We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as a Base for Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good as a Base for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Courtesy shuttle bus to & from the airport, and 20 min. train to Amsterdam or walk 10 mins to the train station from the Hotel and then straight into Amsterdam
The hotel is good, clean & friendly and there is a good restaurant 5 mins walk.
What more can I say, enjoyed the stay, enjoyed Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    291
    83
    28
    12
See reviews for
56
196
61
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

stayed here on business and it was just fine.nothing was too much for the reception team.gave me maps,printed routes,explained my best options and were thoroughly professional in their service.
room was clean and well presented.breakfast was continental(obviously) so you`ll forego a full English as in it`s sister hotels in Britain.free shuttle to and from the airport every 30 minute.not 24 hour! the hotel is situated in an office area so you`re quite restricted in your options in food and drink.the hotel sells monstrously overpriced snacks.i`d say this hotel is geared to the stopover and one nighters.its fine.it`s an airport hotel.
p.s.didnt bother me,but the room i was in could do with a lick of paint.it may bother others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon1Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a business trip to Amsterdam. The complimentary shuttle from the Airport was great, easy check in, no hassles. The receptionist, I think her name was Fluer, was great. Helped me in converting some Euros to coins for my train journey into town.

Pros:
1. Fresh, Clean Hotel
2. Close to Airport
3. Complimentary Continental Breakfast & wifi
4. Comfortable room for a Professional

Not so good:
1. Not ideal for a tourist. Will take you atleast an hour one way into town and back, as you have to either take the shuttle to airport and then a train, or walk to Hoofddorp for 2 trains each hour
2. No restaurant for dinner. But they do have some good options in a 15 min distance
3. The Bed in my room, was too soft. Not so great if you are not used to sinking all the way into the bed.

But overall, it was a very pleasant hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who is travelling on business near the airport / Amsterdam Zuid area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anuj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I spent one night here this month and it was just fine. The room was comfortable and the bathroom very nice, even well decorated! Small rooms but most people won't spend more than a night in this hotel so that's just fine.

Breakfast was the least positive thing, all the food was pre-packaged and just didn't feel as good as breakfast usually is in the Netherlands.

I didn't use the shuttle but there is one. Parking is expensive, 15 euros per night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touchofeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Continental breakfast surprisingly good-cerals, pastries, yoghurt, packaged cheese and meats.
Airport shuttle every 30min and on time. Platform A9-13. Room was quite and a small bar is also available, along with a self service for food

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this Holiday inn Express. The public areas were great - super stylish and comfortable. Nice breakfast room, lounge, etc. Very inviting. The rooms were functional, comfortable, super clean, and nice. Great beds, tvs, and bathrooms even though the rooms were fairly compact.

The shuttle service from Schiphol is excellent and makes getting to the airport or downtown Amsterdam a breeze. The shuttles run every half hour.

I was leaving before the morning breakfast and the staff asked if I wanted a breakfast box made up. I declined but appreciated the offer. Incidently the breakfast was set up pretty early and smelled great and there was a wide variety of breads and cheeses and jams as well as fruits and cereals. The coffee was excellent.

Although the property itself is not super attractive (a hotel in a business park) it is a very quick and nice walk along a canal into central Hoofddorp which seems to have quite a few restaurants and shops as well as pubs and the likes. There are also bike trails all over the area.

The staff at the hotel were great. Very welcoming and professional. The value for the hotel was excellent. I would certainly stay there again if the need should arise. I enjoyed staying there and would have liked to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I booked this because it was close to the airport and offered shuttle service. It is also a 10 min walk to the Train station. The staff was very kind to let us check in at 8:30AM after an over night flight from Houston. I really wanted a shower before we took off for a day of sight seeing. The room was a decent size and offered coffee and Tea. The morning was sunny so we walked to the train station. If it's rainy you can take the shuttle back to the airport and catch the train. We had an early morning flight out but were able to enjoy a coffee and breakfast before taking the shuttle again. The staff is exceptionally nice and we really enjoyed talking to the Shuttle drivers. If you are only in for the day this is a very reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
0.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, 2132 HH Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing