We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My HolydayInn review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My HolydayInn review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks. It's near the place I was working to, in Hoofddorp. the location is bad because it's far from Amsterdam center, but it's good for someone how needs to work around there, it's very close to the train station.
Nice rooms, bigger than the ones in Amsterdam center hotels. Clean, quite. Very nice hall in ground floor to hang out, read some book or drink a beer.
recommended if you stop by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    285
    81
    28
    9
See reviews for
53
188
61
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

The hotel is nice and very well located at walking distance from station (provided that it is not raining and you do not expect to have a nice sightseeing walking: there is nothing around apart from office buildings and big streets). I stayed in this hotel for one night, it was close to my meeting place and easy to reach from the airport with the free shuttle bus. The rooms are nice, with complimentary coffee and tea, wifi, satellite tv. BIg shower! Breakfast is good, coffee from the Douwe Egbert machine, different choiceof juices, pastries, bread. Various sort of sIngle packages of jam, cheese and ham. Nice atmosphere and different lobbies areas with plenty of books to look through. Nice receptionists.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hinanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed a total of 10 minutes here. Windows welded up. no control of air con. got full refund and stayed in cheaper better hotel with windows and adjustable aircon. (best western). Didnt get a chance to look at anything else in hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much you have taking the time to give us feedback about your experience in our hotel. We regret the airco/heating system did not meet your expectations.

Because we are an airport hotel and because of safety reasons we have chosen for the option windows are not openable.

We do apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused you as a loyal Platinum Priority Club member. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Kind Regards,

Hubertine Klauwers
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugatuck, mi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

The hotel had a free shuttle from the airport but a $10 fee to return. It was a good room for an overnight stop. The room was clean and comfortable except for the mattress. A continental breakfast was included and it was a good start to the day, pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt. The staff were very helpful and printed our boarding passes for us. The rooms had free wi-fi a real bonus. I would recommend this for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

As most Express by Holiday Inns, this one is also efficient and does not offer much more than a clean place to sleep. A few hints : the cheapest way to travel is to take train to Hoofddorp (ca 5 min, 1 stop, platforms 4 or 5 or 6, clearly marked, 2,10 EUR, there are ca 8-10 trains every hour, so max waiting is 15 min - more http://ns.nl), when exiting, use the exit at the rear of the platform (as you came), turn left and on the traffic lights right and follow the main road to next traffic light. The hotel is straight there (max 10min walk). Hotel has no kitchen, so they offer to order food from some restaurants nearby. Shuttle for 7 EUR is quite expensive, so taking train or taxi in larger groups could be cheaper. Free internet is great, breakfast is OK, but do not expect much. Beside that no positive, but also no negative surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x_____Honza_____x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

My first impression was that this is a hotel that cuts corners. There are no bottles of shampoo or conditioner, no lotion, no bar soap, just a liquid soap dispenser on the wall. There are no washcloths, no shower mats. The hotel charges 7,50 euros for the return shuttle trip to the airport. There's no printer available to the guests. What made the stay uncomfortable, though, was the fact that you don't control the temperature in your room. The system is set centrally to either heat or AC, and since it was on heat, I couldn't get the room to cool down (the windows don't open). I turned off the unit but hot air still came through the vents. I asked the staff for help but was told there was nothing they could do. (The info in the room says the staff can change the "mode" to cool, but not according to them.) I slept without any clothes or covers and was still hot, and therefore slept badly. When your hotel doesn't allow its patrons to open windows, you should at least let them control the temperature in their rooms. The room was clean, although the bathroom smelled of wet dog (another reason they should have windows that open; it's clearly hard to air out a room otherwise). The bed was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with me. I appreciate all the feedback we receive from you.

Because of the Holiday Inn Express / IHG brand standards and to help the environment we do not provide individual guest amenities in our bath rooms anymore. In all of our bath rooms a sign mentions you can contact our reception staff for other amenities such as facial towels, dental and shaving kits, soap etcetera.

We are sorry if the linnen bath mat was not provided because this is one of our standards.

We offer complimentary shuttle service from Schiphol airport to the hotel and only for the return trip from the hotel to the airport we ask for a small contribution conform other airport hotels.

At our business corner no printer is available, though there is a display mentioning our reception staff will be happy to assist you to print any documents like a boarding pass and tickets.

We do apologize for any inconvenience our cooling/heating system (the temperature in your room) may have caused you.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention and I hope we may welcome you again in our hotel in the near future. We do our utmost best to consistent high quality and we will take the necessary steps to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Hubertine Klauwers
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

For an overnight on the way back go US, this was a perfect stop. Shuttle bus picked us up at airport for 1/2 hour ride to hotel, within a huge business complex. The hotel is very reasonble, modern and clean; I would call it "functional," good choice for business people flying in and out. Comfortable bed, quite room & the hotel's breakfast was very good with variety. We wanted to take the train into Amsterdam to sightsee, but got poor information at front desk. After walking 15 minutes to the station, the machines wouldn't take American credit cards, nor euro money (and there were no clerks present to help)... so we missed that opportunity. However, we passed an English-speaking businessman on the walk back and he told us about a wonderful restaurant, 4 blocks from the hotel: l'Hirondelle - a quaint old farmhouse on a lake at dusk... it was like being in a fairy tale... many candles lit the restaurant, darling waitress, excellent steak & duck meal, and the chef choose the desert, which looked like a work of art.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahDanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
1.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, 2132 HH Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hoofddorp
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing