We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and staff knew nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in July. Before I get into what was wrong, here are the good points

Fantastic breakfast, huge selection of hot and cold.
Room was big with a nice bed.
Location ten minutes from station, two minutes in a train to the airport and 20/25mins to central.

Bad:

Room was hot and stuffy all the time, no option to open a window and even with the air conditioning at full and at 5oC still it was stuffy and hard to sleep at night.
Minibar prices were ridiculous - €3.50 for a can of coke?!
Swimming pool was always full of kids which was unappealing.
Although the lobby has apple computer screens, the internet on the actually computers is terribly slow and could do with an upgrade
No free wifi after 24hrs free

Final point - the staff at the front desk. Absolutely useless and malicious.

Arrived and told we have to pay €150 deposit. Front desk staff wouldn't give us change for notes even though they said they had none and could see in the till they did.
Very rude giving only short answers and not interested in us at all
Constantly asking us prying questions, one rudely told us we were meant to check out today until she realised we actually had two days left

I wouldn't stay here again because of the stuffy room and the very rude and manipulative front desk staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank manuperudude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear manuperudude,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
It is great to read that despite the inconveniences you experienced during your stay you did appreciate the breakfast, room and location.
Should you experience any inconveniences which are not solved to your satisfaction please call the Manager on Duty. He or she can assist you right away with for example the air conditiong and call the technical department. Your comments regarding the internet on the lobby computers and the prices of the minibar will be shared with the proper departments
Also you comments regarding our front desk team will be shared with the Front Desk manager as this is not the standard we aim at and also something which we are not used from the team.
We hope you can give the hotel a chance again in the future so you can experience a proper service up to our standards.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for one night, as the final stay for the Big Win challenge (30k points, cha-ching!).

Though the name suggests the hotel is on the airport, it is in fact in Hoofddorp, a small town about 5 tot 10 minutes by train from the airport terminals.

The lobby looked nice, and we were checked into a room on the top floor efficiently. The room looked somewhat old, but it was large, clean and well maintained, with a large desk and a sitting area. The windows were perfectly soundproof, we didn't hear a single plane despite the proximity to the airport. The bathroom was large, clean, and had a nice bathtub to relax in. Staff was very helpful, when my girlfriend kicked over a bottle of red wine, a maid came to the room in minutes, and changed all the sheets inmediately. The TV in the room was a large flatscreen TV, but had terrible reception, making it almost impossible to watch.

We used the pool for a while, which was nice to relax for a bit. The gym, attached to the pool area, was very small and only had a few pieces of equipment, but looked nice.

Overall, this was a nice place, but if I had to stay close to the airport I would probably pick a hotel closer to the terminals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 83Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear 83Bart,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the facilities we offer. Your compliments regarding our hotel team will definately be shared.
The hotel also offers an airport shuttle which picks you up at the airport terminal and takes you to the hotel in about 7 minutes. The shuttle can also be used to travel back to the airport.
Your comment regarding the tv will be looked into by our technical department.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel between the 5th-7th July for 2 nights. There is a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel which is handy. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff who were very welcoming. The rooms were lovely, bright and clean and the beds are very comfortable and also the bathroom was great to as I can be fussy when it comes to bathrooms. I think the hotel should expand on the spa area as there is a small pool and a hot tub available. The pool seems more suitable for children rather than adults. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and received gret service particular from Wouters at the front desk and the waiter who served us at dinner. There are only a few improvements I think the hotel should make, such as a more variety on the menu and dish descriptions and also a sauna to be added to the fitness facilities area.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenitaP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear RenitaP89,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
Great to read you and your family enjoyed the services and facilites we provide.
At the moment we are making some changes to our menu and your comments regarding a possible sauna will be shared.
Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife, young son and I took the free shuttle service (every 30 minutes) from the airport 10km to this 'business' style hotel in the petting zoo Hoopdorff area. I was quite disappointed to arrive in the middle of nowhere at an old looking hotel. From there on everything got much better and I ended our brief stay very happy.

We took the 'Club Room' package, which I can highly recommend if you book well in advance. It gives you free wifi, access to a small 'lounge' with drinks and nibbles, access to a small pool and whirlpool and very good breakfast. Plus free shuttle back to the airport, which is normally chargeable for the return leg. Bookable every 30 minutes.

Service was excellent throughout our stay.

Arriving on a Monday is a bit of a disaster as the town nearby basically shuts down on a Monday but we still had a good time - see below.

10 minutes walk from the hotel we found a free kids petting zoo "De Boerenzwaluw in Hoofddorp" - towards the Hoofddorp town centre. It's excellent. Small but a perfect stop off if you have small children. Walk along the main road towards town, see a lake with a fountain on your left and it's just behind that. There's a good cafe by the lake too for coffee/meals - and it was open on Monday - but we'd already eaten, so didn't stop - but it looked good. There is a nice wooded walking track near this location too.

Room Tip: I thoroughly recommend the hotel's Club Room package for reasons stated in my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear YokohamaGeezer,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
Great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol. First impressions do not say everything and it is great to read that you enjoyed the Club Lounge package and the services and facilities we provide.
It is correct that in the Netherlands most shops are closed on Monday morning and open later on the day. Fortunately you discovered the petting zoo for your entertainment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Crown Plaza after we completed a three week cruise on Holland America that terminated in Ijmuiden - flight home was the next day. Since we have spent quite a bit of time in Amsterdam in the last several years, we decided to stay near the airport. We arrived about 10:00 AM and were surprised to find our room ready for us. The room is good sized with reasonable storage areas and pleasant decorations - the bath was somewhat small in size but not crowded, with a combination tub/shower with a good shower head.

We relaxed and then went downstairs for lunch at the their restaurant - I enjoyed the club sandwich (very tasty with better balance of tastes that most clubs - bacon did not dominate) and my wife had the grilled cod. She like the fish and the portion size was quite large - especially for lunch. We also shared a bottle of a Chilean Sauvignon Blanc which was well balanced but not overly fruity - the wine list is quite limited, as would be expected in this local.

The beds were quite comfortable if, perhaps, a little too cushioned for our choice. The room was quiet - even though a train runs quite regularly just behind the hotel - and the drapes did their job of keeping the light out. The bellman showed up at 7:00 AM as we arranged the day before and we took the 7:15 AM shuttle (7.50 euro per person) for the five minute ride to the airport. All and all, a pleasant experience with the staff at the front desk, the restaurant and the bellman.

Confirmation number 64811681

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schusc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear schusc66,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
Great to read you enjoyed the restaurant, spacious room and the services provided by our hotel team during your stay.
Your comments will be shared with the hotel team and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Was there for business July 7, 2014 and stayed three nights. The location is excellent for airport access with a convenient shuttle. The room was clean, the common areas are well kept and the staff is excellent. They are helpful, cheeful and responsive.

Two negatives that are small and in no way stop me from recommending this hotel. First, the breakfast buffet food quality isn't up to par compared to the price. It's not terrible, it's just not a solid value. Second, they charge 5.50 euros for a small bottle of still water in the room. I understand I'll pay more in the room, but nearly 7.50 USD for a small bottle of water I can get for ONE USD? C'mon, that's just an unnecessary price gouge. To be fair, you get a free bottle of sparkling water each day, but I drink still.

As I said, this doesn't detract from me recommending this hotel. It's not cheap, but it's convenient, it's safe, it's clean and the staff is awesome. Oh and it's only 10 minutes walk to the train station. Stay here! Just bring your own water.

Confirmation number: 66985816

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Matthew H,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.
It is great to read you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and the service of our hotel team.
I do apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. During a next stay please let our Front Office or Manager on Duty know you would like still water in your room and we will switch the bottles. Your comments regarding the breakfast will be shared with our F&B manager.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Amazing hotel, all staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating. As we arrived too early for check in, staff kindly offered to safely hold onto our luggage so we could explore Amsterdam. Once we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by our room, good sized beds, lots of cushions made our stay feel homely. Couldn't fault the room, bed was like sleeping on a marsh mellow! Great shower! Breakfast outstanding, great choice of breakfast. Big thanks to hotel staff who we felt went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant, we'll be back :)
Vanessa & Hannah

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast! 3rd Floor rooms perfect for a sound nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Vanessa L,
Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed our hotel and especially our hotel team. We do believe that our hotel team makes a difference and we take pride in this.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Maurice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.1 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol

Address: Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via an airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant Aviator Cafe. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available free of charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing