We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel I've stayed in - good valued, awesome atmosphere, great times and amazing people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Pig Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hostel I've stayed in - good valued, awesome atmosphere, great times and amazing people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I'm going to miss this place like crazy.

The people that come into the pig are all there for the same reason: to be happy and have a nice time. And the staff team are just as awesome - they get the jobs done around the place and are always helpful, but know how to have fun and socialise with the guests in the mean time.

Being on the beach it's a very chilled environment, but should you want to go to any of the major cities, it's only a shuttle or a bus and a train ride away.

As for facilities etc. - no problems. Good beds, warm showers, excellent wifi connection (and free), plenty of food in the morning, and just generally well kept.

I have much more to say about this place but would be going on even more. But i reccommend it, especially if you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of the major cities.

And i shall definitely return! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    40
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
13
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
219 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

In a really nice area: Nordwijck , there is Fly pig Beach hostel, really cute hostel whit nice common area - Bar - smoking rome and terrace .

i was in teh mix dorm and we had 1 safe for each bed.

they organize 1 euro shot party, batle shot, there is biliard where u can play, u cana lso play beer pong, The staff is so nice.
U can use the Kitchen if u have your own food

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iLoveTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I've lost count of how many times i have visited Holland and I've stayed in five hostels and five hotels, i can remember. The flying pig at the beach is by far the best and cheapest hostel I've stayed in. It actually feels like your on holidays. Instead of the constant non Dutch languages you hear in A'dam, you actually hear some Dutch. would advise they ban french in the bar and smoking area, even one of the english lads would be speaking it constantly.

The staff are the nicest you would meet anywhere. Kate, Erica, Andreas and Craig all made a lone traveller like me, feel like I was with lots of friend I had known years. Stu is an asset to the place, constantly helping out and knows all the customers that doesnt come accross as being orced on just a really friendly guy. Free brekkie, 4e shuttle into A'dam, free internet, spotless everywhere, I could go on and on.

Even if your planning to only visit A'dam i'ld still advise it. book the shuttle the day before (no deposit) and its less than an hour to A'dam and you can come back to all the cheap bars/clubs/ and restaurants (the van selling fried fish at the beach is a must. I will be back. whatever you pay per day in A'dam you could get two days for the same price by staying here and the staff will tell you the best coffeeshops in a'dam for not being ripped off

Room Tip: bring an old sheet if your not great with sleeping in a dorm drape it over the side of the bunk. use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daviddmmoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I arrived with some much younger friends to be told that they didn't really cater for over-35s and that I would probably find the atmosphere not suited to me but that I could stay if I wanted. I stayed and it's fine. It IS basic - but that's what it offers. Four of us shared a room with bunk beds. It was clean and it had beds in. What more do you want? There was an en suite bathroom with a loo and an interesting shower/sink combination that carried basic to extremes, but everything more-or-less worked. There were no towels or toiletries, but we didn't expect them. Some ventilation in the shower would have been nice, but no one died.

The location is brilliant - very close to the beach. Staff were super friendly.

The young people whose antics were going to keep us up all hours were stoned by 10.00, making it one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. It was a bit hot and airless, but we stayed on one of the hottest nights in living memory, so it's not fair to judge it on that.

We were going to skip breakfast, as we had our doubts that it would be served from 8.00 (we needed to make an early start, which isn't really where The Flying Pig is at) and we'd been told that it was really basic. In the end, it was served from 8.00 on the dot and there was limitless bread, cheese, peanut butter, coffee/tea, cereal and spreads. What more did anyone think we would want? And it's included in the price.

All in all, a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I came here to have a bit of the break from big city life while on my trip. The staff are lovely people and there is a nice vibe to the place. Noordwijk itself is pretty cool and I happened to stumble onto old wartime fortifications - which were pretty cool! Hostel itself was a good place be, the breakfast was nice and the bed comfy. Lockers were there to store your stuff and there was a nice place at the back to hang out with others. The kitchen was great for cooking your own stuff and the staff were really welcoming (referring me to the dutch pancake shop when hunger struck - one of the highlights of the trip:)).
All in all beaches are good places to be, so go to the beach hostel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Nomad
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

After staying at the Flying Pig Uptown over the Queens Day celebrations and really enjoyed staying there, staff were good, rooms were clean and good and beds were HELLA clean and comfy. So I was looking forward to unwinding at the beach for a couple of days at the Flying Pig Noordwijk with my buddy.

We took advantage of the pick up shuttle from the hostel for a couple of euros, good value, and arrived at the hostel in about an hours time. The place downstairs was quite good, kitchen fully stocked and nice chill out patio and smoking room and a bar with cheap drinks. The shuttle bus girl was really friendly and the Scottish fella who checked us in was a good bloke too.

My issue was the rooms and bathrooms. They just looked, smelt and felt like they weren't being cleaned very often, despite a lot of people I spoke to seemed to say they were a cleaner or staff at the hostel. My bed felt damp most of the time there for some reason and the floor in the room was dusty. I was also on a top bunk and the bed felt like it was gonna break through onto the guy below cause it had no support. The bathroom felt quite gross too.

Defiantly visit Noordwijk, great little spot, but i was happier spending my time outside the hostel then in it.

Room Tip: Big guys should try for a bottom bunk if possible, top bunks don't feel so strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckmeisterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Decided to stay here after seeing signs for it in the Downtown Flying Pig, thought it would be a good chance to see a slightly different part of the Netherlands and was not disappointed. Even though it was the middle of winter and not exactly warm it was nice to be able to see the North Sea coast, which pretty much just stretched on forever in both directions. The hostel was very laid back, maybe a bit too quiet, but then again it was a welcome change from the 24 hour party atmosphere of Amsterdam, so overall the experience was definitely worth it. There was a chill out area on a kind of stage near the front entrance with pillows and everything to lie on, there wasn't too many other people staying there at the same time as me, so it was a bit boring and a bit hard to meet other travelers. The only other really negative thing was that the cleanliness wasn't great, but it didn't really effect my overall impression of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordwijk
1.7 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
0.1 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#2 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#7 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Beach Hostel

Property: Flying Pig Beach Hostel
Address: Parallel Boulevard 208, 2202 HT Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Amsterdam, Leiden, and Den Haag (The Hague) from The Flying Pig Beach Hostel! Our shuttle service runs into Amsterdam every day. Chill-out in the SURF BAR with Indoor Smoking Area and terrace. Hire surfboards and mountain bikes. Get involved with our Jam Sessions - Big Screen Movie Nights "DJ Nights" and make use of the free canvas and paints. Check out the shared and private Room Deals, and prepare to have some serious fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Beach Hostel Noordwijk, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing