We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hidden paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel il Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel il Monastero
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Quartu Sant'Elena
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect hidden paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not far from the beach, next to a road, hidden in the mountains, lies a small paradise called Il Monastero. An old orange farm from monks over 100 years old. When you enter, you will be greeted with joy and smiling faces. The staff is so perfectly friendly, it seems like a dream. In the evening you can sit and chat, have a nice Mirto and enjoy the setting. The rooms are small, but nice. Of course, its in the middle of nature, so they have some trouble with ants, but that doesn't matter at all.
The pool is nicely designed as a beach. The water is shallow in the start and will be deeper in the end. Great for relaxing times. And when you get hungry, the fun begins. The food is absolutely amazing. You will get typical Sardinia food.
Ideal for a small stop for 3 or 4 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exar_Kunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    104
    41
    27
    23
See reviews for
55
173
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in this great hotel.
Staff were very friendly, the room was good size and clean. Good food, especially seafood pasta and a great pizza.
I would go back, definitely !
Andrea

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dengCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We went to Sardinia for a week's break as a honeymoon to relax. We wanted to go somewhere very quiet, near a beach, pool, nice restaurant and hot. Il Monastery ticked all the boxes and we were not disappointed. The hotel is about 30 mins away from the Airport [Cagiliari] and will cost between 60-75 euro for transfer if you're not hiring a car. We decided to not hire a car as we weren't planning to go anywhere except beach and pool. The room has loads of character, it's pretty much has the old rustic features from its olden days and is very cool in the evening. It was daily and clean towels and bed linens every 3 days. You can't take towel from there to the beach but can hire one from the hotel as a beach towel for 3 euro for whole week. The pool is decent size with deep end but lots of interesting features such as waterfalls - you can't do lengths though. The beach [Kal'e Moru] is about 5 mins walk and it's lovely beach long beach. The food in the Hotel is exceptional and very Italian and freshly made. Their house litre of wine is Amazing ! The staff are very very polite and attentive. When we told them it was our honeymoon, they couldn't do enough ! Such lovely staff ! The breakfast is ok - croissant, coffee, cereal, fruit as standard. If I was being critical - the only thing is that the nearst shop is about 15 mins walk. We used the local bus twice to venture into Vallimus [30mins] and Caligiri [50mins] and it was very nice and interesting journey.All in all...this was a perfect getaway ! Also, the hotel is very well laid out and large that you don't feel its busy at all. Pro -Staff,Rooms,Character,Food,Pool, Free Air Con, Free Sauna Cons- Far from the nearest shop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We had a long weekend at Il Monastero last year for our anniversary and really enjoyed the relaxing feel of the hotel and surrounding area. We were there out of season so it wasn't too busy and as we just wanted a few days relaxing in the sun its slightly remote location, within walking distance to a beautiful beach, was perfect for us.

As others have said, if you want to explore the island you really need a car - we tried the bus a couple of times with varying degrees of success. The first time it took hours from Cagliari then dropped us off miles from the stop (luckily Marco, a very kind man in a nearby restaurant, came to our rescue and gave us a lift to the hotel) and the second time we waited 40 minutes and when it didnt come gave up and went to the beach instead!

The other thing to be aware of is the lack of places to eat nearby. Luckily the hotel had a good menu (and plenty of choice as we were only there 4 days) but again a car is probably necessary if you want more choice. There is a shop only a few minutes walk but it's very limited - more like a newsagents than a grocery shop.

The hotel itself is great, the rooms are a good size with a nice en suite shower room and had a rustic feel thanks to the lovely beams. Most of the rooms face onto the pretty courtyard which can make them a bit dark but you don't come to a place like this to sit in your room all day! If you are used to plush hotels where you spend lots of time in your room watching TV then the beauty of Il Monastero will be lost on you so don't stay here. There are chairs outside each room and comfy seats along one side of the courtyard which were great for relaxing with a nice glass of Sardinian wine before dinner.

The grounds are also really nice and the pool is a good size. Lying by the pool, it was sometimes difficult to focus on my book as the views of the surrounding hills / mountains are so stunning!

We recieved great service from Donnatella who was so friendly and welcoming. We ate all our meals in the hotel and the service was always good but relaxed at the same time which I liked as I hate being rushed when eating. The breakfast is included in the rate and was ok - filling enough to keep you going until lunch and not as bad as others have said.

I would definitely recommend you try Il Monastero if you want to experience beautiful Sardinia somewhere a little different. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ftm194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Could have been so much better! The room was basic but what we expected and full of lovely character with wooden beams. We stayed 10 nights. It was very clean and in good repair. The setting was wonderful and only a short walk to a fab beach. We were upgraded but I hate to think how small and basic the other rooms are. At the start of the week it was very quiet but towards the end a few other people turned up to stay this is when you can here everything that goes on upstairs and next door, talking, tolieting, music, TV....everything! sadly our neighbour snored as he had a cold so lots of blowing noses, coughing etc. The staff were really friendly and polite however communication from the staff would have made things easier for us. We should have researched more to find out that the island closes down half way through September and everything closes for tourists, even though there were a lot of us still around. We should have gone self catering as finding open restaurants was a night mare and cost an absolute fortune. The pool was stunning but full of algae, the restaurant shut for lunch and half way through the week we were told that we couldn't eat evening meal at the restaurant without pre booking and only had one set meal choice as the chef was winding down the food. We weren't told this until we turned up to eat! The breakfast is really bad and we paid for an upgrade because we had read the reviews on here saying it was rubbish but I wasn't prepared for just how bad! we weren't offered anything extra at a cost or not. we couldn't use the sauna/spa as was all shut up.

Room Tip: we had room number two so nobody above us. Room one is a nice suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We has 10 days in the hotel, it was a really good base, but I would say if you want to do anything but lie next to the stunning pool, eat in the great value restaurant and chill in the hotel bar, you really need a car. There are beautiful beaches within easy access with good, free, parking. There cafes on most beaches, we bought local produce from a very reasonable fruit and veg stall and local supermarket and had picnics most days. Donatell gave us a FREE parasol to take to the beach but sunbeds and parasols are available.
The rooms were beautifully clean, sheets changed frequently, comfortable beds, FREE air con. The restaurant served good, well priced food, the simple continental breakfast was ample. The thing that really added to our experience was the staff, they went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Donatella is a ledgend! Really good local knowledge provided complete with maps! Denise and Stephanie were our lovely attentive waitresses. Nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely return to this hotel !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann_t_12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We eat here and really enjoyed it. We thought the food was good and fairly reasonable. This restaurant looked like one of the better ones in the area as the others were the standard sea-side food. We enjoyed the oportunity of dressing up for dinner after spending 2 weeks on the beach. The disused water flumes are a bit spooky - you can see them from miles and from a distance it looks like a water park, but there is grass growing in them!

Room Tip: Only visited restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkshire45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quartu Sant'Elena
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Residence Italia
BEST WESTERN Hotel Residence Ita...
#1 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
25.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Setar
Hotel Setar
#3 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Sighientu Thalasso & Spa
19.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia Capoterra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Monastero

Property: Hotel il Monastero
Address: Via Delle Sequoie 14 | Locality Geremeas, 09046, Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Quartu Sant'Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Quartu Sant'Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic records relate that the original building was founded by the Friars (this is proved by the small church still present on the site); over the years it was turned into a flourishing farm as it can be inferred by the structure and also by the orchard.Because of the ancient features still visible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Monastero Quartu Sant Elena
Il Monastero Hotel
Hotel Il Monastero Sardinia/Province Of Cagliari - Quartu Sant'Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing