We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started great, then went downhill.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
1 review
“Started great, then went downhill.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We just got home from our trip to the Netherlands. Since we had never been there before we based the hotel selection on reviews and price. I didn't have high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful suggesting that we visit Papas Beach house for supper. However they did not mention that the breakfast was 14euro and there were no signs. So in the morning we ate the continental breakfast and continued until the third morning when they let us know that it was not included. Of course we should have checked but being from the USA I have never paid for a continental breakfast in a hotel. So beware... Also as our stay went on the housekeeping pretty much became non existent. They made the bed (I doubt with new bedding) but did not vacuum, empty trash, or give us new towels. I talked go the manager and she said 'sorry' but that is all. Also to get the airport you need to take the shuttle you to the larger hotel then move to the larger shuttle (same when coming back). The bus stop is about 1/2 a mile away. So for the price the hotel is OK, we liked that it was not in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Diane B,

Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we really value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we always strive for excellence in customer service, we are keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for further development.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    118
    101
    50
    25
See reviews for
41
116
41
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
806 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 832 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was easy to get to the hotel. You just walk out of the arrivals entrance and turn right to where several hotel buses pick up people. Yes we had to use two buses and change to a smaller bus but it was all straightforward and took about 10-15 minutes. This is not a five or four star hotel so do not expect the Ritz nor is it a dive. The hotel has a bar, friendly staff and helpful.

The hotel although situated beside a motorway has great sound proofing I slept like a log in Room 39 on the ground floor. Room is basic, has a shower, safe, excellent wifi, two single beds with firm mattresses. There is a restaurant on site. We overslept and so missed breakfast. We also bought a few bits of food with us as we arrived late and just put them in the fridge and there are coffee and tea making facilities. All in all I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Bring some snacks they have fridges in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear KiwiinBrighton,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very good hotel if you are leaving from or arriving at Schiphol Airport Amsterdam.
Good service, nice rooms, convenient location.
Free parking if you need to fly for a few days and free shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: No pool but this was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Casper P,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is one of the cheapest option in Amsterdam but you need to consider what are your expectations.We felt really misguided because the hotels page & all the review I've read did say that you need to take a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel but no one taught to mention that it is actually 2 SHUTTLE BUSES YOU NEED TO TAKE TO GET TO THIS HOTEL.So the minimum is 1 hour to get into the city in case all buses& the train is in time.When we arrived to the hotel we asked the gentleman at the reception if there's any other way to get into the city he wasn't very helpful,however later on when we had any other questions he helped us.
The rooms were ok not extremely clean but fine for 3 days.We didn't take breakfast as it was overpriced for our budget-we had breakfast at the airport & McDonalds as the second shuttle was late half an hour.No shops/restaurants in the area.Beds were really comfortable and our room was really quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Ramona M,

Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we really value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we always strive for excellence in customer service, we are keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for further development.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On my way back from Rabobank World Cup Hockey Tournament in the Hague, I chose to spend a night in the vicinity of Amsterdam Schiphol area. Quiet, neat and clean this hotel was an excellent transit point. With Wi Fi facilities, hotel has also set aside a computer with internet facilities in the lobby for free use by guests. Rooms are excellent. Staff is cooperative and helpful. Bar at the Reception and adjoining restaurant on the ground floor are run well by the hospitable staff. It was so relaxing that I decided not to go out the whole day though the Hotel has an excellent half an hour free shuttle service to Schiphol from where one can take trains to any part of Amsterdam or rest of the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Located in quiet zone, rooms are comforting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prabhjot416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear prabhjot416,

Dear guest,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My friend and I were trying to travel on a tight budget so weren't expecting such a nice hotel for what we had paid!

We had got in several hours before check in, and due to the lack of sleep we got on the coach (which dropped us in central Amsterdam at 6am) we just wanted to check in and crash. The staff were incredibly nice and let us nap in their reception until a room was ready for us, at 12, so 2 hours before check ins start!

The rooms were clean and spacious and a safe was provided which was helpful. The only downfall really was how far it was from central Amsterdam, though not really the hotels fault, I guess. It was a cheap tram ride that lasted roughly about 20mins to half an hour.

Overall would definitely recommend this place, actually hoping to go back there in a few weeks myself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KatieFry,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you loved your stay and that the staff contributed to a better stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again in a few weeks!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very decent priced hotel, we came in late (22:30) staff was friendly and helpful. Room is clean decent and perfect price/quality balanced. Complimentary coffee/tea is included!

However the sports field next to the hotel had a party that night and with loud music it kept us awake till 3 AM. Of course the hotel could not help this but it was a bad start for our holiday! We had to catch a early flight so that is why we booked a hotel near the airport in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxPeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

However, we deeply regret any inconvenience it may has caused you regarding the party from the sports field. We do hope you are enjoying your vacation and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp

Property: Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp
Address: Adrianahoeve 8, 2131 MN Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility: Because of its location along the road around Hoofddorp, and its location near the A4, makes this hotel ideal for guest who have to travel to Schiphol. By car this airport can be reached within 20 minutes, but the hotel also offers a free shuttle service from en to Schiphol. The shuttle departs from platform A9/13. Please inform at the hotel for the exact time schedule. The centre of the young and cozy Hoofddorp is well accessible the same for het Haarlemmermeersen Bos. Rooms: The 80 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage: At Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing