We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amateurish and overpriced”
Review of Ocean Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Reef Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Marsascala B&B and Inns
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Amateurish and overpriced”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We wanted to stay in the south east of Malta for a couple of nights. I was aware of the Sensi Hotel's mixed reviews and when I booked it was with a degree of optimism.

When we arrived there was nobody available at the check-in area to the side of the bar - a random girl had to be sent off to the Sensi's "cabana" shoreside cafe to fetch a young Englishman. I knew he was English because this fact was tattooed on his arm. Our room key had the old name "Ocean Reef Hotel" on the key ring. We stayed in Room 10.

The room smelt strongly of disinfectant - presumably from a swift mopping of the tiled floor. The furniture was cheap and tatty and this included the double bed whose old and stained mattress was covered with a thin and crumpled sheet that had clearly never been ironed.

The old air-conditioning unit simply didn't work and the large television on our dressing table was useless to us as there were no English language channels on it - subscriptions clearly not having been paid. The small room fridge was yellowed with age and its freezer section was heavily iced up.

Our difficult-to-lock French doors led directly to the pool area but when we arrived there was a massive cabinet outside blocking our way. The pool was quite nice and we enjoyed two or three swims in it.

Close by is the Ristorante San Tomaso where one night we enjoyed an excellent meal - palatable local wine, bruschetta and spaghetti marinara. Delicious. The people who run that place could teach the management of The Sensi Hotel a thing or two about customer service. If you are charging guests 44euros a night for a room without breakfast you need to first achieve a reasonable room quality. Things should work. The bedding should be comfortable. Tatty old furniture should be replaced. Otherwise, you should only be charging about 30euros a night.

Room Tip: Choose a good room? My advice is to choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is a budget hotel and yet people leav review complaining,it is basic as you would expect from a 2 star rated hotel.
The owner and manager are extremely kind ,even allowing us to keep our room at no extra charge for the day as we flew late in the evening,
Rooms were kept clean ,I stayed with my mother and while the bar can be busy in the evening it is sound proof when door closed and did not disturb us.
It is ideally place close to the bus stop and confectioners that sells most things,we asked for kettle put you could take your own.
Marsaskala is a lovely place to stay with the marina,and the review slating it as isolated is ridiculous ,most people would appreciate the small safe bay for the family and being a little away from the noise in summer.
It's true don't expect the Hilton but if you go knowing you haven't paid too much and communicate with the staff you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kachinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip in January (out of season). It is a two star hotel, its was priced for two star hotel but worth for more. The rooms are clean, quite and extra large with big bathrooms. The Air condition in my room worked just fine. I had some trouble with the light curtains but was easily solved with an extra shade. The guy that cooks is from Serbia and makes great pizza and pasta (not like in Italy but very good!) and home made food!.
Overall i have to say that i enjoyed my staying in this hotel. Yes it does not have the amenities for a 4 star hotel, from the outside there are some issues but it is a 2 star hotel! The pool was kind of dirty but it was 12 C outside (i didn't care about the pool!).
The staff is very friendly and more than willing to help in any requests.
As a conclusion for the requested money the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: My room on the top floor had a window that could be opened and a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pstasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Really good stay here. Excellent service great home cooked food friendly people powerful shower heat people about at bar restaurant etc owners very helpful chef and staff excellent. It's not the ritz so don't come if you expect that. Basic rooms but very effective

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vania p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I agree with Kate M and other reviewers. I booked into the Sensi, as it is now called, just for an overnight transit stay through Malta, in October 2012.

The hotel appears uninhabited from the outside; top floor windows are blocked up, the main door (though you wouldn't know it was this) had a 'closed' notice, yet if you pushed......you were into the Hotel. The reception and bar area is marginally as represented in the website photographs, but more scruffy in reality. For some reason, roving Russians/Eastern Europeans were drifting between the reception and kitchen, cooking in there.

Our room was big, but basic. A Twin with additional family room twin bunks. The mattress and pillows were poor and unsupportive, and room and bedding was damp. There was no toilet paper. I didn't leave any valuables in the room when I went out of the hotel.

As Reviewer Kate M says, the photographs are straight deceptions, and I recognised little in reality. The corridor was dark, scruffy and dingy.

This is a proper dive - we paid £57 , but to be honest, it isn't worth €25.

It depends on your own expectations and standards, but I found this hotel quite sinister and dingy. I can't really see many people being comfortable in this place at any price.

Pay more and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marsascala hotels

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night last Saturday in order to attend the Marsalokk market the following day. We were charged 5 star rates and this was demanded as soon as we arrived even before we were given the key to our room. Whilst the room itself was comfortable there was no hot water in the bathroom nor was there any soap or bathmats - fortunately we had our own. Breakfast next morning was basic and there were no saucers for the coffee/tea cups. Conclusion - If the management wish to charge 4/5 star rates they must get these things up to scratch. Until they do I would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANONYMOUS1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I booked this hotel to visit friends in Malta. It is a two-star hotel, and therefore I had no expectations of a grand 5-Star. I was the only guest staying and refurbishments that are mentioned in other reviews were still ongoing. The hotel is basic. The rooms are basic. The welcome and friendliness are certainly not basic. Everyone was helpful and as a solo traveller and solo guest, I felt very comfortable and very safe. The staff tried to cater to all my whims - for example, the dining room was not open in the evenings, but I wanted to treat my Maltese friends to a meal. I spoke to the owner and he provided a meal - Risotto, steak and chips and ice cream. My friends and I were welcomed and served dinner, which they thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is minutes from the beach and minutes from bus stops, and it is approximately a 15 minute walk to the centre of Marsaskala, where there are lovely cafes and the atmosphere is vibrant. So, to summarise, this hotel is ideal for families with children. There is a nice pool, it is close to the sea, the rooms are large and clearly accommodate whole families in bunk beds, doubles and singles. It is cheap and close to transport for visiting the rest of Malta. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsascala
0.8 mi away
Cerviola Hotel
Cerviola Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marsascala
151 reviews
2.7 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 2 in Birzebbuga
101 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,297 reviews
13.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
10.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Hotel

Property: Ocean Reef Hotel
Address: St Thomas Bay, Marsascala, Island of Malta MSK 3617, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsascala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marsascala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Malta/Marsascala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing