We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport for one night to catch an early flight. While we weren't expecting a 5 star experience, we certainly expected a non-smoking room. Especially since the hotel boasts of being a non-smoking property. However, when we entered our room, we were shocked by the strong smell of smoke. It was in the carpet, drapes, and bed. We immediately called the front desk expecting we would be offered a new room. No such luck. The employee showed up at the door with a can of air freshener. Needless to say we ended up smelling smoke and Summer Breeze. Furthermore, the service was unprofessional. We would not stay there again. Wish we had stayed at the Sheraton instead. More expensive but a better experience.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobo75007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

We have received your review regarding the Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the service of the staff was not what it should be. We acknowledge that a good service from the staff contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel. The staff should have offered you another room where you could enjoy the room which you had expected.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

There are times when you can hear the airplane when you are in the room but that did not bother me too much. I got a good deal, only paid about 30+GBP for a big room for one, not inclusive of breakfast. Their receptionist was extremely friendly but the free bus shuttle driver was not very helpful. I had 4 large luggages (as I was transitting) but he did not help at all.
Thre is a McDonalds opposite the hotel which was fantastic!
Overall a rather good place to stay if you are in transit!

Room Tip: Perhaps try and get one that does not face McDonalds but to me I reckon it will all be the same sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisanyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!
Thank you very much for that.

We also would like to apologize for the fact that the busdriver wasn't helpfull and friendly. We value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Unfortunately I arrived late in Amsterdam and did not have enough time to enjoy the city. So Best Western is a good and cheap option for a transit stop. It is very reasonably priced and it offers free shuttle service to and from the airport. I would rate this hotel as a two star .. three would be a stretch. It is dark with long hallways and heavy doors. The small and simple furnished rooms have too many numbers so make sure you are on the right floor. It is clean and good enough to get a few hours of sleep until your next flight. The food is below average and the only other option is McDonald's which is right outside the hotel. So eat at Schiphol before boarding the shuttle. The staff is very helpful. I am not certain if wi-fi works in the room but there is free wi-fi in the lobby. The bottom line is you get what you pay for at this Best Western ...an inexpensive place to sleep/stay. Do not expect more.

Room Tip: A room not too far from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredOH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have slept at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel and you have rated it as sufficient. Maybe our new hotel Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport hotel suits you better?

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is one of several managed by the Bastion group and is about 10 minutes away from the airport. We used it as an over night transit hotel and experienced 2 problems:

1. The hotel shuttle was EXTREMELY unreliable and disorganized. This was merely an inconvenience getting to the hotel upon our arrival at Schiphol. However it became a critical issue the next morning. We had an early flight and the shuttle was not running as advertised. We wanted to leave at 6:30 but it was not until well after 7:15 that the bus started moving. Rather a large crowd of guests were gathering in the cold and dark outside the hotel by this time. We were given no help or information and felt abandoned by the staff who could clearly see there was a problem. The hotel staff were completely unhelpful and dismissive when asked for updates. We arrived at the airport about 1 hour late, not a great start to our journey.

2.The hotel staff was unhelpful and at times rude. From arrival to check out they made this an unpleasant experience.

The rooms were clean but based on these experiences I will choose another property the next time I overnight at this airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the service of the staff was not what it should be. We acknowledge that a good service from the staff contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.
Our shuttleservice normally starts driving at 06.00 A.M., we are truly sorry for the fact that the shuttleservice started at 07.15 A.M.. We are investigating why this bus didn't drive till this time and we will assure you that we take appropriate actions to improve this.

As an appreciation to your review and to show we are really sorry, we want to offer you a voucher for free breakfast the next time you will sleep in one of our hotels. If you'll send an e-mail to e-commerce@bastionhotelgroep.nl to the attention of Jeanine with your address and e-mailaddress, then we will send you this vouchers as soon as possible.

We are looking forward to your e-mail.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The room was clean. The restaurant was understaffed and over priced. We were charged too much tourist tax and not given any receipts. It should be 5% of your bill. They also tried to charge us for breakfast that we didn't have. Overall ok for short stay. Airport shuttle was good, and took only 35 minutes to get to central station via airport. The pool was too cold to swim in but the steam room was ok. If you get a cheap deal you can probably live with the negatives of this hotel.

Thank Gavin246
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just returned from only a one night stay in the hotel. Was a little worried after some of the reviews on here but I can categorically say I did not experience any of them at all. We were allowed to check in to our room earlier at 11am. Our room was nice and clean, freshly laundered, tea and coffee facilities, shampoo and shower gel, large flat screen tv (limited channels) , free wifi, safe . Nice view of the run way and honestly the noise of the planes can be heard but it is not at all loud and if you are staying at a airport hotel what do you expect. We used the shuttle bus which was on time every 30 mins and we was door to door to city in 30 mins flat.

Great value hotel, very accommodating and helpful staff, nice new rooms and not dated - how can one complain for the very low price - deserves its 4* - mcdonalds pool and a gym as well , bonus for me !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mad_ed_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

You have experienced the hospitality of this Best Western Hotel and we are very glad to hear that your stay was better then you expected.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is about 10 min by shuttle from the Schiphol Plaza, and shuttle is running every half hour. If you are aware of that, it's OK.
The hotel is just average, a little bit dark, but I didn't expect something else.
Breakfast was very good and included in in price.
Also internet is available in rooms and included in price (it's amazing that I have to mention that but other hotels (Hilton) request additional payment for internet access in the room).
The service at reception was very good.

Room Tip: Very good breakfast. Good service and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion stands for a personal atmosphere, hopitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wifi and a free shuttleservice are good examples of this.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.6 mi away
Ramada Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range: £51 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing