We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent prices, nice rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very clean but with few transacting customers. Bar and food overly expensive. Not the best choice if you're strictly visting Amsterdam. Free shuttle to airport is great, that's the easiest way to reach the main city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Xavier,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with Tripadvisor.
The Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam airport hotel has service as highest priority to every guest,
It is good to read that our service provided was satisfying,

Thank you again for rating our hotel Xavier.

With kind regards,

Jordy Smit
Front office manager
Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam airport hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel building itself is in line with most Marriott Courtyard hotels, that's where the comparison stops though. The airport shuttle is not complimentary, and is by appointment rather than regular intervals, despite this being called an Airport Hotel. Breakfast is not included in room rate as standard, although most Courtyard's include breakfast as standard, and high speed internet is extra, so you just get "slow" internet as standard. The restaurants advertised as being next door are not open on Monday and Tuesday evenings, so you are stuck with the hotel bistro in the bar as the hotel is quite remote. Although I am a Marriott regular I would not use this particular Marriott again, rather, I would choose one of the airport hotels that are nearer to the airport and have a courtesy shuttle so that I could at least get to the airport for a choice of restaurants etc. in the evening, and access the train station to get in to the city. My room also smelt musky, as though at some time in the past the hotel had allowed smoking in the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mr. Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with other Tripadvisor users.
For us as Courtyard hotel we are delighted to see when any guest shares their stay with us.

With regards to your comments given I would like to take the opportunity to react.
Our shuttle service is not free of charge indeed, the shuttle is driving on a frequent time schedule which may be found on the Marriott website.
Our hotel has a lot of options for the breakfast included, therefore I would like to advise you to look on the Marriott website were several promotion will be ongoing, which will include the breakfast.
Our hotel has chosen to offer free wireless internet towards every guest, this speed is fast enough to pull up any e-mail or to sent out any e-mail, in case you would like to watch movies online ( via youtube, netflix ) then we suggest to use the paid service.
For our valued elite members of the marriott rewards program ( gold & platinum members ) we offer free high speed internet.
Did you know that our shuttle busses offers free wireless internet as well ?
With regards to the dinner facilities the hotel offers a lot of choices, next door at the Claus Event center we have two restaurants, at least one of them will be open from wednesday on, inside the park we have the Papa's beachhouse which will be open during good weather.
Our own bistro will be open from monday till thursday, in any case there is always a possibility for a guest to eat a three course dinner.

I am sorry to read that you room has a musky smell, I would like to adress my sincere apologies for this inconvenience, I have informed our housekeeping manager about this issue, we are going to double check every room to make sure there is a fresh healthy parfume in the room !

Once again Mr. Paul, thank you very much for sharing your stay.

With kind regards,

Jordy Smit
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I highly recommend this property, the staff could not be more helpful, from the moment we showed up. We arrived too early to check in, they discounted breakfast for us while we waited for our room which they rushed for us. Our daughter got sick while we were on holiday. The staff couldn't be more helpful, allowing us to take food from the buffet to our room, giving us water and cola. Thank you.
The room was huge for european standards, 3 people were very comfortable.
The property is a short ride to the airport, they offer a shuttle, where you can get the train to city central.
If you want to stay in the heart of the city you will pay, and not get as spacious a room, it is your choice, for us this worked, the price is right and with a little planning you have no problems getting into the city.

Room Tip: Try the restaurants close to the hotel, they are within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Arj826,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive stay with Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that the service provided was from a standard that I may expect from my team.

I hope you daughter is feeling better now ? it is good to see that the staff did their utmost to make sure your daughter would get better as soon as possible so she could enjoy their stay as well.

We are delighted that you had chosen our hotel for your stay and are looking forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Jordy Smit
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As far as Courtyards go, this one is standard, no surprises (which is great when traveling internationally). Hotel is extremely close to the airport and offered a free shuttle. There is also a bus stop immediately across the street from the hotel which allows you to go into Amsterdam (City Center) or other suburbs for a reasonable cost.

Highlight of this place was the bathroom, it had a large oversize tub and a separate shower, totally unexpected and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Professor,

Thank you very much for staying at the Courtyard!

Thank you for being our guest and we are very happy that you feel at home with us. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back with us for yet another visit.

Many thanks also on behalf of the team here at Courtyard.

Warm regards,

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a nice property with huge parks and play area for children around the main building. The main pro of this hotel is its vicinity to the highway connecting the airport and Harlem. Although it might not be a choice for someone who wants to soak in the colorful Amsterdam, it is sure to give you some laid-back time away from the hullabaloo of the city. The rooms are cozy and have nice views from the big glass windows. There are two in-house restaurants. There is also a bar, which stocks short-eats 24-hours a day. The lobby also has internet over WiFi, though the hotel management was planning to provide free WiFi in the rooms as well. The health spa has sauna room (separate for males and females) and a decently equipped gymnasium.
Overall, a nice option if you pick it up in a deal/book ahead in time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheely_Heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Mr. Wheely,

Thank you very much for staying at the Courtyard!

Thank you for being our guest and we are very happy that you feel at home with us. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back with us for yet another visit.

Many thanks also on behalf of the team here at Courtyard.

Warm regards,

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here prior to flying home. It was conveniently located from the airport, extremely clean, the staff nice and the hotel restaurant welcoming with good food. Its a great hotel to stay before leaving out of the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for the review that you have left on the tripadvisor page.

Every day we work hard to make the stay of our guests memorable and we take great pride in it if we succeed. I will pass on the information to my colleagues so we can maintain the service level and standards oft the rooms as they are at the moment.

It is our pleasure to hopefully welcome you in our hotel again.

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We chose this hotel after a month's stay in Europe in order to be close for our next morning's flight to the US. We arrived from Rome to find out that it would cost 40 euro for a taxi to the "Airport Marriott" (a 15 min. ride) which we angrily accepted because we could not find the shuttle. We checked in at the desk where the young gal immediately said "you will be excluded from wifi and breakfast". My husband, a Marriott Premier Elite Member" asked to talk to the front desk manager. Benjamin (the mgr.) proceeded to be arrogant and argumentative (a real jerk) but after my angry outburst agreed to give us wifi and breakfast. The hotel sits in the middle of nowhere and no choice for eating. Mid week there is some bowling alley food. The bowling ally and 2 other restaurants (weren't open) are owned by the same guys as the hotel. Rick and Leo Claus. We had spent a month in Marriott's all over Europe, had great service and stays until the "airport courtyard"! Other than having poorly trained employees and being falsely labeled, the courtyard had the typical comforts of those in the US. We would never stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Mr Jeri,

First of all, I would like to thanks you for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. It is unfortunate to hear that the experience you have had during your stay did not meet your expectations. We always strive to offer the best possible service.

Courtyard does not offer all the amenities you are used to at our full service brands like Marriott.
Therefore we can offer you very competitive rates.

You do get free internet as a Platinum Elite member and we try to give you a free upgrade as well when available. The shuttle is free for Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite members.

The shuttle service we provide is currently every 30 minute sin the morning and evening, in the afternoon once per hour. An alternative option is the public transport from the airport bus 300 leaving every 8 minutes to and from the airport taking 15 minutes to arrive like our hotel shuttle and stops just opposite of our hotel. The latest hotel shuttle timetable can always be found on our website: www.claus.nl

In the weekends we opened 3 other restaurants on our property, Italian restaurant Lago, Store House Grill and Papa's Beach House. Those restaurants are 250 meter from our lobby and beach house is 10 minutes walk through the park near the beautiful lake. Further more we have our selected bar menu open until 01:00 pm and our crab and go service is 24 hours available.

Once again thank you for sharing your stay and we are still looking forward to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,

Martijn Beekhuis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.3 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport

Address: Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range: £102 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, 4-star Amsterdam airport hotel located in Hoofddorp, Netherlands, you would never imagine you are just 12 minutes from the airport. Set within a serene park near a beautiful lake, we are in good reach of Amsterdam and Haarlem. Our hotel offers first-class spacious rooms that include luxury bedding and free Internet access. After a busy day, take a walk in the park and catch up with friends and colleagues in our onsite restaurant or bar. Next door you will enjoy a game of bowling at Claus Bowling or you can place your bets at the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Courtyard Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Courtyard Hotel Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing