We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good airport hotel, free shuttle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good airport hotel, free shuttle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Firstly the free shuttle was a bonus as the website said there would be a charge. It only took 5 mins to get there.
Corridors look old but the rooms are big and comfy with working heating/aircon.
Breakfast was not cheap but was one of the best buffets I've seen for a long time. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was particularly good.
Dinner at the bar was average. Staff very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    613
    325
    131
    74
See reviews for
193
342
130
710
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the hague, netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

There was a big event held at the NH Schiphol Airport Hotel so we decided to spend the night there. Check in was from 2 pm so we were there on the dot in order to do some fitness and use the pool and sauna just before the party. Check in was very slow. But all worth it when we went to our room. It was nice, clean and spacious. The bed was big enough for me, my husband and my little girl. The bathroom was nice. However there isn't enough toiletries provided. We found only one shampoo and one bath/shower gel. No soap, conditioner nor lotion. That wasn't enough for the three of us! For the sports minded, there's an outdoor tennis court and indoor squash. The indoor swimming pool is small but nice and there's also a whirlpool tub. However, my daughter and some other guests had to wait for 1 hour because when we went there, there was a swimming lesson for toddlers taking place. We should have been warned at check in. Fitness was okay but the place is small so I can't imagine staying for more than half an hour on a very busy day. One thing I find nice in this hotel is that on the hallway, there are coin-operated massage chairs for 2 euros for 10 minutes and they are really good. I spent 30 minutes on the chair and felt like I've been massaged by a pro. This hotel is really good for relaxing and passing the time in between flights. You come out of it revived and re-energized for your next flight. The breakfast is also good. Nothing very special on the menu but a hearty one. The restaurant also serves good food and snacks at reasonable prices. Will definitely come back here even for another overnight of relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed one night at this Hotel during one of my business trip. I paid just 110 Euro for this Hotel, which I think is quite good. Room are large and very confortable, bathroom separate and also quite big. Sleeping quality is excellent, notwistanding we are close to the Airport. In the reception area, you can find two Restaurant, one with menu with a no large offer, but what I tried was of good quality, and the second that offer a large buffet at fixe price. Breakfats it is definitely good, with a large selection of everything, and all food I found was of excellent quality. At the front desk ladies are quickly and very efficient, and the are at your disposal for any your request. The parking is just on the back of the hotel, with another back entrance confortable if you arrive with the car. I found this Hotel good for business, it is quite far away to the Center of Amsterdam, but if you have the car it is ok. I should recommend to update the services of the hotel with a free internet connection, which is today very easy to find also in a hotel of much cheaper level than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IK1TTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

NH Schiphol is a quite nice hotel but despite the shuttle bus it feels that it is in the middle of no-ware.
You can’t walk, take a train and a taxi will cost you a fortune. So, rely on the Shuttle bus. This is not ideal if you are on a business trip and want to get to the hotel fast.
A major drawback!!

Once at the hotel you will find some nice things.
- Meet the guys in the bar! Very nice bar with a very refreshingly cold Heineken. A quick bar meal is not bad at all
- The restaurant had a buffet dinner with EVEYTHING. Please be hungry when you go there. Good quality.
- Rooms clearly above average
- Room service excellent with nice food

On the not so good side is the LOCATION. One day I took a 45 € taxi just to get there.
Breakfast at average and reception not passionate to deliver service.

A very clean and fresh modern hotel but make sure you are not in a hurry to get there

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedentravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The lobby is welcoming, the staff smile in spades and it stinks. From now on in I no longer know this hotel as the NH Schiphol but the NH S***hole.
There were obviously problems with the drains the evening I arrived. On check-in there was no mention of it as I choked to give my name to the lady behind the desk. But I was just passing through, staying for one night only, as I would guess most people do at airport hotels. So, the smell didn't seem to matter. Afterall, they would probably never see me again. How true that is. I was given a non-smoking room, 4221. Make sure you ask them not to give you the same room. It stank too. This time of stale cigarette smoke. It wasn't the guy who stayed there the night before me or even the night before him. No, this smell was one of those that had been hanging around for years. The mattress stank too and I couldn't stop itching. I itched from head to toe. Even my inner ears itched. It drove me to despair. I didn't sleep all night. Before going to bed, I ate in the restaurant. If you decide to then make sure you get there early for two reasons. First, it's a buffet. All you can eat for 34.50 euros. Second, the a la carte stops after a certain time so if the buffet's not your gig then there's not much else available. That said, there's a McDonald's across the road if that floats your boat. The bar's not bad. There's a good selection of beers and the staff are jolly. My advise is to eat there too. If you're early enough to order off the a la carte have the steak with gnocci. Excellent! There are two other gotcha's with this hotel. The one that really got my goat was the WiFi scam. Top tip: ask for a login to the wireless network when you check in. You'll be handed a slip of paper with a username and password that allows yoy access to the lobby network free of charge. The catch is that this logon will also work from your room. Now if you don't know this then you'll probably do as I did on my first visit and sign up to the network from your room which will cost you almost 9 euros per 24hrs. The second thing you need to be aware of is not necessarily directly connected to the hotel but more to do with gettng there from Amsterdam airport. On my first visit a few weeks ago, I jumped in a cab as one does. When I told the driver where I was going he went crazy. He shouted that he had waited for three hours to get to the rank and that the hotel was a five minute ride away. As we passed the stand for the hotel shuttles, he furiously wagged a finger and screamed "FREE!!!". You get the picture. So, on my most recent visit, I took the shuttle bus for the hotel but had to wait 20 minutes before it arrived. If you're in a hurry, take a cab, plug in you phones and crank up the volume. Next time I'm staying at the Seven Bridges in town.


  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goneilluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I have spent 3 nights at NH Schiphol Airport.

The hotel provides an efficient shuttle service and the lobby is well maintained.

Restaurant and bar are well maintained and the personnel cordial and helpful .

Rooms in my opinion are a bit basic.

Breakfast ok and one of the first time in my life I found a 4 mins boiled egg as it should be (not rock hard...).

Only disappointing element was the wireless, defined as free in the 'lobbyl'' but not so in the rooms and the daily cost was abt 9 Eur, i.e. far too high compared to the cost the hotel bears for that service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dado_63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Free shuttle bus jets you away to this business airport hotel in minutes. The hotel lobby was nice and we were provided with a king room. Bathroom was spotless and the tub was gorgeous. One oddity, which is prevalent in Europe, was the lack of spacing between the toilet and glass shower door. Being a short 5"2 female, my knees were right against this door. Towels were large and fluffy, bed very comfortable, and the pillows were new and plentiful. Old CRT tv but it was functional. Very spacious room (for European standards). We only stayed one night to catch an early morning flight. A McDonald's is conveniently directed across from this property and was a godsend. Just needed a quick meal before our flight. Did not use the hotel amenities but there appeared to be free wifi in the lobby, nice lounge area, indoor swimming pool and gym, and pay park. Staff were professional. Would stay here again but only to be near the airport. Not convenient for those needing to actually visit Amsterdam central.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing