We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel with part of a tour package. The room was decent and beds were relatively comfortable. The best part of this hotel was the breakfast buffet. Very complete by US standards. Also free wifi in the lobby was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitey1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    628
    329
    131
    75
See reviews for
200
352
134
725
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My flight got cancelled in Amsterdam so the airline booked me in for one night at this hotel. When I arrived they first started arguing with me that I had not booked a hotel room. Of course I said, the travel agency had done it (and I had handed over all the info. and contact person and tfn no to the airline and the voucher). I took them 30 min to understand and fix things. I wonder being one of the airport hotels, should they not be more used to this? Anyway, after this they handed me some vouchers that a could use in the restaurant, but they also said that they restaurant was now closed. So why they the hell did they give me the vouchers? To patronize me? Finally I got the room which was okay.

My flight was in the morning but their shuttle did not start until later on. So I had to book my own taxi to get to the airport. Finally their breakfast started later as well. And they could not fix me anything to take with me either. So no dinner in the evening and no breakfast in the morning.

My advise, do not go here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cxahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Staff at the front desk was okay. Sauna and steam room is not working well...there is a sign by the pool area that they have googles at the front desk for the tanning booth. Well, they do not. Lights at the pool and the gym area turn off automatically 15 minutes before the posted closing time. Staff showed up later and apologized. In a 4 star hotel they should arrive earlier to warn guests of the annoying inconvenience. Room service is good, and they bring you big portions. Rooms are very small, have a funny smell, and are not really clean. Bathroom fixture was rusty and the carpet was not cleaned properly. Mini bar is empty. The janitors came into the room despite of the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. Some random guy showed up and woke us up to give us a laundry bag. I thought that was pretty weird and unprofessional. You have to pay for the shuttle to the airport...Overall, this hotel should be downgraded to 3 star, or less! Who is managing this place?

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed just one night at the NH Schiphol Airport.

Positives:

- The hotel is quite close to the airport.
- The shuttle bus service was efficient. The shuttles ran every half hour and were ontime. It did not take long to get between the airport and the hotel.
- The room was very large... particularly by European standards.
- The room was clean and quiet.
- McDonald's is a stone's throw away (well maybe that is a negative? ;-))

Negatives:

- The room was dated and really is in need of updating. The room was clean but didn't seem as clean as it could be because everything - the furnishings, the carpet, the bathroom, etc. looked "old" and somewhat warn. The lobby was inviting and "fresh" looking though.
- The shuttle from the airport to the hotel is free, but the return trip costs 5 euros. I smiled brightly in an attempt to get a free return voucher (I saw them behind the checkin desk) but to no avail, which was disappointing.
- There is not much in the surrounding area, i.e. restaurants, shops etc., that caters to travelers. It is a business area.

Overall the hotel is decent and clean, albeit dated. It was not particularly inconvenient to take the shuttle from the hotel to the airport and then take a train into Amsterdam from the airport though. I was able to get a decent room rate, around 120$ US, including taxes, using Priceline. You might be able to do a bit better, but I really don't feel like I overpaid. The service was okay... not particularly memorable one way or the other. I got a good night's sleep in a clean room, so I was satisfied, if not thrilled with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPMNashua_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I felt nickeled and dimed.. Internet is not free. Shuttle to airport is not free. Our suite, was nothing more than a normal American sized Hampton Inn room.. The bathroom was nice as it had a larger tub and shower.

Staff was OK.. some were very friendly, others a bit surly. Not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeinieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The front desk is very slow at check-in. The hotel seems old and very worn down. The beds feels old and are on wheels(!), so a double bed becomes two single beds in no time, which is very annoying. Duvets are really thin. The minibar is cold...but completely empty! No amenities at all in the bathroom - not even shampoo. The TV is an old Nokia 4:3 format tube screen, poor signal. Remote is not working properly. Over-priced internet in the room, difficult free internet in the lobby (you have to collect a login code and password from the front desk). When returning to the hotel in the evening, none of our two key cards worked, and it took ages for the front desk to code just one card again.
This was maybe a 4 star hotel when it opened a couple of decades ago - but it seems that nothing has been done to it since, so today this is barely a 2 star hotel.
Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Save your money and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderssonmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel had exceptionally bad service, both in their front desk and their food. The building is old and tired. Like most european hotels, they charge for everything, including internet. They advertise free internet in the lobby, but it is very difficult to connect to and very slow. Many less expensive but better hotels near by.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefferyBartels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, NHHotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing