We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They bailed me out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“They bailed me out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Arrived to check in at 11 at night and realised a slight problem.. I hadn't booked a room. At that time of night, they could have simply said "rack rate" but they didn't, which I really appreciated.
Rooms are spacious but slightly basic, the air con isn't great, but the staff are incredibly friendly.
The shuttle back to the airport is now free. Not at all bad.
Breakfast pricey and hot food limited, although they will do you an omelette if you ask.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    613
    325
    131
    74
See reviews for
193
342
130
710
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ginevra
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Very kind and punctual service, from the breakfast in the room to the reception, however just average room as quite old, thankfully big, with heating not working mid October. I called and got instructions, however it still did not heat no matter which program I would use, at 10 pm I did not want to get people in the room to check it so I just accepted it.
Breakfast and dinner a bit pricey for a 3star hotel but very good quality.
10 mins drive from the airport with free shuttle, far from the center if you go for visiting, ok to transit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia_battocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was expecting a typical airport hotel and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room- not a 5 star but definitely a high 4. My room was spacious with tasteful decor, a large tub with lots of hot water, huge towels and decent citrus based toiletries. It was certainly extremely clean and the staff I had interactions with were all courteous and professional.
The wireless internet was strong, fast and reliable and I only heard one plane in the 24 hours I was there and it was not loud.
I did ask for the new building as I had read about differing experiences so perhaps the more disappointed reviewers were put elsewhere.
The wireless is free and I am also pleased to report the airport shuttle return fee has been revised and both ways are now FREE. There is also now a reservation system in place for the shuttle so you must book ahead for the return but this insures there is no longer any pushing and shoving for a seat and no one gets left behind.
Also a good tip - when waiting at the airport for the shuttle to the hotel, if the Best Western/Bastion shuttle bus comes first you can hop on that, as I did and it will take you a stones throw from the NH Schiphol next door, which will enable you to be the only person at the check in counter.
The only down side for me was the breakfast service - they only have 2 options - a 21euro set price or a 25 euro room service meal. They ask you at check in your preference and I opted out as there is fresh coffee (free) in the lobby all morning as well as instant in the room and decent restaurants at the airport serving breakfast. I had some fruit and nuts with me until I got back to the airport but there is also a McDonalds across the street. Hopefully in the future, if there are enough requests, they will start an a la carte breakfast menu in the hotel restaurant.
Otherwise it was all good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building. Also the airport shuttle is now free both ways. Have free coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepercoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmsund
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a typical airport hotel. Though the rooms are rather old-fashioned and quite poorly cleaned, especially the bathroom (at least in my case).

We arrived late and just in time to have the buffet in the restaurant before it closed. The food was ok, but considering the price not worth it.

Check in was done fast and I received a code for the wifi without having to ask for it.

Since we had an early flight from AMS the next morning I went early for breakfast. What to say about the breakfast? Nothing really, just another plain hotel breakfast without any special treats.

Checking out was also fast and without any hick-ups.

We intended to take the airport shuttle bus to Schiphol. However the first and second one were filled up with groups of tourists, and by that time we actually realized that we were going to be late if we had to wait for yet another shuttle, hence had to take the first available taxi instead. So the shuttle bus arrangements did not turn to be a big success.

The best thing about this hotel is that the room I got had a really nice and comfortable bed, apart from that not much positive to say

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a modern, nice designed, very convenient located hotel.

It is a 4 story hotel with big, modern king size beds rooms. Well equipped (coffe maker, safe box, hair drier hot tub, etc).

It has an ample lobby and huge revolving door.

I had to recognised that I got a very cheep rate over a booking site, BUT even that I think that 22 euros for a breakfast is at least a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Less than a hundred meters there is a Mac Donalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Visited in the week. Unfortunately there was a hotel wide problem and no hot water for the bathrooms in the morning. So ended up having a cold shower and boiled kettle water for shaving. Second day the problem was resolved. I like this hotel overall but based on price and what happened don't feel inclined to stay again. Hotel offered a free drink the bar because of the water issue which I thought was marginal gesture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

What a horrible hotel.

The service at reception is rude and unhelpful.

The rooms are ancient, they are well worn with horrible bedspreads and chipped furniture.

The restuarnat is over priced with a €35 buffet that has brown lettuce and only two main course choices of fish or chicken. At breakfast I had to go through 6 breakfast bowls before I found a clean one and that was on the day that there was bowls, the previous day I ate my yoghurt and granola off a plate.

When I complained about my room I was told that I would have to pay to upgrade to a better room despite my company being loyal customers of the hotel for many years. I waited until the end of the day to ask again about an upgrade and got a free upgraded room which was newly decorated and like staying in a different hotel in comparison to the earlier room. While the upgraded room was nice, it seemed strange that the hotel had gone to great lengths to redecorate the top floor and improve the overall appearence of that floor yet they had only put in a small 20" television and a dreadful low pressure shower.

There is a good shuttle service to and from the airport but it is a very small bus which resulted in people not getting a seat many times.

I think I would choose another hotel if I have to revist this area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnwln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing