We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Conference Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel makes a good conference venue, which was the purpose of my visit. The hotel has a grand feel in the public areas, and the staff are attentive throughout. There is building wide WiFi, which seemed to have a good signal in both rooms and public areas. The standard of the food was good in the restaurant, and ok at the buffet breakfast. The room was a little dated, though very comfortable, and the beach and terrace area were well presented, with impressive mature olive trees in planters! The shower water pressure and temperature was excellent. There is a pool and fitness centre, though unfortunately as a business traveller I didn't have the time to sample these.
If I could change one thing, I would have liked tea and coffee facilities in my room. On the whole a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Just the obvious - the beach view is undoubtedly much more inspiring than the view of the town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VolcanoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel pleasantly surprised me. It had lovely views and the public areas were quite grand and beautiful.

The rooms are definitely where they could improve. Very dated. Bed dilapidated. With a sprucing up they could be decent.

Room service was good.

Communications with hotel were a bit frustrating in terms of securing the right room type, but in the end it worked out. Hotel would not grant late check out by 2 hours which was disappointing as their check out is at 11:00 which is quite early.

A lot of barging in by hotel staff. Mini bar etc. they just walked in after a quick knock and I found the disturbances quite frequent so this was a bit disconcerting.

But all in all a surprise in terms of the public areas. No surprise in terms of the rooms. Reviews here make that clear.

Room Tip: Get a view room (large sea view) if you can get them to confirm it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noname36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Positives:
+ Very Comfortable Bedding.
+ Room was very clean.
+ Awesome location.
+ Rooms were comparable to a U.S. Sheraton or Hyatt.
+ Pool is "kid-friendly."

Negatives:
- Additional charges for parking and taxes above the booking.com rate.
- Value for money was poor.
- Only very expensive dining options in the hotel.
- No "grab and go" food choices. Only a VERY expensive breakfast buffet option for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjbb147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Huis ter Duin in Noordwijk is a upmarket beach hotel.
its out of the way - about 30-40 car minutes from Amsterdam.
Location is prime - right on the beach - not overly busy.
The hotel is tired - and needs an overhaul.
The rooms are ok - but the decor needs an overhaul.
one thinkg that bugs me i that the curtains are not light proof
bathroom is old. Its very clean though.
Outside balcony looks like it may fall apart - it probably wont but the concrete/paint is flaking off.

Room Tip: seaside only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUMMIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I attended a conference for 2 days and stayed in a sea view room with balcony. The drive toward the hotel was slightly disconcerting as it is not a pretty building from outside. It is vast and concrete, but once inside the hotel has a definite 5 star feel. The conference facilities were excellent and the outside seating areas were charming, as was the beautiful beach and Beach House restaurant. As for the room itself, it felt a little dated, especially in the bathroom. However, the bed was comfortable, the toiletries well presented and the furnishings tasteful enough.
The bar area was lively in the evening (the Dutch football team were staying) and thankfully I didn't have to pay for the drinks!
Dinner in the Latour Restaurant the following evening was exceptionally good even for a set menu. Again though, I'm pleased not to have had to foot the bill.
Reception staff were bright and friendly, answering my various queries and needs, though
I never did find out why the place is full of dire clown paintings.
I'd recommend for couples if you like that sort of retreat and for business definitely. This is not a spot I would personally choose for a short break but am glad to have stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with balcony were spacious with wide views of the long beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Grand hotel Huis ter Duin in Noordwijk at sea is a very nice and comfortable hotel. It's not that far from Amsterdam Schiphol and in the middle of 'bollenvelden'; fields with tulips (april/may). The hotel needs some updates and could be refurbished. But you can smell the chiqueness. Especially the breakfast is super! With a large amount of spreads, types of fish, champagne etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBraakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

2 night stay with a conference. Very well presented and definitely a place to experience. Could to imagine staying unless I was at a conference as its vast and lacks the personal touch. Gym poor, needs updating and needs to be 24hr. Staff a little stand offish but reception staff are 1st class. Room was good although not well equipped for the traveller. Free Internet - thank goodness! Room overlooked the sea which in the summer I am sure is great.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank achatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noordwijk hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#2 of 27 in Noordwijk
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#4 of 27 in Noordwijk
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#7 of 27 in Noordwijk
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin

Address: Koningin Astrid Boulevard 5 | Postbus 85, 8522 Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Spa Hotel in Noordwijk
#4 Business Hotel in Noordwijk
Price Range: £103 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5-star hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi less than 100 metres from the beach in Noordwijk aan Zee. It features an indoor swimming pool, spa and gym. The rooms at Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin have seating area and satellite TV. They also feature a minibar, work desk and come with a robe and slippers. Some rooms have North Sea views. The centre of Leiden, featuring the National Museum of Antiquities and the Hortus Botanicus, is less than a 20-minute drive from Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin. The Hague is 25 minutes and Amsterdam is 40 minutes away by car. The Michelin star rated Restaurant Latour serves French cuisine and has panoramic sea views. The hotel also includes the more informal Brasserie La Terrasse, a restaurant which features 2 terraces overlooking the beach. Huis ter Duin has many leisure facilities, a bicycle rental service and Breakers Beach House pavilion where you can enjoy lunch, dinner and drinks. MC Wellness offers a range of treatments including facials, massages and body scrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Noordwijk
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin Noordwijk, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing