We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, restful, efficiency...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Spotless, restful, efficiency...”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A free (and prompt) airport shuttle eases travel and the clean, comfortable and QUIET rooms make you forget you are near a major airport.

Staff was pleasant, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was nice, and there's a peaceful forest park bursting with wildflowers and birdlife within easy walking distance. Also received and excellent dinner restaurant recommendation from staff (see other review).

We were very glad to have such a pleasant & restful "last night" after a busy two weeks of touring the Benelux area.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be nice - we were on the 1st floor (ground floor is 'zero'). Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas A, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you very much for the time you have taken to write your feedback about the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol Hotel.

It is our pleasure and duty to make a stay for our guests excellent and outstanding!

We are hoping to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

______________________________
Bas Achterberg
Duty Manager
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    463
    155
    58
    37
See reviews for
164
333
106
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ALABAMA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was clean and near the airport with a free transport. The breakfast was very good we were glad to see something that looked AMERICAN. The desk staff was very helpful as was the bar staff. The room are a little small but clean and neat, the bed was good. This a good place to stay before a flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIDE2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas A, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor! We appreciate the time you took to write your feedback!

Hopefully we may welcome you back in the future so we can give you a great stay again!


Met vriendelijke groeten / Kind regards,
______________________________
Bas Achterberg
Duty Manager
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here on a weekend trip to Amsterdam. The hotel was very clean and modern inside. It is a short (5 minute) walk from the Hoofddrop train station. Trains run frequently from there to the Amsterdam (about every 15 minutes). There is a free airport shuttle that runs every 15 minutes at peak times to the aiport. The breakfast buffet is served starting at 7am. Even though we had to leave earlier to catch our flight we had a breakfast bagged for us upon checking out. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rush1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with me. I really appreciate all of the feedback I receive from our guests.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and have a nice weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice rooms, free parking, free internet that was working ok. The hotel is very close to the trainstation with 22min drive to Amsterdam Central station. BUT: Too few employees to serve during breakfast, had to wait for a clean table, or sit at a not cleaned table with used plates and cups. Several times the breakfast buffet lacked bread, crossaints, glasses, cups, and we had to wait for the staff to fillup.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with me. I really appreciate all of the feedback I receive from our guests. I will pass on your comments concerning the breakfast.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and have a nice weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia-Antipolis/Mougins
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near to the airport and some seasonal attractions - Keukenhof, for example. It is a clean, modern property, staff is friendly. Complimentary breakfast is adequate. Internet works well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with me. I really appreciate all of the feedback I receive from our guests.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and have a nice weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Avoid the hassles and high prices of Amsterdam proper. Here you have free airport shuttle, a 3 minute walk to train for all destinations, great breakfast and comfortable quiet rooms. It's in a bit of a concrete jungle but a nice walk, about 15-20 minutes, to Hoofddoorp town center for restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with me. I really appreciate all of the feedback I receive from our guests.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and have a nice Easter weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hampton Inn, Hoofddorp, near Schipol Airport, Amsterdam. Being a Marriott Gold member when booking hotels I always look at Marriott properties first and looked at the Courtyard Schipol but the rates were what I considered much too high for a Courtyard property, in part due to the bulb season no doubt. The ones in Amsterdam centre were typical major city rates, on par with London and New York, so because the primary reason for my trip was to visit Keukenhof gardens I decided against these too.

The rates on offer at the Hampton Inn were very good 71 euro’s plus tax per night and the majority of reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites were good so I thought why not. As I said my main reason for the trip was to visit Keukenhof gardens so staying at a property near the airport made a lot of sense as the special express bus goes from just outside the main entrance doors, to help others I’ve put a review on of my experiences of getting there and also the gardens themselves.

The hotel apparently only opened in April 2013 according to a letter handed me on check in. I arrived around 09.30 on a very busy Sunday morning and caught the shuttle from the airport. Not surprisingly no rooms were ready at that time and the breakfast area was really crowded, I chose to sit and wait in a comfortable seating area alongside the main reception. This turned out to be quite an interesting time as it did highlight the issues others have raised about the shuttle. Why do people always take it out on the reception staff if a shuttle is late arriving or is full, traffic around airports can often be congested and totally outside of the staff’s control, however, the size and timings of the shuttle is something management can do something about and in my opinion need to review, as it seemed to cause quite a lot of unnecessary work for the reception staff, not to mention disgruntled guests who left with a bad impression of the hotel. My advice use the train, see below.

I didn’t have to wait to long for a clean room, check in went smoothly. On entering the room I was really impressed with the modern layout and the spotless clean housekeeping. Ok so you couldn’t hold a dance in there but it was a good side with a double bed, desk, hangers (behind the bathroom's sliding door) and drawers, 32” flat screen TV with plenty of channels with several languages including Discovery and National Geographic. There was a small laptop size safe, which I like, plus coffee and tea making facilities. The shower was powerful enough unless you really do like to be blasted; the soap and shampoo were in dispensers. The room had plenty of lighting which required the room key to be inserted above the switches on entering the room. The sink and shower both had hot water.

The breakfast as some other reviews have said was very good, scrambled eggs, baked beans, bacon and sausage were the hot choices. Choice of coffee types and fruit juices plus pastries and fresh fruit and a nice selection of cold meats and cheeses. I would have to agree the choices were greater than that found in Hampton Inn’s in the USA I’ve stayed at.

The hotel has a small bar and sells a small selection of snacks neither of which I tried so can’t comment on prices, etc.

The free Wi-Fi worked fine in my room and there are two computers next to reception with a printer.

A couple of things I checked before booking the Hampton , how much car parking capacity did they have and how close was it to the train station. I checked these because looking on Google maps it raised concerns, caused by the fact that the Google site is out of date, they are still showing the Hampton Inn in its previous life as an office for Canon. Through trip Advisor I asked Hampton how much car parking they had because I was thinking of hiring a car, Mark Welbers very quickly came back and reassured me there was plenty; although given the excess that is charged by the hire car companies in the Netherlands I chose the public transport option for getting around, which turned out to be the correct decision for me.

I think the reviews that mention the shuttle bus as an issue are correct, the buses are very small but can and should be booked early to avoid disappointment. However, that said there is an entrance with a ticket machine for the train station with direct links into Schipol, only 4 minutes away, right opposite the Hampton less than 100 yards across the road. Top tip here; the railway ticket machines only take coins or Maestro cards, so if you have Visa, MasterCard, etc. credit cards you are out of luck. You can however use these at the Schipol Railway ticket office; like in the UK the Netherlands recognise use the chip and PIN. They do offer something called a OV Click card similar to London’s Oyster card but I wasn’t there long enough to get one of these so can’t comment on the pro’s and con’s over a paper ticket.

From Hoofddorp you can get direct trains to Amsterdam Central for 9.60 euro return, Schipol return is 4.80 euro’s. It is in fact only 0.20 euro more expensive to purchase a Hoofddorp to Amsterdam Central return than it is getting the shuttle to the airport and buying a Schipol to Amsterdam Central return. If you intend going into Amsterdam for the day I would certainly recommend the train from Hoofddorp, the trains are regular, frequent and I thought safe. From here you can also catch trains to Leiden, The Hague, Rotterdam and other major cities. A word of warning the single Hoofddorp to Schipol is 2.40 euro's and the return is double, so it does make sense to get the Hoofddorp to Amsterdam Central return as it saves you money and time, no waiting around at the hotel or at Schipol for the shuttle bus.

A very good hotel in a quiet and safe area offering affordable rates that includes free breakfast and Wi-Fi all within 25 minutes of the centre of Amsterdam and 4 minutes from Schipol by train, I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 4th floor facing away from the train lines, no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pointscollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with me. I really appreciate all of the feedback I receive from our guests.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and have a nice Easter weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.4 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Property: Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Address: Neptunusstraat 1, 2132 JA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're catching a flight, you're here to discover Amsterdam, The Hague or Haarlem or you're on business nearby, count on Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol for a modern, comfortable base close to it all. Our Amsterdam hotel is located just five minutes from the airport and a 20 minute train ride from Amsterdam's city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing