We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a meeting, restaurant facilities could have improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for a work event, the hotel was situated in a very picturesque spot overlooking the lake.

Initially we had looked at a neighbouring hotel but they didnt have room so we stayed here, the rooms were comfortable enough, the decor is slightly dated and overall the whole place could do with some re-decoration.

We did need a group dinner but all groups were sent to the hotel down the road and the service was less than impressive in that we didnt get teh meal options we had pre-agreed - 3 starters/3main/3 desert options so all guests could have a choise, instead the hotel didnt provide a choice and gave the whole group one set meal, and considering we had already informed the hotel of dietary requirements these were not catered for! i.e. no veggie option for the vegetarian.

Rather standard hotel and service/hotel decor/room quality and restaurant didnt correlate to the over inflated prices!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and to the centre of the hotel have a good view of the lake but its not worth...
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank European_traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Awesome hotel. We were only a 15 min train ride to Paris. Very quiet and well kept hotel for France standards. The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke fluent English. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. The cleaning lady did a great job everyday. Our stay included breakfast. The food was great especially the coffee. We got a one day free access to the spa which was good but wouldn't spend 30 euros otherwise.
Unforunately the town is small and there isn't much to do. The pastry shops are excellent (all of Frances pastries are to die for). The casino across from the hotel is the only one in Paris and it's not good at all. You actually have to pay 12-14 euros to enter and the variety of table games are minimal (not worth it all, Vegas is much better).
So overall the hotel was great , the train station was a 5 min walk and the train left every 20 mins (about 3 euros one way to Paris). Paris has so many things to see so enjoy your time there.
Ps. Another room was complaining of mosquitoes but we never experienced the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

This was the 4th hotel in France that we stayed at within a week and was the only bad one. I travelled 650 miles from Monte carlo to this hotel without getting lost once, the "sat nav" knew the correct postion of the hotel being within .3 of a mile yet I then spent 35minutes trying to follow the temporary signs to a building that hadn't even got the hotel name on it. To get from the Paris ring road to the hotel you travel through some suburbs that resemble the Bronx. The girl sat at the checkin desk couldn't speak English so I waited to be attended too by a man working from the cornciege desk. We were then told about all the negatives about our booking, no fitness or breakfast included, as if I didnt know! I knowingly booked the hotel on a room only basis.
Other points were:-
No offer was made to handle our luggage.
Numerous loud drunk conference guests at 8PM in the open plan bar.
Broken glass on the bathroom floor.
A bidet stuck right in front of the bath that obstructed you getting in the bath, yet this was supposed to be a Superior room.
No shower curtain.
Soap and toiletries not replenished for the 2nd nights stay.
Bedroom curtains that couldn't be drawn completely leaving a 20cm gap as they had been tailored to the pelmet incorrectly.
A poor quality photo copy of the local area.
I was also propositioned by a man at the traffic lights outside the hotel, though obviously not the hotels fault gives a flavour of the location of this so called 4 Star Hotel!
My girlfriend and I will not be visiting this hotel or area ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HonestMeltonMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFPLANTEBLAT, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Laela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hôtel bien trop cher et vieillissant. Très loin d'un 4 étoiles...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greetingsfromraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFPLANTEBLAT, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enghien Les Bains
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
#1 of 3 in Enghien Les Bains
787 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#382 of 1,804 in Paris
742 reviews
Passy
Hotel Molitor Paris - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Paris Roissy CDG Airport
#1 of 31 in Roissy-en-France
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel

Address: 85 rue du General de Gaulle, 95880 Enghien Les Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Enghien Les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Enghien Les Bains
Price Range: £99 - £1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Barriere boasts 43 elegant and luxurious rooms & suites for exceptional and relaxing breaks. Spacious and tastefully decorated, they offer views over the lake, the park or the hotel's private garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Enghien Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing