We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel, excellent restaurant, welcoming staff, but a couple of important downsides...”
Review of Hotel Monte Baldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Baldo
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel, excellent restaurant, welcoming staff, but a couple of important downsides...”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This is one of those rare hotels that is even better than advertised. Most 3 star hotels in Italy, particularly in touristy locations, are more like 2 or 1 star hotels. In my opinion this hotel actually rates 4 stars. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The views were spectacular, and provided a particularly memorable backdrop for breakfast or other meals. The (included) breakfast deserves its own sentence. Fresh cut meats, quality cheeses, fresh fruits and veggies, a daily variety of cakes and breads...I have experienced some fine European breakfasts (we live in Europe) but this one was truly sublime. For lunch/dinner the restaurant has some excellent dishes (carpaccio, chocolate souffle cake, an interesting orange-flavored ravioli), and most of the menu rates at least "good". The food is clearly much better than at the surrounding restaurants, which mainly cater to rather chubby, elderly German tourists.

The hotel was so newly renovated the doors had no scratches. It was extremely tastefully done, with spacious rooms and bathrooms. We had a "mountain view" room, which didn't have much of a view, but was extremely quiet (good for our baby) and let in plenty of light during the day.

There are a few downsides:
- no WIFI or internet, whatsoever, with few options to connect even within the town. There's one tiny cafe about 1km uphill, but you have to use their computers.

- as other reviewers have said, the hotel is a bit hard to get to. If you have tons of luggage, be prepared to work a bit before checking in. The hotel is about 200m away from the nearest spot to (temporarily) park a car for unloading.

- the town is boooring, unless you happen to be one of the aforementioned chubby elderly German tourists. Then you'll probably quite like it. Even the ice cream sucks. Hiking in the region is great, but you could say that about a lot of towns near Lake Garda.

It's a wonderful hotel and restaurant in a very pretty and well-maintained, if lifeless, town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    34
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
totland bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We chose this hotel from the look of its location and the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed whatsoever. We couldn't fault it. Mario and his colleagues are friendly and helpful. Our room on the 2nd floor overlooked the lake and watching the world go by from the small balancy there was wonderful. An excellent restaurant, in fact we ate in it for 6 out of the 7 nights and the other night at their sister restaurant Gemma. Breakfasts were excellent with a great choice. Our stay also included a lake trip on their lovely traditional style boat which was delightful. The only slight drawback we encountered was with the initial finding of the hotel but that wasn't helped by an airport delay which meant it was dark by the time we got there. In daylight I'm sure it would be considerably easier.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iowexodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Monte Baldo is a boutique style hotel ideally situated in the charming small town of Limone. It has an excellent restaurant, wonderful views and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

An excellent small hotel right by the lake in the old town of Limone. We stayed for three nights. We were on the top floor and it was amazing how quiet it was despite Limone being busy and the main tourist route passing right by the hotel. Our room had a balcony that looked out over the lake as does the restaurant/ breakfast room. There are three tables on an outside balcony for meals if you want to sit outside. The food in the restaurant was good and we dined there each night. Staff were friendly and the rooms and common areas were all bright and clean. Beware, it is not obvious where the main hotel entrance is. We looked for the street number but it did not seem to exist. Luckily we were beckoned into a bar/ cafe by one of the staff. You then pass through the bar to the lift and go up to the hotel reception on the first floor. Later we found that the hotel front door was next to the bar with its own stairs up the the first floor reception. A very good base if you want to stay in Limone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We spent a rewarding 5 days here in this hidden treasure. Since we arrived on the evening of a local feast we had to roll our luggage from the municipal parking area. Normally, driving up to the front entrance to unload isn't a problem. However, I would carry my luggage for a mile to arrive at such a memorable location. Our room with terrace on the third floor overlooking the old harbor and the lake was one of the best views we've had during our many trips to Italy. Breakfast, Location, Convenience, Rooms, exceptional to say the least. Three Stars don't do justice to this little palace.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincrisdsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selby n yorks england
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

we stayed at this hotel at the end of may, we booked after reading the reviews on TA, they were absolutely on the money, Its location is the best in limone, amazing views from the balcony where you have breakfast, the rooms looked brand new, spotless and the one we stayed in even had a partial lake view even though we didnt pay extra for this , the staff were very friendly, and on the morning of my birthday even brought out champange for us at breakfast. I would not hesitate at recommending this hotel to anyone, and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Checked out Trip Advisor before booking hotel in Limone. This one had very good reveiws so we booked it. Hotel pretty to look at. We found the hotel on many postcards in the resorts we visited and even 2010's calendar! View of the lake from our room incredible. Extremeley friendly owner and staff. Clean. Well furnished. Would definetely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepperpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#24 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Baldo

Property: Hotel Monte Baldo
Address: Via Porto 29, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Baldo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Limone sul Garda you'll find Hotel Monte Baldo. It is situated in a very calm position and surrounded from the ancient centre of Limone, full of history and traditions. From our Hotel you have a beautiful view on the old fishing harbour and you are facing directly the lake. In a special atmosphere and luxurious comfort you will spend unforgottable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monte Baldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Baldo Hotel
Hotel Monte Baldo Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing