We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent 2 nights in this lovely hotel next to the beautiful lake. Although the drive towards the hotel made me suspect different (a very poor area just in front of the beautiful area surrounding the lake), which made me feel a bit sad for the local people surrounding the hotel. The spa is nice but not as awesome as I would have expected seeing the pictures. The hotel restaurant is overpriced for the quality of food you are getting and you should better just cross the street to the restaurant located next to the lake. This one has a better view and better value for money.
Overall I can remind it for some lovely short get-away with your loved one.

The only other small problem I had with the hotel was an airco which was not working resulting in a very warm room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcvangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    296
    153
    65
    39
See reviews for
57
455
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galicia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent 4 days at this property located opposite a gorgeous lake in the village of Enghien. The hotel is classy but the rooms are slightly dated. Mine was big and very comfortable and had a good bathroom (with toilette in separate cubilcle). It was freezing outside, but the room temperature was great and the air remained fresh in spite of the heating, not dry and scorching like in many other hotels. Huge bed with soft and warm linen, really cosy.
The breakfast was fine (I had the business breakfast, not the regular one). Still, it had fresh bread and pastries, plenty of yogourts and jams and the usual bacon and eggs. The coffee was c***, fortunately the conference had several Nespresso machines that saved my morning. As pointed by other travellers, the breakfast staff is particularly inexpressive/unhelpful. A colleague had her family staying with her and they were told to go get their breakfast where they could, since that dining hall was exclusively for business people. Not very polite, was it? Generally, requests were greeted with "what a nuisance" faces.
The hotel location, on the other hand, is great. You can have your morning "coffee" watching the lake and Casino. I liked Enghien-les-Bains for a short visit. It's a quaint village with some nice eateries and relaxed atmosphere, very different from the hectic touristy downtown Paris.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayapetai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a colleague for a short business trip to Genneviliers.

Arrived early evening to a warm welcome from the reception and was impressed.

The room, mine was on the 4th floor, had a great view of the Lake all lit up with a water display in the early evening. The bathroom and loo were both a bit tired and could do with a makeover.

The restaurant was open but no staff present when we went in to ask about dinner that night at about 1930h. So we walked across the road to the oval restaurant almost directly opposite the hotel. Good meal, and staff.

If possible ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Lake.

Breakfast was a buffet, which was ok, but none of the staff could raise a smile.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After I read the reviews, I arrived expecting a very quiet and dead location. While Enghien-Les-Bains in not Paris, it's a charming village with several nice restaurants and shops. The hotel faces a beautiful lake, is right in front of a casino.

I was in room 258. One of the guests told me it's in the newer section of the hotel. My room did not have a view.

The hotel has a very nice spa and gym. The bathroom is comfortable,and the internet is acceptable.

The hotel is definitely older, and could use an upgrade.

Almost all the staff speak English, and were helpful.

My only complaint is that you have to take another elevator from the second floor for rooms 230-258 and go to floor 4! The reception simply told me to go to the 2nd floor, and it took me a while to figure out where to go.

So far it's been a fine stay, and if I am aware in Enghien-Les-Bains, I would be harpy to stay here. I cannot imagine going to Enghien-Les_bains again though, unless I had another function here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This has been a very nice hotel with great lakeside views.
But the rooms and especially the bathrooms are in desperate need of renovation.
The breakfast staff was very inattentive with non cleaned up tables, cleaning bottle on table next to us. The chipped crockery was standard.
Clearly the manager had a few weeks off or he should redo his hospitality course.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDoorenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Enghien Les Bains hotels

Newbury
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Since my last visit to this hotel it's been renovated and it's quite nice. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and accommodated my lack of French with complete professionalism. Nice place for a business traveler as well as a family.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room or a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldpineisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

3 night golf break around Paris.
Hotel was clean,modern with decent bed and small average bathroom. Buffet breakfasts acceptable but one dinner in conference room style Restaurant in building across a courtyard was without doubt the worst meal I have ever eaten. The highlight was a main course of watery,previously frozen,undercooked Shark on a bed of overlooked Mangetout with an unrecognisable,split white sauce. After complaints to reception and emails to our tour operator we ate next eve in the Grand Hotel next door which was better but no better than mediocre and our final night we had to eat back in our hotel but were promised a special buffet-it wasn't.
Don't do it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherjimagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enghien Les Bains
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enghien Les Bains
343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains
13.7 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal Chantilly
Tiara Chateau Hotel Mont Royal C...
#1 of 1 in La Chapelle-en-Serval
1,041 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pullman Paris Roissy CDG Airport
Pullman Paris Roissy CDG Airport
#1 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Paris Epinay Sur Seine
Ibis Paris Epinay Sur Seine
#1 of 1 in Epinay sur Seine
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
Address: 89 rue du General de Gaulle, 95880 Enghien Les Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Enghien Les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enghien Les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
​Have a most enjoyable break : Classic decor using warm shades of colour: the 134 rooms and 7 suites all overlook the lake or park and include luxury hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Enghien Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing