We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't miss it but......!”

Abbazia di San Fruttuoso
Book In Advance
More Info
US$7.43*
and up
Entry Ticket to San Fruttuoso Abbey
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Camogli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“can't miss it but......!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful place: a small beach located in a small bay where the abbey is. The water and the location are just amazing! There are few restaurant there which of course are horribly expensive! The suggestion is to go with you own snacks. If you don't mind high spending meals you can enjoy some sea food in one of those beautiful small restaurant nested in the rocks around the beach.
It can be reached by walking of with ferries from either Camogli or Santa Margherita. The best would be to rent a small boat but a mooring buoy needs to be booked in advaced especially ob week ends. The buoy is easier to arrange if linked to a lunch or dinner in one of the restaurants but this would make it a VERY expensive trip.
The place can be over crowded in week end and high season. Better to avoid if possible.
The main disappointment: the toilet! Very basic and poor arrangement. For sure some better facility could have been implemented.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    229
    56
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morganville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cove and beach”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We took the boat from Camogli and found San Fruttuoso to be quite pleasant. There is an entry fee for the abbey but our hotel had complimentary tickets available so check before going.

The abbey itself was nice but I would agree with the others who were underwhelmed when comparing it to other such sites. However we found the beach to be very good. However, we were there in midweek. I suspect that it would be severely overcrowded on a weekend or holiday so pick your time accordingly.

There were multiple food/drink facilities at the site as well with typical beach fare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

it can be reached on foot or by boat, but it is worth visiting as the beach and abbey are truly beautiful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petercrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krimpen aan den IJssel, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice to visit but dont go in the weekend!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

a very nice trip by boat from Camogli or Portofino where you can visit the abbey of San Fruttuoso. Our advice is: dont go in the weekend on sunny days as the beach is overfull.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KirstenJaarsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must do when in Camogli!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely place! Half an hour by boat from Camogli. Small beaches, but we still got sun beds (middle of July). Go to beach no 2 (yellow beds) - calmer. Ate at Georgio (beach no 1) - excellent food (spaghetti with prawns). Loved it!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HovikTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbazia di San Fruttuoso also viewed

 

Been to Abbazia di San Fruttuoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing