We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trip to malta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerviola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerviola Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marsascala
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“trip to malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and we were very very pleased with the location the staff were excellent so helpfull and friendly you have to get to know the owner Lorenzo he s a bit serious but once you get to know him hes very nice he even cooked rabbit for us cause he usually does it only on the weekend but we wouldnt be there also you get a full breakfast bacon or sausage and eggs and beans and lots of cereal yogurts toast only think its instant coffee but for that price whose to complain we payed 30 canadian per night for both of us and if you want dinner its 5 euro each for buffet the location is excellent its only a few blocks from bus stop and the promonade the promenade alone is 2 or 3 miles long and everyone is out there every night they meet there sit around and visit eating pizz a and ice cream everywhere and very very friendly people they speak italian and lots of english too try the canole pastry its to die for better then the ones in sicily all in all the hotel does need alot of alterations but its clean has a pool at the top which they kept clean rooms are clean so if yoy dont expect a 4 star hotel for us it was great

Room Tip: overlooking the water cause overlooking the street is noisy and not too attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank jobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    39
    31
    14
    30
See reviews for
28
51
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

First stayed there over 10 years ago.It was advertised under Southrays Holidays and was so cheap we couldnt believe it. We liked it and the area right away. Been back 4 times.
It was never posh but clean and tidy. The food was a bit boring but you would never starve.
Have read lots of things about mine host Laurence and his shorts and flip flops but would not want to change him. If you want posh suggest you try The Phoenecia but it will cost you!
.
We wondered why Laurence rushed us in to dinner until about twenty Bulgarians arrived and
demolished everything in sight. Last visit.this May and saw the last of those lovely old buses.
Going to Qwara Palace next May. Really going to miss those buses which were part of the
whole Malta experience.There are plentyof pics and videos of the old buses on PC.
Best wishes Keith and Patricia Lewis

Room Tip: If you are disabled,there is lift but the upper floor(s) are on two levels and there are a few steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and it wasn't long enough so now we're planning on going back. This hotel was a great place to stay. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were very clean. The shower was clean and the water pressure was fantastic. We got a fridge, tv, desk, couch and balcony. There's a swimming pool on the roof. We got our washing done for free by the hotel staff, that was a big help. They provided a buffet dinner for only 5 euro, all you can eat and drinks are available too. There is a small store with groceries in the hotel. Internet is not free, it is 2 euro for 1 hour. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahW671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent two weeks at the Cerviola Hotel; a family holiday, catering for three generations! For some in our party this was a return trip to Marsascala, as some family members had stayed before but this was my first time.

I must say, I found some of the reviews on Tripadviser a little daunting but decided to give it a go and make up my own mind. We had four rooms between us, all basic but very clean, with great air conditioning, balcony and TV. There is a full-size fridge in each room and built in hair dryer in the bathroom. The rooms are cleaned every day and beds are changed every three days.

We arrived after midnight on the first day and left the hotel at 4:30 on the last day to fly home. On both our arrival and departure the hotel collected us and dropped us off (in two minibuses as we were a large party) this was at no extra cost as was absolutely no trouble. Staff were always very kind, friendly and happy to help. The Cerviola is truly a family business, everybody helps out! We can find no fault whatsoever with the staff at the Cerviola; nothing was ever too much trouble.

Facilities at the hotel are pretty basic but the pool on the roof is recently refurbished and cleaned every day. There are plenty of very comfy sun loungers with parasols. There are shaded areas on the roof too with tables and chairs. There is a snack shop/kiosk on the roof by the pool that serves drinks, snacks and light meals between 10am and 6pm (ish). Very reasonable prices. There is a shop in the hotel that is very well stocked with excellent prices. Lots of things in Malta are imported which makes them expensive but local/ everyday items such as bread, milk, water etc are very cheap (much cheaper than home!) Again staff are really helpful; if they do not have something you want in the shop they will go out of their way to get it for you (they did this for me... twice!) There is a bar and an internet cafe downstairs. Internet use is 2 Euros for one-hour use. The bar is ridiculously cheap- very generous measures for very cheap prices!!

Food in the Cerviola is cheap and cheerful. Breakfast is included in the price and consists of a full English, continental or cereals and fruits. There was a range of cereals and fruits each day as well as yoghurts and fruit juices. As a large group we had a range of different needs- the two year old would have scrambled egg on toast, while the teenager would have a bacon sandwich, while some of the adults had a full-English and others had continental. All orders were accommodated and breakfast was cooked just as one liked!

The Cerviola is situated in a good area; there are local shops and bars within a few minutes walk. The main streets are a ten-minute walk away, and Marsascala is a good base to explore the rest of the island. We hired an air-conditioned mini-bus for 10 days and went to Mdina, the Blue Grotto, Pretty Bay, Popeye Village...and loads of other places!

On settling my bill on the last day i was really surprised at how cheap my two-week holiday had been! I was more than happy woth the service and faciliites at the Cerviola and surprised at what excellent value for money you get. I will certainly return to Marsascala and will definitely stay at the Cerviola again - with pleasure! The only thing i will do differently next time will be to bring a travel kettle. My mum had a travel kettle in her room (which she brought with her) and it proved very handy just when you fancied a cup of tea!

Room Tip: A travel kettle would be handy if you drink a lot of te or coffee as there are not tea-making facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyrumball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

we stayed here for 10 days and couldnt fault it. The air conditioned rooms were basic but cleaned every day, fresh towels daily and clean sheets every three days. Breakfast is self service but any thing you want is just ordered and cooked fresh including full English if wanted. Ask at the desk for cheap car hire. The shop next door is well stocked and I think sold everything but kitchen sinks. There was a full size fridge in the rooms but no tea/coffee making facilities. The pool area was also cleaned daily and great place to sun bathe.

Room Tip: take a travel kettle, cups & a spoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondemushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

After previously posting in October 2008 about my stay here I said I could not see me returning. I did however stay again this time with a friend in October 2010. I wanted to show my friend Marsascala before moving on to Qawra and this being the only hotel in the area we booked it for 3 nights. Well this stay was vastly improved. A friendly welcome upon arrival, a very nice room with a view of the sea, good service and breakfast as ever very good. Marsascala is as lovely as ever and I would not hesitate now in returning to the Cerviola for future visits. As others have posted here it is a family run hotel and the people running it really are helpfull and will anything they can to assist. Its a budget hotel though so if you are seeking class this is not for you. However for the money we paid and the service we got it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTPW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Cerviola Hotel in Marsascala is a family run enterprise which offers excellent hospitality and fantastic service. The staff go out of their way to help in any way. The food is typical Maltese and mouth watering. Both my wife and I will recommend a relaxing holiday at the Cerviola. One can just spend the day by the roof top pool.

Room Tip: Trust the Cerviola Hotel and the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paviajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsascala
3.5 mi away
Water's Edge
Water's Edge
#1 of 2 in Birzebbuga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
10.6 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
12.0 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerviola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerviola Hotel

Property: Cerviola Hotel
Address: Triq Il-Qaliet | Marsascala, Marsascala, Island of Malta MSK 3312, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Marsascala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marsascala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerviola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cerviola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerviola Hotel Marsascala
Cerviola Hotel Malta/Marsascala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing