We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night on 2nd May 2014.

The hotel is located very close to Schiphol Airport and about 30 mins drive from the centre city. The hotel has very good transport links to the city with a local railway station 10 mins walk away and a free shuttle bus that operates from 5am till midnight that will link passengers to the main railway station at the airport. This is great because there are very regular trains from the city to the airport at all hours and even when the shuttle bus has finished it is only 20 Euro cab ride to the hotel.

The check in was very fast and easy and the lobby and public areas are fresh and modern. the room was very new and modern with expected clean and modern room facilities including a stylish bathroom and fast free internet connection. Bed was nice and firm and a selection of pillows were offered.

Breakfast selection was very limited as this is an "express" but the offerings were adequate and some take away drink and snack offerings were available to purchase in the lobby. Be aware that due to this being an "express" there is no room service or restaurant on site but there is a nice village (Hoofddorp) close by (6 Euro cab ride) which has a large mall and a selection of basic restaurants.

All in all this is a great hotel in a good spot which offers value for money to travelers and couples looking for a quality experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I chose this hotel as it was near the place of business and within walking distance. Its hidden away in a business park and a short ride from the airport. I was greeted warmly by the reception staff who could all speak good English. The hotel room were slightly more upmarket than the HIE I'd experienced in the UK. The bathrooms were nicer and the decor in the rooms were better. I liked the night light in the bathroom so finding the bathroom in the night was much easier. The room was air-conditioned and the controls were adjustable. Not much of a view out of the windows as we were surrounded by other buildings but that was no bother for me. When I first tried the bed I thought it was too soft which usually spells trouble for my bad back. Surprisingly I slept well without the expected backache in the morning. Noise was well suppressed with hardly any noise from the airport and there was not much traffic to speak of. The rooms have free wi-fi which were of a decent enough speed and no drops in connection.
The breakfast was the usual buffet style and again better than the HIE in the UK. There was a good selection of hot and cold options as well as coffee, tea and juices.
The hotel does not have an evening restaurant but they have a variety of take away menus that you can ask reception to order for you. The delivery person will arrive at reception where you will come down to collect. They have a small bar and snack machine for cold drinks and sandwiches. You can also purchase a few microwavable meals from receptions and I wasn't hold much hope but they weren't too bad. There is a nearby town,15-20 walk away which I heard has a variety of shops and restaurants but I didn't venture there. There is a nearby restaurant, a few minutes walk away called Restaurant L'Hirondelle which was very nice in terms of food and atmosphere but it is a little pricey. I enjoyed my stay and if in the neighbourhood then I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileycamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during Easter weekend and we found a little gem hotel near Schiphol airport, close to Keukenhoff gardens as well. The hotel is well maintained, with a shuttle bus to the airport approx every 30 minutes, from where you can take the train straight to Central Station in Amsterdam, just 15-20 minutes away. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and nothing seems to much of a trouble for them when it comes to pleasing their guests ( thanks to reception staff for looking after us when we got a bad flu and had to go to hospital...)

Parking is available at the hotel and is within 10 minutes walk from city centre (Hoofdorp). The hotel lobby is very modern and quiet, where you can order take away food to eat in ( menus at reception)

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Truffles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Good Hotel with basic amenities. Rooms and Hotel lobby are very clean. Hotel is a office park so there is not much around it. Hotel serves complimentary breakfast. Hotel staff told me there are four restaurants about 10 minutes from the hotel. Shuttle service to the airport is every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASB052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good location relative to the airport. We had a room with double bed on the 3rd floor. The room was small but nicely furnished; bathroom shower good water pressure; lounge areas are attractive; breakfast is ample, free, and was ready before the stated 6:30am; the free shuttle service was on time (both from the airport and on the return); free wifi; the service on check in was very welcoming and courteous. The hotel is set in an office park and does not have a restaurant, but there are a number of options suggested by the hotel, all in walking distance (we chose the Greek restaurant, a 15 min walk, and had a great meal).
So it had the earmarks of being just the right spot to get a good night's sleep before an early flight the following morning. The bed however was the worst we've attempted to sleep in. Extremely soft and sagging in the middle. It left both of us with sore backs and without having slept. I had hoped this would be our go-to place for future visits to the Netherlands (we go 2 - 3 times/year). We will look for another option around Hoofddorp the next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Traveltroel,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We took note of all your positive experiences regarding the services and amenities of the hotel.

Reading your comment about the bed in your room, we felt disheartened. Our sincerest apologies that you experienced this unpleasant night. A good night sleep, waking up rested and happy, is our main priority. We are glad to inform you that the double beds will be renewed in the near future. Actually we have already ordered them and the beds are in production at the moment.

We very much hope we can rebuild your trust welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the area. Especially due to the fact that you seem satisfied with the rest of your stay, we can assure you that we can make your entire stay a comfortable and pleasant one. We are delighted if you are willing to experience our new beds in the near future. Please contact the hotel in advance via +31 (0)23 8200090 or via info.amsas@hiex.nl in attention of the General Manager of the hotel, so we can assist you directly with your booking.

With kind regards,

Floor Hilhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Everything was good except for the extremely poor reception and shuttle services when we checked out.

What we liked:
- the comfortable beds
- free wifi
- that breakfast was free and good
- the service in the breakfast room was good
- shuttle service from and to the airport was free (like many of the other airport hotels)

What we disliked (no, make that hated): Very bad service at the reception!

When we checked out at 8:05, I specifically told the woman at the reception that we need to take the airport shuttle at 8:45, and asked her what would need to do to make sure we get that (reservation, etc.). She told me that it was fine, no need to reserve, and that we only need to be ready by 8:45, as the shuttle would be in front of the hotel by then. So we happily went to eat breakfast. And then the following happened.

8:40 - We were already outside the hotel, waiting for the shuttle.
8:45 - No shuttle arrived.
8:50 - I went back in and asked the receptionist when the shuttle would arrive. She said: "It comes at 8:45, maybe it's just a bit late today". So I went out again.
8:55 - Still no shuttle!
9:00 - We went back in again, and this time it was my husband who asked the receptionist. To our shock, she said: "The shuttle was already here at 8:45, and you were too late. Sorry." Just like that. She didn't even sound sincerely sorry nor offer any support.

Sorry, but how the heck did that happen?! We then requested her to call us a cab, and she said that getting a taxi would only take longer than if we would wait for the next shuttle, which would arrive at 9:15! So we had no choice but to wait.

9:07 - The 9:15 shuttle arrived! So my husband asked the driver if he really was there at 8:45, because we could not have missed him if he was. He curtly replied, "I was not late. I was here early, and nobody was waiting so I left. I was not late."

The shuttle obviously arrived way before 8:45, and neither the driver nor the receptionist cared if there were people who needed to take the shuttle. I would have understood it a little if I hadn't informed her that we needed to be in that shuttle, but I clearly did, and we definitely were ready before the scheduled pick-up! The breakfast room was only a few meters away from her desk; she could have called us! I can only conclude that when I asked her at 8:50, she was either lying, or had no idea that the shuttle already left. That's a clear sign of incompetence and lack of care for the customer.

So to those who would like to stay here - be sure to be at the lobby at least 15 mins before the schedule you want to take, because neither the receptionist nor the driver cares if someone would get left behind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zwitter10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express_AMSAS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear zwitter10N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your extensive feedback. We appreciate your positive comments.

However it would seem that your experience fell far short of the service we aim to provide and we are very sorry about that. Rest assured that we will address the issue to the Front Desk and Managing Director of our shuttle company.

As an airport hotel we fully understand the importance of time schedules. The shuttle service should stick to very strict time tables. Reading your feedback we understand the shuttle has left early, and this may never occur. We would like to apologize for the shortfall you encountered.

We would be very grateful if you would contact us on info.amsas@hiex.nl to the attention of the General Manager providing us with further contact details that would help us to take appropriate corrective actions.

With kindest regards,

Nick den Hartog
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is an airport hotel, not close to the city center. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Bed was soft and offered a pillow selection. Bathroom was modern and shower was large with great water pressure on 3rd floor. No fridge or safe in the room. Wi-fi was ok for speed. There is a city tax to be paid at the hotel, under 3€ for one person for one night. Hotel offers an airport shuttle at :00 and :30 from Schiphol and :15 and :45 to Schiphol. Starts at 5:45 so plan for very early flights. Shuttle was free both ways for me and the shuttle drivers were very friendly. Picks up outside Schiphol at point A9 and is shared with Crowne Plaza.
If you want to go into the city, you can take the shuttle to Schiphol and a train from there, or walk 10 minutes to the Hoofddorp station and take the Sprinter to Amsterdam Centraal that runs every 30 minutes. The ticket machine there accepts coins, EC card, or credit card with chip+PIN technology, not typical USA credit cards you can only swipe. Train is under 30 min to city center.
Surrounding area is mix of airport hotels and office park. Don't expect anything here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcaustin9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, 2132 HH Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range: £62 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! HIEX Hotel restaurant. We are proud to announce the opening of our new restaurant. The hotel restaurant serves freshly prepared evening meals which will vary over the seasons. We provide our guests with concise menu that fits with the Holiday Inn Express concept. The restaurant has an international cuisine with Dutch specialties that will surprise you. The restaurant is open from Monday to Friday from 18:00h until 22:00h. For dinner reservations, please contact the Reception of the hotel. The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing