We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No glamour from rooms and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This has been a very nice hotel with great lakeside views.
But the rooms and especially the bathrooms are in desperate need of renovation.
The breakfast staff was very inattentive with non cleaned up tables, cleaning bottle on table next to us. The chipped crockery was standard.
Clearly the manager had a few weeks off or he should redo his hospitality course.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank FrankDoorenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Since my last visit to this hotel it's been renovated and it's quite nice. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and accommodated my lack of French with complete professionalism. Nice place for a business traveler as well as a family.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room or a room in the main building
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldpineisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

3 night golf break around Paris.
Hotel was clean,modern with decent bed and small average bathroom. Buffet breakfasts acceptable but one dinner in conference room style Restaurant in building across a courtyard was without doubt the worst meal I have ever eaten. The highlight was a main course of watery,previously frozen,undercooked Shark on a bed of overlooked Mangetout with an unrecognisable,split white sauce. After complaints to reception and emails to our tour operator we ate next eve in the Grand Hotel next door which was better but no better than mediocre and our final night we had to eat back in our hotel but were promised a special buffet-it wasn't.
Don't do it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heatherjimagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I've stayed here multiple times since 2002. The hotel lobby/restaurant/bar area was refurbished in 2012, giving a more modern and appealing feel. The rooms, depending on the wing your located in, vary, but general quality is good. Remember that this is Paris, so expect function rather than sumptuous luxury. The local neighborhood offers plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes, etc for dining options (I can recommend the Indian restaurant down the road - 5min walk). The hotel is perhaps not ideal if you want or need to be in central Paris. The absolutely best thing about this hotel for myself is the area around the lake. If you visit Paris frequently (I do on business), the city center can end-up feeling claustrophobic, whereas Enghien has open spaces, the lake and some horizon. A completely different way to enjoy Paris and relax a bit after work. I also recommend the hotel gym (normally a complementary pass is given, but check with reception). Very worthwhile and well equipped for a hotel spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biztraveler_001766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have been for the first time in this Hotel in 2002 and I had to came back in February 2013 for a workshop week. Guess what ! the rooms looks exactly the same as 10 years ago except the flat screen. The carpet has to be changed as there is painting on it and it's very old. Beds are ok, as well the bathroom but you can expect much more from such hotel and price. Furnitures are old fashion it looks like the 80's !

We had our work shop at the Escale Affaires next bulding to Hotel du Lac and there is a terrible sulfur, rotten eggs smell due to "the thermes" .Why ? the Thermes (Hot water, SPA) are ground floor and the Escales Affaires space is above. It's a challenge believe me even if you think that it's a natural smell.

We had also several lunchs, dinners at the Grand Hotel Barriere restaurant. The quality of the food was good and the kitchen efficient but the service has been unfriendly maybe because we were a big table but it's not an excuse.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Nice, queit, with cont. breakfast. Restaurant with minimalistic but nice menu.Beautiful spa, take your shorts...Very easy access even with train - 20 min from Paris Nord. No free wi-fi. Casino in front if money to spend...Clean rooms, air-con not easy to operate. As overall - good. Try the Morrocan restaurant near the church.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Friendly staff, quite beautiful hotel view on the lake.
The bedroom was a bit outdated but clean and comfy. The High of our stay was the Spa, super nice bubble baths, water jets... plus the sauna and hammam mixt on weekends (cause you know, you get bored alone and sweaty) Magnifique !
Excellent scrambled eggs at breakfast, along with a bunch of food, liked it

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoneutria_nigriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enghien Les Bains
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enghien Les Bains
367 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#372 of 1,803 in Paris
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal C...
#1 of 1 in La Chapelle-en-Serval
1,071 reviews
Ibis Paris Epinay Sur Seine
#1 of 1 in Epinay sur Seine
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac

Address: 89 rue du General de Gaulle, 95880 Enghien Les Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Enghien Les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enghien Les Bains
Price Range: £96 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
​Have a most enjoyable break : Classic decor using warm shades of colour: the 134 rooms and 7 suites all overlook the lake or park and include luxury hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Enghien Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing