We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dreadful service”
Review of Hotel Monte Baldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Baldo
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week, and received dreadful service throughout. The staff barely spoke to us, and when they did the responses to our questions were short and begrudging. It's a walk from where you have to leave your car/taxi to the hotel, but the hotel offered no assistance in moving our suitcases to our car at check in or check out. When we we asked if they could help us with our suitcases, they offered us a luggage trolley for us to use, but no help from the staff at all.
We were early to breakfast each day, usually arriving first, but the breakfast staff didn't proactively offer coffee or any of the hot options such as omlettes. Only when we asked did they provide these options.
The hotel as a whole is clean, but the hotel seems to cut corners with simple things. For example, we left our towels on the floor to be changed and went out for the day. When we came back hours later, the same towels had been picked up off the floor, folded and put back on the towel rail. I asked the cleaner why she hadn't changed our towels. She seemed embarrassed and said she'd forgotten (although she had managed to remember to hang our dirty towels on the rail).
I have stayed in other hotels in Limone before, so I know the area well. This was just as well, as when we asked the hotel reception staff for advice we received short and unhelpful responses. It was even difficult to get a hello from the reception staff when passing by in the morning (they preferred to keep their head down rather than offer a simple 'good morning').
We were not made to feel at all welcome in this hotel. It was a shame as this affected the enjoyment of our stay in Limone. We did not look forward to heading back to the hotel after a day's sightseeing around the lake.
On the positive side, the hotel's location is good, and very close to the boat terminal for trips to the other towns around Lake Garda.
The room was nice but simple. However, we had requested a double bed but received 2 single beds put side by side, which was less comfortable for a couple.
I recommend Limone as a lovely town to spend a holiday in, but I would never stay in the Monte Baldo again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I have once again spent our Holidays in beautiful Limone sul Garda and as always at Hotel Monte Baldo where Mario and his very nice staff made the days around our marriage very special. For more than 6 months we have prepared this event and thanks to Commune Limone and Hotel Monte Baldo we had a perfect and unforgettable day. If you are looking for a romantic Holiday Hotel Monte Baldo and Limone is the perfect place. We are now planning to book for next year.

Room Tip: Room "Mugello" has the most beautiful view over the garda Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

lovely rooms, great breakfast, top views in a wonderful location. maybe not the type of hotel to stay a week but for three or 4 days it's absolutely wonderful and we'll definitely stay again

try restaurant gemma- just round the corner - which is run by the same people. very good too. all in all thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: make sure you get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durrant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Staying at a hotel just out of town we came here for our last night supper and loved the place, the service, the views (despite thunder storms) and the real service so missing from our expensive hotel. Would love to stay here and the food was first class. Wonderful

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

cannot judge the hotel, came here at night to have dinner following Gambero Rosso book recommendation. very nice attitude, impeccable service, good food with some refinement .
Limone is a very "tourist place" but here the food was much better than just a tourist joint

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This must be one of the prettiest hotels in Europe, based in the old harbour at Limone Sul Garda with views out across the deepest part of the lake and the paragliders regularly jumping off the cliff opposite. Delightful people, excellent service, friendly and good value for such a special place. The only drawback is the central location means no car parking, unless you are prepared to walk from the main harbour car park or organise a golf buggy to collect you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJSCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A real gem of a hotel. I booked this hotel after reading only a couple of reviews and doing a bit of background internet searching. I was very pleased to discover that the hotel was just as I had hoped it would be.
There was an interesting short journey (by car) along a pedestrian walkway and a short conversation with an police officer for permission to 'unload' our car near to the hotel, before being given a free parking pass for covered parking.
The service in the hotel was just at the right level of attentiveness.
I took advice from another reviewer and requested a lake view, which was certainly worth it, even with the mist on the mountains. I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, food and comfort I experienced here.

Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fusspotfussypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
380 reviews
1 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Baldo

Address: Via Porto 29, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: £81 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Baldo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Limone sul Garda you'll find Hotel Monte Baldo. It is situated in a very calm position and surrounded from the ancient centre of Limone, full of history and traditions. From our Hotel you have a beautiful view on the old fishing harbour and you are facing directly the lake. In a special atmosphere and luxurious comfort you will spend unforgottable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Baldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Baldo Hotel
Hotel Monte Baldo Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing