We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea view in the morning is best... don't mind the rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Baak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Baak
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sea view in the morning is best... don't mind the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed in De Baak for one night only. We went to Noordwijk for a weekend with friends. Our friends stayed in a nearby Radisson Blue Palace hotel. They went for the quality of a hotel, we went for the sea view. And thats what everybody got. De Baak is just decent hotel that looks like many Polish resorts from 70ties. For us it was like a trip back in time. When you spend a weekend by the sea you don't spend to much time in a hotel room anyway. Would not stay there in a room without the view. There is not much to offer beside that. Good and friendly reception, simple breakfast buffet. Generally good for a single person or a couple without kids staying for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    49
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
40
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Mostly a management training center so it has an odd feel. No gym or pool. The boxy exterior is off-putting, as are the spartan bedrooms. But the beds are in fact very comfortable and other basic comforts are adequate. In early spring, radiators could be adjusted to make the room suitably warm or cool. Basic, decent breakfast buffet. Basic bath and TV but the real attractions are elsewhere. Exceptionally spacious, pleasant common area, glass-walled and overlooking the North Sea and a nicely maintained 6-foot Yamaha grand piano. No nickel-and-diming here with coffee, tea and snacks offered throughout the day and bicycles lent. High standard of cleanliness throughout. As befits a management school, interactions with staff were unfailingly good and mostly excellent. The hotel has a quieter, cleaner, more relaxing feel than its large neighbor. Across the street from the beach in an attractive residential neighborhood an easy walk from a charming commercial street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipu-wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel could be great, but there's a lot that needs to change. When we arrived the staff at reception was very friendly. The hotel seems very run down. Our room was adequate-nothing special. The beds were small twin sized beds pushed together. It turned out they were like hospital beds! On wheels & with a control to raise and lower head and feet! We found that a little odd. There were also windows between the bathroom and bedroom and that was very strange. The temperature in the room was boiling, so we turned down the radiator and cracked the window. The next morning it was so hot in the room we opened the window wide before we left. When we came back late that night it was freezing and the radiator would not turn on. Reception sent a maintenance man who, though very polite, was unable to fix the radiator. He brought in a space heater that also didn't work. We were offered another room, but when we went to look at it there was a terrible sewage smell permeating the room. We went back to the cold room and bundled up for the night. All this took quite a long time, so we were exhausted in the morning. When my husband spoke to the hotel manager in the morning he was offered twenty euros and a free drink at the bar to make up for one lousy night. When my husband indicated that seemed relatively insignigicant compared to the loss of a night's sleep and being exhausted the rest of the next day of our vacation the manager responded with, "What else can I do? You can see this is not a five star hotel!" With that attitude they never will be. Breakfast was okay. Mostly breads & scrambled eggs. Located right on the shore.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
440 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night via agoda for 79 eur incl breakfast and seaview. The hotel is directly on the beach separated by a small road. The rooms are decent, twin beds but very comfortable (soft). Unfortunatelly the room was very cold. The heating in the room was luke warm when turned to maximum and the one in bathroom remained ice cold. Fortunatelly the reception has provided us with a portable heater.

The bathroom has toilet and shower which is separated from the bedroom by glass. Water was piping hot. Small old style tv.

The breakfast was fine. Nothing exciting but selection of cheeses and eggs and mushrooms and some sweet stuff. Good selection of fresh fruits and couple of yoghurts.

Overall Good experience apart from the freezing room.

Free wifi in the lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The first time we were guests at the hotel, we had the impression of 'minimal, but nice'. Now, with the upgrades, it goes to the top of our list when staying in the area. We had a flexible schedule, so we found a time that had an oceanview available...and it was such a wonderful experience!

Our updated room was smartly designed and well organized. There were all the amenities, minus a shower cap (I always have one when traveling in Europe...it's not standard issue, probably could have gone to the front desk). The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, and the hallway to our room had the room numbers clearly marked on a spot in front of the door. The hallways have motion-detected lighting, and even without the full lighting, it was easy to navigate.

We purchased a room with breakfast, which is a buffet-style serve-yourself affair. The coffee and tea was via a machine, and was open throughout the day. The food was delicious! The best way to start the day...with a full view of the beach!

Typical European, the room came with 2 '1-person' beds, but we just pushed them together, and turned the deckbeds (comforters) the other way, so that they layered down the beds. It's not the same as a full mattress, but it's a small sacrifice, and normal for Europe. There were also extra pillows already in the room.

In the morning, we had a perfect view of the ocean, and, being in the corner, there was no neighbor noise.

We will be choosing this hotel again, when they are available at times that we need a room in the area. As was already said, this is primarily a learning/training center, so there are times that rooms will not be available, so you should check their website, where there is a calendar right on the page.

Room Tip: Plan around getting an oceanview room. It's well worth it, even though there is a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Went here for one night as I was attending a business meeting the following day.

The food that was served on the night i was staying was nice enough but it was a set menu so no choice and it was far too fancy. Don't get me wrong the quality was amazing but it would've been good to have some choice.

The room itself was poor, two single beds, an old style tv and no heater, it was freezing, i had to blast the radiator in the bathroom, leave the door open and hope that it heated up my room! Quite noisy place also.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Hotel de Baak, which is normally a venue for management training, as part of a wedding party. Our frineds who are from Noordwijk arranged for accomodation on our behalf and the hotel which would normally have been closed for the end of the season was kept open for us.

As the only group in the Hotel, it worked out well for us! The Hotel oringinally built in the late 1950 specifically as a conference and training venue, the Hotel is currently undertakig a major update and refurbishment. Most of the work is complete and I imagine that this will be compelted during the closed season of 2009.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noordwijk hotels
0.3 mi away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#1 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#2 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#7 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Baak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Baak

Property: Hotel de Baak
Address: Kon Astrid Boulevard 23, 2202 BJ Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Baak 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Baak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Baak Noordwijk, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing