We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

When I arrived (at midnight) I first figured the hotel would be at the airport, or at least in Schipol. It's not even in Schipol village. It's NOT an airport hotel. Watching the shuttle bus to the 2 star(?) Ibis leave I wished I'd booked that hotel instead. Instead it took me 30min to try, together with the taxi drivers, to figure out where the hotel actually was. 45min and 20 euro later, I arrived to find a rude employee, who did not buzz the taxi in in the middle of the rain, then let me wait at the door a few min, checked me in with the promise of wifi -This is 4 star standard but just as the stay the nights before in Paris, on my floor there was NO wifi. I arrived at my room (corridor stinking of ciggarettes) to find 1) no wifi 2) weird alarm clock which I needed help with to set as I didnt really trust there would be a wake up call, had forgotten my cell phone charger and the hotel didnt have a nokia charger. So I decided to call the guy downstairs... It wasn't possible to make a call, any call! Not even emergency calls (this is a security breach) so I went downstairs to enquire about the alarm clock (he offered a wake up call, I'd just been downstairs arranging the wake up call 10 min before but he'd forgotten that, so obviously I didnt trust the wake up call) and the info there was wifi on my floor, and that he'd unblock the phone. "We block it because people make expensive calls but I'll make an exception for you" I went back up - no help on the alarm clock, no unblocking of the phone, 20min later went back down again to ask the phone to be unblocked and again enquire about wifi "oh sorry no signal on floor 3" and help with the alarm clock. I finally convinced another guy to help me out with the alarm clock, the phone remained blocked throughout the stay, no outward calls whatsoever possible, not even emergency or lobby... shuttle service delayed. Unfriendly staff. How did this place get 4 stars?...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    344
    294
    148
    106
See reviews for
142
258
134
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The staff all spoke english which helped with the check in and there was a free shuttle bus to the aiport and back (Major transport links) I travelled for an event and thought that It would be great to stop close to all transport links. Only about a 20 minute journey fromt he airport to Amsterdam Central station which is great and 5 mins away from the airport so it was a good location.

Saying that the bar was too over priced and breakfast went a miss just couldn't be bothered with it as it was too early. Its a reccomended hotel for business or a day or two but I wouldn't reccomend it for longer.

Sleep was great despite the multiple airplanes taking off from about a mile away and flying straught over the hotel I slept like a baby, beds were very comfortable and had feather pillows even thoguh i have asthma i dealt with it.

The reception was a tad slow and every time we wanted to talk to them there was a queue so we didn't ask for any help at all as I coudnt be bothered to wait for about 30 minutes.
The gym and pool facilities looked great but we didn't use them.

I stayed at this hotel from 7th July until 10th July in a twin room with my friend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel price is reasonable and the rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. You'll get a good night's sleep.

Problem is getting there: can be long wait for hotel shuttle ride. Taxi expensive. Although the shuttle comes regularly (15 to 35 min), the line for the shuttle can exceed its capacity. Imagine tired travelers ambling up to the area and in a disorganized way pouring into the next shuttle that arrives. The crowd can cause potential passengers to be inadvertently pushed to the back and left to wait for another shuttle where the same thing happens again.

Fortunately there are nough kind people in the world to eventually let people worn out from waiting to load in front of the. Total wait was over an hour for us. We saw someone else who had waited closer to 1 1/2 hrs. Admittedly we arrived around 9pm. During the day the run two shuttles: a small bus and a full-sized van.

If you have time, patience and a tight budget, this hotel will work for an overnight near the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eacoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The attitude of the staff is unbearable, they hate you from the minute you arrive. You are treated as if you have disturbed and completely disrupted their day.
there are far better hotels in the area.

I will never stay in a nest western again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sam2439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Nice rooms with big bathroom. There is nice small wellness area with nice gym room (all needed equipment - running, rowing, stair climbing), sauna and small pool.
People at reception were flexible and fast. Bar is nice with good service.

Breakfast is a bit expensive but has good food selection. Would recommend if you need to stay for day or so near Amsterdam, and do not intend to go for night life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guest,

Tthank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

nice hotel, we were twice in the bar, had to wait for more than 15 minutes for a drink, then we left, we didn't get any drinks, the rooms were beautiful, we paid for a room with a bath, but it was only with a shower, also the shuttle wasn't on time, we called the hotel and we didn't get a very friendly aswer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank christof a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij tracht altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,

Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Our company makes routine reservations in this hotel. So, I stayed there many times. Nevertheless, it seems there is no improvement except some disappointments...
Where is polite personnel on reception? I understand it can be busy. So, complain to your management in order to supply you with assistants. Don't relieve your anger or whatever it is on clients! That what I experienced recently.
In addition, restaurant dishes lost their great quality as it was before. It's still good. But it was better.
Rooms need some refreshment repairs as well.
I would say, renovation jobs are required.
If you don't do anything about it, you will lose some permanent clients.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisSF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Amedia Amsterdam Airport
6.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Property: Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing