We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable just”
Review of De Ossewa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Ossewa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Acceptable just”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Clean, comfortable and basic. No real complaints. You got what you paid for

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crofter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I booked this hotel to stay with my girlfriend, it was one the cheaper options in the area (very nice area, villas not to far a walk away). The people were nice and friendly, it's walking distance from the beach/shops and the double deluxe room is a decent size.

The hotel facilities are really basic, if they work that is. The kettle was broken, the safe as well, but they repaired it the next day. There was a poster on the bathroom telling us we couldn't drink the water, since there had been construction in the area. The hotel served no food, apart from the breakfast, which was decent. There was a sticker in our hotel giving false prices on the drinks, we didn't find out how much they really were until the bill came at check out. The choice in drinks are limited, they didn't even have any ice.

Overall I don't think I received the service I paid for, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our corner room had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Noordwijk hotels

radlett
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were looking for a good value hotel and this fits the bill.
Easy to find. parking on site. very nice reception staff.
However, in common with a lot of older Dutch properties the stairs ar more suited for those that want a climbing holiday. Narrow steps and very steep, if you are "lucky" enough to get a second floor room and not an athelete, take some oxygen with you.
Even more interesting is carrying your suitcase down, which if you and the suitcase make it down in one piece, you are ready for crosscountry downhill skiing. (Not a lot of that in Holland)
That said, good value and clean. Our TV didnt work but we asked at reception and it was fixed that day. Twin beds comfy, shower power acceptable but overall clean and sufficient.
If i needed to stay in Noorwijk again and wanted to have a clean hotel, I would book it again

Room Tip: there was a heavy rainstorm one night and the rain on the roof was deafewning. go for a 1st floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fusspotRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

De Ossewa advertises as a two star hotel but it is probably best if you think of it as a pensione, hostel, or basic b&b. It is family run and this adds to one of its few remarkable traits: one is made to feel at home right from the start, given directions to the beach and other sights, and treated friendly and courteously throughout one's stay. Another big plus is the breakfast buffet, which is better and offers more choice than one would expect in this category.

The rooms are basic and functional. Windows do not open all the way and therefore it can get quite hot and stuffy at times. The beds were probably bought from the army at a bargain price: they are the kind of metal framed jobs one also find in youth hostels, to get a "double bed"; two of them have been pushed together. Not really conducive to a fulfilled love life, but ok for sleeping. The furniture in general is pretty tired and worn. There is a TV in every room (some Dutch/English channels). Rooms and bathrooms are clean enough, but tend toward grimy- and grubbyness in the remote corners (such as parts of the shower stall).

De Ossewa is ok if you don't expect too much and are willing to pay 75 EUR per person for an unremarkable stay (they do advertise "deluxe" rooms which come to 90 EUR per person). The location is not bad - it's on the fringe of Noordwijk Zee, so only about 900m from the beach. However, I cannot in good faith recommend this to anybody wishing to indulge themselves or looking for a romantic time.

Room Tip: Spend 15 EUR more and stay in one of the deluxe rooms. Haven't seen them myself, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I went here on a school trip. The rooms were average and there wasn't too much space ( although there was an extra bed). The TV didn't work but it was fine. The food was delicious and breakfast was great. Gooing downstairs to find your table full to the brim with bread Nuttela and Jam then a table covered in unusual hams and Dutch cheese. Divine.
The receptionist was scary but apart from that it was a great place.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

If you are in Holland for business purposes and you have deals both in Amsterdam and the Hague, possible it`s better to stay almost between these two cities in a small town Nordwijk.

Ossewa hotel is a small family-run hotel. There`re almost no any additional services, but it`s quite nice and offer wine, early breakfast. Rooms are clean, but a bit small and I think they are a bit overpriced, but need to check for room values in other hotels located nearby. I suppose they are not very cheap also.

This hotel is like typical B&B with good, but not outstanding service. And it`s not suitable for tourists because of its location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordwijk
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
1.5 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#3 of 27 in Noordwijk
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#1 of 27 in Noordwijk
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Ossewa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Ossewa Hotel

Property: De Ossewa Hotel
Address: Duinweg 7, 2202 RA Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Ossewa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your De Ossewa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Ossewa Hotel Noordwijk, The Netherlands - South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing