are at the "Fish" pool you have to carry your drinks up the stairs and across the road, during the day the cups are of course plastic for health and safety reasons, so make sure you double layer them for hot drinks!!
The Italian restaurant has to be booked before 10 am but there are booking slips on the breakfast tables so you can do this, it is very pleasant.
The bar on the terrace run by Nadia and the lovely Antonella, have drinks and cocktails available in the evening whilst you are serenaded by some local talent, what a laugh they are so funny they could make the X Factor bad bits! Apart from Tuesday night when the saxophonist is in and he is good. Drinks are the same price as down in the village, 4 Euros for a beer, 6 Euros for a long cocktail and 3 Euros for a coke. So if you are paying the same for drinks you might as well be in the village soaking up the views, atmosphere and people watching!!
It is a 15 min walk down to the village and before you leave buy the tickets for the mini bus back up they are only 1Euro, the latest bus is 10 pm and both Dominico and Arturo are prompt. TIP Beat the Germans by opening the front door on the passenger side and bagsy the 2 seats there!!
THE HILL! Read some really worrying tales of woe regarding the hill, well let me tell you it took 10 minites for this 16 stone asthmatic to walk up, the last 100 metres are the worst and that is in the heat of the day, so if I can make it then you definitely can!
TIPS FOR LIMONE: Take the Caravel boat run by Luca over to Malchesine it only costs 9 Euros return and you can buy your Monte Baldo cable car tickets from him saving yourself an hours queuing time,on arrival at the station, and what a joy it is to wave your tickets around and walk past all the waiting Germans!! Am I cruel or what!!
Try the apple and blackcurrant ice cream available from the Gelaterias on Limones promenade, delicious!!
Hotel Al'Azzuro on the water front by the Centro boat stop make wonderful pizzas.
Ristarante Gemma by the waterfront are dripping in Beauganville and make a lovely 'Garda' drink comprising pineapple juice, blue curaseo and vodka, with wonderful views of the lake this is an ideal stop day or night.
Jacky's bar is good for cocktails complete with flashing lights!
MAIN TIP: You will not find a single chip served at the royal village so if you need fries call in at the little cafe in the car park at the bus station in Limone not only does it have great views of the lake but the chips, burgers and beer are the cheapest in the village!

Room Tip: Pool and Lake views in Villa Lucia or Villa Royal are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vanessa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked two superior rooms at this hotel and we are extremely disappointed with what we got. This is a fabulous area with wonderful scenery, lovely towns and villages and nice cafes and coffee shops but the holiday was a real let down because of the very average Royal Village. This is most certainly not a 4 star hotel.
Our rooms were dark, old fashioned and small.They were supposed to be triple rooms but we barely had space to move around the room. The balcony was tiny with only two chairs and absolutely no privacy and certainly no view of the lake. The bathroom, although small, was adequate and the rooms were kept clean (I know that there are better rooms, as one night our electricity wasn't working and we were moved to another part of the hotel for that night-I find it hard to believe that we were put into superior rooms) There were no tea/coffee making facilities which would have been nice as the "all-inclusive" finishes promptly at 6pm and after a day's sightseeing we would have appreciated a coffee or a cup of tea. WiFi is expensive to use. The dining room was very busy and we often had to queue for food and, in particular, drinks. The food was okay (although better in the Italian restaurant - which needs to be booked in advance). The choices were similar most days, especially at lunch which was always pizza or pasta, but usually there was something for everyone. The queue at 4pm for "afternoon tea", which was a piece of cake and a drink in a plastic cup, had to be seen to be believed and my tip would be to go into meals a bit later when it is quieter. There is an evening dress code for men to wear long trousers but it is universally ignored and people were dressed very casually. There is a music bar which we only used occasionally. Drinks were quite expensive so we bought wine from the local wine shop (3 euros for a litre of perfectly drinkable Merlot or Chardonnay ) and found somewhere quiet to enjoy a glass or two and play cards. We went into Limone at night a couple of times which was enjoyable and lively but it is a 10-15 minute walk uphill back to the hotel.
The pool area was always very busy and other guests would put towels onto the sunbeds very early-and often not turn up until late afternoon. Children were constantly jumping in and out of the jacuzzi and using huge inflatables so it was difficult to swim or even relax and nothing was said, even though they have their own pool.
This is a very German orientated hotel and even the local shop keepers will speak to you in German first. Many guests were rude and ignorant and many of the staff were miserable and unhelpful. This hotel just felt over crowded and I think Blu Hotels need to invest in this hotel to be able to comfortably accommodate the number of guests that are there.
Make sure that you explore this amazing area. Verona is worth a visit, as is a trip around the lake but our highlights were a rustic lunch high up in mountains and a vineyard tour (Maso Roveri) with numerous glasses of organic wine and a very charming owner! Finally I would just like to say thanks to Neil, the rep from Inghams, who made sure we were able to see and do everything we came for.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllisonH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

nice location.good facilities indoor and outdoor pools.playground trampoline for children.our room was clean but basic and old fashioned needed updating nice shower though.hotel staff helpful and friendly.however the buffet restaurant was basic and repetitive .nice to be able to have free drinks with lunch and dinner though.The italian restaurant was a lot nicer with more choice and able to sit outside.this hotel is predominatley german guests and they DO get up very early to lay their towels on the sunbeds which should not be allowed

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doublesKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Magnificent views from hillside location but all inclusive it was not!! The italians need to take lessons from the spanish regarding this. Very poor choice of drinks via a machine only until 6pm. Drinks after this had to be paid for and were not cheap. The food choices were not that good with pizza and pasta every lunchtime. Predominantly caters for german guests and english people were far outnumbered. Would not go back to this hotel or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn34cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#28 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Village

Address: Via Benedetto Croce 23, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £74 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Village Hotel
Hotel Royal Village Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing