We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst bed ever! Shame, because it's otherwise a good choice near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worst bed ever! Shame, because it's otherwise a good choice near the airport”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good location relative to the airport. We had a room with double bed on the 3rd floor. The room was small but nicely furnished; bathroom shower good water pressure; lounge areas are attractive; breakfast is ample, free, and was ready before the stated 6:30am; the free shuttle service was on time (both from the airport and on the return); free wifi; the service on check in was very welcoming and courteous. The hotel is set in an office park and does not have a restaurant, but there are a number of options suggested by the hotel, all in walking distance (we chose the Greek restaurant, a 15 min walk, and had a great meal).
So it had the earmarks of being just the right spot to get a good night's sleep before an early flight the following morning. The bed however was the worst we've attempted to sleep in. Extremely soft and sagging in the middle. It left both of us with sore backs and without having slept. I had hoped this would be our go-to place for future visits to the Netherlands (we go 2 - 3 times/year). We will look for another option around Hoofddorp the next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Traveltroel,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We took note of all your positive experiences regarding the services and amenities of the hotel.

Reading your comment about the bed in your room, we felt disheartened. Our sincerest apologies that you experienced this unpleasant night. A good night sleep, waking up rested and happy, is our main priority. We are glad to inform you that the double beds will be renewed in the near future. Actually we have already ordered them and the beds are in production at the moment.

We very much hope we can rebuild your trust welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the area. Especially due to the fact that you seem satisfied with the rest of your stay, we can assure you that we can make your entire stay a comfortable and pleasant one. We are delighted if you are willing to experience our new beds in the near future. Please contact the hotel in advance via +31 (0)23 8200090 or via info.amsas@hiex.nl in attention of the General Manager of the hotel, so we can assist you directly with your booking.

With kind regards,

Floor Hilhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    290
    82
    28
    12
See reviews for
56
194
61
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Everything was good except for the extremely poor reception and shuttle services when we checked out.

What we liked:
- the comfortable beds
- free wifi
- that breakfast was free and good
- the service in the breakfast room was good
- shuttle service from and to the airport was free (like many of the other airport hotels)

What we disliked (no, make that hated): Very bad service at the reception!

When we checked out at 8:05, I specifically told the woman at the reception that we need to take the airport shuttle at 8:45, and asked her what would need to do to make sure we get that (reservation, etc.). She told me that it was fine, no need to reserve, and that we only need to be ready by 8:45, as the shuttle would be in front of the hotel by then. So we happily went to eat breakfast. And then the following happened.

8:40 - We were already outside the hotel, waiting for the shuttle.
8:45 - No shuttle arrived.
8:50 - I went back in and asked the receptionist when the shuttle would arrive. She said: "It comes at 8:45, maybe it's just a bit late today". So I went out again.
8:55 - Still no shuttle!
9:00 - We went back in again, and this time it was my husband who asked the receptionist. To our shock, she said: "The shuttle was already here at 8:45, and you were too late. Sorry." Just like that. She didn't even sound sincerely sorry nor offer any support.

Sorry, but how the heck did that happen?! We then requested her to call us a cab, and she said that getting a taxi would only take longer than if we would wait for the next shuttle, which would arrive at 9:15! So we had no choice but to wait.

9:07 - The 9:15 shuttle arrived! So my husband asked the driver if he really was there at 8:45, because we could not have missed him if he was. He curtly replied, "I was not late. I was here early, and nobody was waiting so I left. I was not late."

The shuttle obviously arrived way before 8:45, and neither the driver nor the receptionist cared if there were people who needed to take the shuttle. I would have understood it a little if I hadn't informed her that we needed to be in that shuttle, but I clearly did, and we definitely were ready before the scheduled pick-up! The breakfast room was only a few meters away from her desk; she could have called us! I can only conclude that when I asked her at 8:50, she was either lying, or had no idea that the shuttle already left. That's a clear sign of incompetence and lack of care for the customer.

So to those who would like to stay here - be sure to be at the lobby at least 15 mins before the schedule you want to take, because neither the receptionist nor the driver cares if someone would get left behind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwitter10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear zwitter10N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your extensive feedback. We appreciate your positive comments.

However it would seem that your experience fell far short of the service we aim to provide and we are very sorry about that. Rest assured that we will address the issue to the Front Desk and Managing Director of our shuttle company.

As an airport hotel we fully understand the importance of time schedules. The shuttle service should stick to very strict time tables. Reading your feedback we understand the shuttle has left early, and this may never occur. We would like to apologize for the shortfall you encountered.

We would be very grateful if you would contact us on info.amsas@hiex.nl to the attention of the General Manager providing us with further contact details that would help us to take appropriate corrective actions.

With kindest regards,

Nick den Hartog
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is an airport hotel, not close to the city center. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Bed was soft and offered a pillow selection. Bathroom was modern and shower was large with great water pressure on 3rd floor. No fridge or safe in the room. Wi-fi was ok for speed. There is a city tax to be paid at the hotel, under 3€ for one person for one night. Hotel offers an airport shuttle at :00 and :30 from Schiphol and :15 and :45 to Schiphol. Starts at 5:45 so plan for very early flights. Shuttle was free both ways for me and the shuttle drivers were very friendly. Picks up outside Schiphol at point A9 and is shared with Crowne Plaza.
If you want to go into the city, you can take the shuttle to Schiphol and a train from there, or walk 10 minutes to the Hoofddorp station and take the Sprinter to Amsterdam Centraal that runs every 30 minutes. The ticket machine there accepts coins, EC card, or credit card with chip+PIN technology, not typical USA credit cards you can only swipe. Train is under 30 min to city center.
Surrounding area is mix of airport hotels and office park. Don't expect anything here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcaustin9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
524 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Clean and spacious Reception area with comfortable sofas, check in was straight forward and the staff very helpful.
Room 445 was light & airy, but with a major drawback in that the bed was against a wall on one side. Fine for a single occupant, but not good for a couple, also the bed was very soft. Solved both problems by moving the mattress to the floor & enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep!
The bathroom was well designed with a large shower cabinet and plenty of large fluffy towels.
Continental breakfast had good selection of breads, cheese, ham etc. and the coffee & tea were good.
Shuttle bus from & to the airport was free as was the wifi service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear MLW28,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback. We will forward your positive comments to the hotel staff.

However we regret the inconvenience you faced and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. Due to your comment, but also other comments regarding the bed comfort, we felt like we should take action to make sure a stay in this hotel is a no-worries experience. Our main priority is that our valued guests experience a good night rest.

We are glad to inform you that the double beds will be renewed in the near future. Actually we have already ordered them and the beds are in production at the moment. We look forward welcoming you again in the future, so you can experience our renewed beds.

With warm regards,

Floor Hilhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room has twin beds, a well-equipped desk, and two small nightstands. The decor looks brand-new, as do the very modern bathroom fixtures. The room is small, but adequate. There is a flat screen TV, but no refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, lotions, shampoo or any other accoutrements that some hotels provide. Those things are not important to us. What is important is feeling as though the linens are clean and all washable and the overall cleanliness is apparent. We do not like tired hotels with heavy quilted bedspreads that look like they've been there for years. This hotel has none of that. The beds and pillows are comfortable. Our plane landed in Amsterdam at 5:30 am after a long flight. When we got to the hotel on the shuttle we learned that our room was not available because the hotel was full. That is to be expected. The staff was extremely accommodating and the downstairs lounges were most comfortable. The shuttle service to the hotel is free, but it costs to get back to the airport. Breakfast is included, which is something we watch for. Many hotels in this area did not offer that for an equivalent amount of money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGW1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel wasn't bad, it just wasn't in a very nice place. Situated in a commercial area, plenty of office blocks surrounding it. Shops were at least 20 minutes walk away and the station to Schiphol airport about 25 minutes.walk. The fact that the hotel is now doing a free shuttle bus to and from the airport was its saving grace as far as the location went.
Continental breakfast was included and the choice was good, nice range of baked goods etc.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Had to pay a city tax - bit strange as we were out in the sticks but hey ho.
Rooms were a decent size and the bathroom was up to date with a good shower. We were there 5 nights and our room was only hovered once! Wouldn't have taken 5 minutes!
There was a swimming pool but it was rarely open and we only found out about it by reading the hotel info book.

Room Tip: . Our room was at the end of the corridor away from the lift but it could still be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexPollyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear SussexPollyp,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I'm glad to hear you found our staff agent to be helpful and friendly. We are proud of our staff. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

First, if you are a tourist, this hotel is not suitable – it’s just too far from the city centre. But, if you make the same mistake we do (because we almost always use Holiday Inn), here are our tips!
The hotel did have a few little problems: the hot water wasn’t working on one morning; the room wasn’t cleaned every day – but they were minor & the big plus was that all the staff were cheerful, helpful & friendly.
Travel: to get to Amsterdam you could:
1. Catch the complimentary hotel shuttle to the airport (if you’re at the airport, make sure it is the Holiday Inn one – all the hotels have their own one & you need to get on the right one. The shuttle either has its own livery or they sometimes use a grey one, but that will have a Holiday Inn board in the front. The hotel shuttles are on the right as you leave the airport). They leave the hotel every half hour from 5.45am to 23.15pm. They leave the airport therefore every half hour at 06.00am to 23.30pm. Times may vary if they get a glut of passengers on one flight & are then delayed!
Once at the airport you can catch a Connexion bus number 197 which goes to Amsterdam (Leidesplein & then onto Marnixstraat). You need to buy a ticket beforehand at the Connexion little white van (Euro 5) – best to pick up a transport map here as well.
If there are two of you, get a ‘buzzer’ ticket (Euro 14 for two people &, I think, includes upto 3 kids if you have them, 4 to 11 years old), which gives you both all day travel on Connexion buses. However, ‘buzzer’ tickets are not normally available at the little white van & you then get them from the bus driver.
197 does not go to the centre of Amsterdam. The centre is controlled mostly by GVB & they run trams, buses, metro & they are all white in colour & marked GVB. You can buy a one hour ticket or a one or two day ticket from the driver (some have a separate ticket seller in a booth on the tram as well) – you swipe these as you get on AND off the tram, bus etc.
197 takes about 30 minutes to get to Amsterdam.
Alternatively, you can get the train from the airport to Central Station in Amsterdam – this is to the north of Amsterdam & you can take Dam Street to Dam Square, the centre of the city – about 10 mins walk (we never used the train ourselves, just buses & trams).

2. You can walk to Hoofddorp station. The first time will be about 15 mins as you follow the main roads with the signs to the station. Afterwards, once you get your sense of direction, you can walk thru’ the business park & this takes 10 mins.
At the station, you can catch the train – we never did this, but it seems you need the correct coins as the ticket machine won’t take notes – but will probably take credit cards – prob. best to check at the hotel desk if you want to use the train.
We used the bus from the station – route number 145, which again went to Leidesplein & then onto Marnixstraat. This journey took about 50 minutes as it went thru’ the suburbs rather than the motorway used by 197. Altho’ longer, you see the suburbs of outlying Amsterdam & we quite enjoyed this; also, you were not reliant on the hotel shuttle bus. See above for ‘buzzer’ tickets if there are two of you.

The hotel sells a ‘HollandPass’ card– you pay up front for 2 or 5 or 7 tourist sites (museums etc) & you get one days free travel with GVB (on the 2 & 5 sites) & two days free travel with GVB (on the 7 sites). Vouchers are tulip (gold) & windmill (silver) & these dictate the level of the attraction. It gets you into the sites on a fast track altho’ sometimes you may have to exchange the HollandPass voucher for a ticket at a fast track window. You get a book with all
the details when you buy. We bought the 7 site / 2 day travel pass & it worked for us – but you need to do a bit of planning to get the most from it! You get the travel tickets thru’ a GWB Travelex kiosk - there is one at the airport (the one or two day ticked starts from when you first use it, NOT the date of issue). Once you run out of vouchers, a lot of sites offer a discount as well – the cards last about 12 months.
There is another similar looking system called ‘I Amsterdam’ but we didn’t use that, so you’d have to look into that if you wanted to. The travel tickets on here are thru’ the VVV tourist info places & there is one at the airport.

To sum up, the travel system is very complicated & it took us a couple of days to get our heads round it:
Connexion buses are red & don’t run into Amsterdam City centre& separate from:
GVB buses, trams & metro which are white & just normally operate in the city centre, & are separate from:
The train that runs from Schiphol Airport, Hoofddorp & Amsterdam Central Station!

Hope this helps - & if all else fails, there are plenty of coffeehouses or café/bars!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisnSue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
1.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, 2132 HH Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing