We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel... but not so great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flying Pig Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hostel... but not so great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

If your destination is Noordwijk, then you can just add another star to my rating and everything is perfect, but if you plan to visit Amsterdam and choose Flying Pig Beach Hostel, because you want beach parties/because the Uptown and Downtown Hostels were full and/or for other reasons. I have to say that the hostel isn't located that close to Amsterdam as it looks like. After a certain point of time, it almost gets impossible to go back to hostel at night.
Other than that, nice atmosphere, nice people and staff. Clean rooms. You don't think of cons of the hostel when you remember your experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunayokumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    40
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
13
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Oct 2012- Well it was well after the high season and the Pig was quiet. Sedate even. the room was nice and clean. The bar well stocked and the staff friendly. The town of Noordwijk an Zee is not exactly a party place, but there are bars and a bus to Leiden and the train station.
The BEST part is the 2 Euro shuttle to Amsterdam. Make sure to book it in advance.
I bet the Pig can be a real party place during the summer. Without the craziness that is Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarheelFamily_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinaroz, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed there for a week and I have to say it is a great hostal. The staff are great, numerous (haha) and very helpful (heya guys!). The hostal was almost empty most of the times, but I still got to meet some great people in the bar. The beds are clean and changed daily. The shower is ok and the free breakfast is nice.

Totally recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hostel is fairly unique in that quite a few people who were in the bar/smoking area seemed to be locals, or local friends of the staff who work at the hostel. This mean that its possible to speak to Dutch people, who are not just serving you drinks or givng you your key. I really enjoyed this element, and as there was a mini music festival going on, there was plenty of entertainment to be had.
The staff did however seem to be less professional than those who work at the other flying pigs. I guess its the laid-back beach style, and it is a good place to smoke and chill out, but there was often the sense that the guests got in the way of the party for the locals, the staff and their friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merktastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I booked my trip to Amsterdam on very short notice (pretty much the day before) and wanted to book with the Flying Pig because someone had recommended it to me. On such short notice, the downtown and uptown hostels were full so I settled for the beach hostel. Other people staying there said they had picked it because they needed a break from their crazy stays in the heart of Amsterdam.

The biggest disadvantage is the hostel is far from the city. It takes about 30 minutes and costs 4 euros to get to Leiden train station, and then another 30-40 minutes and 8.50 to get to Amsterdam Centraal. There is no quick transit pass you can buy for these trains and buses so you'll just have to pay separately each time. However, just because it isn't in the city doesn't mean the location isn't amazing. The beach is clean and the water was warm. There's a nice little shopping street in Noordwijk that I found actually sold better souvenirs than the stores in Amsterdam. Apparently there are bars and clubs in the town too, but I didn't take advantage of them because drinking at the hostel was so fun. The bartenders were really nice and the other guests were great company.

I stayed in the 22-bed dorm in the basement which was fine although nothing special. There is lots of floor space for bags and there are small safes included in your room price that can hold your passport, money, and maybe a 13-inch laptop. You could hear the music from the bar (mostly just the bass) but it wasn't too distracting. The bathrooms were a bit dingy unfortunately, the faucet was loose and there was only one countertop, which was in an unlit corner next to the showers. The showers were a bit weak and small so it was hard to keep your clothes dry. I only stayed for one night so these things were fine, but I don't think I would have been able to stay much longer than that. Maybe the bathrooms for the smaller rooms were in better shape.

All in all, a great little hostel to get away from the city. Would definitely recommend for a short stay. (Be sure to bring 15 euros cash for your key deposit!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a friendly (but very small) hotel located right near the beach. The beach is beautiful.

The hostel itself is clean (though not as clean as the other flying pig hostels are). There is a smoking and chilling area (though it is very small), and a bar.

The staff are very friendly and really help keep the party going.

There is not much to do around this hostel except the beach though, and its not anywhere near amsterdam central if that's what you are looking for.

This is a backpackers hostel, don't expect much more.

Be sure to use the safe in the room, some other guests had lost something while I was there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I booked this hostel as the last part of my EuroTrip, because I wanted to sit on the beach and relax before I went back to the states. This was before I found out that Europe is freaking freezing in the summer, so when I got there, I was disappointed that I wouldn't be able to get the surfing lessons I was looking forward to. However, I ended up having the best time and meeting the most amazing people at this hostel! As soon as I arrived, I was immediately welcomed and brought into the conversation like an old friend by the staff. They really included me and the other guests into the party - giving us free drinks at night and taking us to the beach when the bar closed. During the day, the beach was cold, but it was really nice to walk along the waves and eat dutch pancakes.
I stayed upstairs, where the room was small, but there was a sink and mirror inside the room, which was nice. There were two hall bathrooms with clean showers, which was a great break from dorm bathrooms. The kitchen was big and easy to cook in, and the bar and smoking areas were great. I miss it! I wanna go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veryveronicaIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordwijk
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
0.1 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#7 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#1 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Property: Flying Pig Beach Hostel
Address: Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202 HT Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Amsterdam, Leiden, and Den Haag (The Hague) from The Flying Pig Beach Hostel! Our shuttle service runs into Amsterdam every day. Chill-out in the SURF BAR with Indoor Smoking Area and terrace. Hire surfboards and mountain bikes. Get involved with our Jam Sessions - Big Screen Movie Nights "DJ Nights" and make use of the free canvas and paints. Check out the shared and private Room Deals, and prepare to have some serious fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Flying Pig Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Beach Hostel Noordwijk, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing