We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical hotel near Schipol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Economical hotel near Schipol”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a nice, comfortable hotel. Much cheaper than staying in the city centre.We stayed for a couple of nights while touring the Netherlands. It's very convenient for the airport, frequent free shuttle bus. We got a train from the airport to Arnhem on our first day out, and the bus to Bruges the next, very convenient transport links.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, M Groenveld Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    1,569
    822
    195
    102
See reviews for
479
1,077
556
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
390 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed overnight to catch our flight out of Schiphol and the Ibis was reasonably priced (booked in advance and managed to get a rate below Euro 50). The shuttle bus from the airport was on time but packed (standing room only) as it services all the Accor hotels near the airport. The last bus runs at around 1.30 am so if you arrive after that - its a 10 min taxi ride away.

The hotel is modern and basic - rooms are fine, beds OK & TV worked fine. Wifi was complimentary. The shower was good but housekeeping wasn't very thorough in cleaning the WC. There is no kettle or coffee/tea making facility so you have to go to the lobby and fork out some Euro to get one from the machine. The room has no air conditioning so on a hot summer's night, I can imagine how uncomfortable it can get but fortunately on the night we spent there - temperatures were cool and we slept soundly.

There are no eateries or anything nearby so you are really confined to the hotel and what it has to offer. We opted to head earlier to the airport to have our breakfast there before catching our onard flight. Overall - a decent night's sleep and good shower. That's all one can ask for and as it was just a transit overnighter, we found this good value for money.

Room Tip: Corridors are very long so if you have luggage or walking issues - request a room closer to the cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, M Groenveld, Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. But there were some things which we really didn't enjoy, like example the room is without A/C, it was hot, the only thing the reception told us to do is to open a small window which was in the room. Also the staff members not all were helpful and didn't know how to manage a hotel business. One last thing the prices for food and beverages they were very expensive.

Room Tip: Check for a/c before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeusplax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

M. Groenveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A very pleasant stay, and even better because it is so close to the airport after a long flight.

There's nothing better than to be able to have a nice refreshing shower within an hour of coming of a long haul flight !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on the website. We are very glad that you gave us a 5 out of 5 score on Tripadvisor.

Especially your comments about the hotelstaff makes me very happy. We always try to give our guests the best service possible.

We hope to see you back soon in ibis Amsterdam Airport.

Best Regards,

Miriam Groenveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The room was extremely small and the bed was very low quality for the price paid.
The breakfast was awful for the price paid. The food served is more akin to a €5 breakfast. Certainly not €17. This also applies to the snacks and meals available from the lobby and the café. Overpriced junk food not even fit for a dog.
Also, the parking at €17.50 per day is a complete ripoff considering that there is only one door into the hotel and most of the time one has to walk a long distance (mostly in the rain) from the car to the hotel and vice versa, and if your room is in one of the far wings, this add additional insult to injury. Why not allow for entry and exit through all the wings? What is the point of forcing everyone to pass through the lobby? To entice people to buy junk food perhaps?
Despite all the above, the staff are very friendly, well trained and highly organized. The level of customer service is superior to many other hotels where I have stayed. However, overall it is a less than desirable place to stay. Thumbs up to the staff and double thumbs down to the facility.

Room Tip: Insist on a room close to the lobby because that is the only access in and out of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

The reason why we don't have entrance at all wings is because of safety reasons, otherwise all people can walk into our hotel without noticing them.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

M Groenveld

Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I, just like many other travellers, ended up here due to flight disruptions on the KLM network. I have been stranded in airports a couple of times but this was one of the best hotels I was ever put up in! I loved the young, fresh and energetic decor of the lobby and the main areas - loved the pub and the restaurant upstairs. Unlike many airport hotels where there might be a photo or 2 reminding the visitor of the city/country they are in, this hotel had great paintings on the walls and even a bike :) I loved the athmosphere. Unfortunately, my room was in one of the older sections of the building and the corridor felt more like a dorm than a hotel (or even worse the narrow corridors of a prison) the room was good - perfect for a nights sleep if you managed to score a quiet location. My first room happened to have a faulty airconditioning unit which could not have been turned off or unplugged yet the team moved me to a new room within 10minutes, at 2am. Highly impressive. I had a good short sleep and the shuttle bus to the airport was also very good, efficient, on time. Checkout was a breeze. Overall I was very very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on the website. We are very glad that you gave us a 5 out of 5 score on Tripadvisor.

Especially your comments about the hotelstaff makes me very happy. We always try to give our guests the best service possible.

We hope to see you back soon in ibis Amsterdam Airport.

Best Regards,

M Groeveld
Executive Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because our flight was cancelled due to storms. We turned up without any booking references and staff were really helpful with this. We were given vouchers for dinner, which was nice. We ordered chips which turned up after we'd asked for the bill so they took them back and deducted them from our bill. The room was ok, no spare pillows and no air con so very very hot. The towels were ok but very small!! Breakfast was really bad, however it did start very early (4am) and I was one of the first people in there due to my early morning flight. Overall it was nice for such a short notice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRHayes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle v, Manager at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you the matter is being looked in to and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, M Groenveld executive assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badhoevedorp
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
6.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport

Property: Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 2 restaurants, bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands - Haarlemmermeer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing