We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is a bargain considering how close it is to the airport. A complimentary shuttle is offered every half hour to and from the airport and the train station in the airport offers quick and frequent transport to Amsterdam Central. The hotel itself is a little dated, the rooms are not huge and furnishings are sparse (not even a luggage stand), but the beds are comfortable and again the price is right! There is no bar soap, good as even a small bar is seldom all used so very wasteful but bad as a bath/body gel just doesn't cut it for quick hand washes. We stayed at the hotel on two occasions as we were flying in and out of Amsterdam and the second time was not as good as the first. We couldn't make our door key card work. We tried both sides of the end with the big arrow and the word "insert" (of course we should have tried the other end as well) to no avail so assumed the card had not been activated. That meant waiting in the long check-in line again to find the cards had been incorrectly printed. The duvet cover on one bed was about 6 inches too short for the duvet and the switch on the headboard for one bedside lamp did not work so it meant getting in and out of bed to plug or unplug the reading lamp. We were there for a few nights and reported the lamp problem the first day, but it was not fixed while we were there. However, all minor things. We were in a front facing room for our first stay and were very aware of airplanes flying overhead. We were in a backside room the second time and did not hear any air traffic at all. Don't take the stairway. We were in a higher room and decided to do the stairs for exercise. For some reason, the doors are locked and you need a key for a room on the correct floor to get out! So we walked back up and took the elevator anyway! But staff is friendly and location is everything. We will certainly stay there again when back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Betty668988,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value your view and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Your comments are being shared with the management of the Bastion Hotel Groep and appropriate action will be taken. To better assist you on you next stay, please contact the manager on duty.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    331
    274
    130
    92
See reviews for
132
245
122
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wetherby UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spent 4 days at this hotel and i was not expecting much good from the hotel due to the poor reviews on this and other web sites. I would urge anyone reading these reviews to look at the chronology. It seems to be owned by The Bastion Ground who have another "superior" hotel next door. There has been a LOT of work put into this hotel if the previous negative comments are to be believed. It isnt the Hilton but you aint payin Hilton prices!! The shuttle were on time evey time with loads of room and pleasant drivers. The price of a ticket into Amsterdam Central on the train is 4 euros and the whole trip tekes 45 minutes to an hour. The reception staff again were very pleasant. The pool and gym looked perfectly fine a previous reviewer complained the pool wasnt very big...well it wasnt olympic size but perfectly OK for a little swim. The room was spotless and roomy and comfortable. It has everything you could want TV, AC, coffee facilities shower and bath and a very spacious bathroom. The room was serviced every day. I didnt hear a single airplane all the time i was there. Another big bonus even though the hotel has its own restaurant there is a mcDonalds within spitting distance. I spent some time at the bar and beer prices were reasonable and again the staff freindly and polite. There was a decent selection of drinks on offer. I watched the Dutch national team beat Spain in the World Cup qulaifiers and they gave me a free promotional hat and shirt in Dutch orange. Fabulous hotel loved my stay and i think some of the previous reviewers MUST have been staying at a different hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wetherbyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear wetherbyjim,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed your stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a valuable feedback.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We just returned from Amsterdam and wanted a hotel close to the airport for an early flight. This hotel is perfect. We spent 2 nights. The hotel has a shuttle to and from hotel every 30 min. Great. We used the shuttle to get from hotel to main train station. very good 14 euros R/T 24 hr. good for Bus and Train. Room and bath very good. Staff very Helpful, Breakfast very good. Good Base to and from Downtown Amsterdam 45min.?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear TGusa,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The internet was not available most of the time, They would reboot the router often but it did not help. On the morning of my checkout there was no hot water for several hours
The check-in time stated on their web site is noon, which is incorrect. There was no soap in the bathroom, just the bath wash.The shower curtain was damaged, and too long so you end up stepping on it while taking shower, which did not feel safe...
The food at the restaurant is good (breakfast, dinner).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vj011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the fact that we did not meet your expectations, hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are very sorry to hear the internet wasn't working correctly. It seems like you have informed the hotel about the problems and that they have rebooted the router, but still you had no internet. What did you do then, can you please inform us about this?

You are also saying the check-in time on the webiste is noon, can you please tell me on which website you have seen this?

We are looking forward to your reply.

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
155 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A shuttle goes to the hotel in every 30 mins - the drive takes not more than 10 mins.
The room was basic but not so clean. I like the gym which was equipped with treadmills, bicycles etc. What I also liked was the breakfast which was standard but delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are sorry to hear that the room wasn't as clean as you expected it to be. Hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for two nights last week and really enjoyed our stay,less than half an hr from central station in Amsterdam,including the hotel shuttle which is less than ten mins..it cost us 8 euro each return from airport to central station so we stayed away all day till we got the last shuttle bus from airport at 11.45 pm..that was a bit of a pain having to leave a lively city so early.We didnt eat at the hotel we went to mc donalds next door....fridge was very handy in room to store our milk for our tea as us Irish like milky tea.Beds comfy but not impressed that two singles were pushed together..staff were friendly,shuttle bus very good always on time make sure to always early as the drivers some times go a minute r two early especially from airport at 11.45pmfor the last one.I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123fid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is all that you require when travelling. The location is perfect, service excellent. The staff are wonderful and the food is excellent. The complimentary shuttle to and from the airport is a really nice touch. The facilities are ample. The only downfall of this property is that housekeeping needs some urgent training and attention especially, with regards to cleaning bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Best Western Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We would like to apologize for the fact that we did not meet your expectations regarding the bathroom, hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.1 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Property: Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing