We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for access to airport/Schipol trains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for access to airport/Schipol trains”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks as a base/central hub for exploring The Netherlands in general, not just Amsterdam. Prompt shuttle to/from the airport/trains made it very easy to get just about anywhere in the country for day trips. We could be in Amsterdam within 45 minutes of leaving the hotel; Rotterdam in less than 90 minutes.

Soundproofing in the rooms to block airplane noise is excellent. The room had two twin beds, great for friends traveling together. This was a slightly larger room than what I've had in other European cities in this price range. The room was consistently cleaned. Breakfast is higher priced than the McDonalds next door, but has a good selection of rolls, cold meats, yogurt, eggs, bacon. Reception and dining staff were always courteous and helpful. Check-in and check-out was promptly taken care of.

The only hiccups in 2 weeks was that there apparently was a convention/large meeting one day that seemed to have overwhelmed the breakfast staff - they had trouble keeping up. The same day we had an issue with no towels left by housekeeping. Both situations were quickly rectified.

The rooms are not soundproofed between floors, however. To sit on either of the two chairs in the room, you must drag them on the uncarpeted floor. This does cause some noise, and it was very noticeable when the occupants in the room above were moving their chairs.

I recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't need/want to stay in the heart of Amsterdam itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    235
    134
    65
    38
See reviews for
86
184
80
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munster
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

shuttle bus is good, out the main exit of Schiphol turn right & look for A9 bus stop., the rooms did not allow windows to be open. if you need an early check-in email before & it can be arranged, Mc'ds is in the car park. overall it was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I will just list the facts as i observed them.
1. Airport shuttle is every 30 minutes. Pretty easy to catch and it's free.
2. Hotel is 10-15 minutes ride from the airport.
3. Checkin very quick and friendly. They have all the paperwork and keys prepped and it's just question of finding your reservation number.
4. Rooms only with two single beds, no rooms with queen bed. But single beds are easily moved together.
5. Mattress is a little too soft for my taste. If you're a stomach sleeper as i am a firmer mattress would be preferred. But ok for one night.
6. Good sound isolation. Considering how close a very busy airport was we did not hear a sound.
7. Bathroom is of a good size with good water pressure.
8. Restaurant service... well... the kitchen was closed half an hour before posted time because 'it was quiet and cooks decided to go home'. The waitress/receptionist made an effort to make our dinner which makes me think it was all pre-made and just warmed to order. At least that's how my chicken wrap tasted.
9. There is a McDonalds across the street - definitely a better bet for breakfast at least.
10. Neighborhood is not for tourists. Nothing there at all other than few hotels and warehouses.
11. Gym is very basic with no weights an only three different cardio machines. Pool looked ok but we did not go in.
12. Good speed free wi-fi.

Although overall it was a satisfactory stay next time we will look for something else. Maybe closer to airport and train to city?

P.S. Please note that for some reason all the doors in the hotel are very heavy and all the amities (closets and showers specifically) are meant for very tall people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport and for your elaborate comments about your stay.

Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have just return from spending the Easter holiday in Amsterdam and this hotel was a last resort.
Everything about this hotel was great. And the location is fine if you want to chill out and not worry about rowdy people making noise. The free airport shuttle was a bones. I will definitely be staying here again when I come back to Amsterdam. :)

Room Tip: I had a twin room to myself and it was cheaper than a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahsoka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a great Easter weekend!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited this hotel as part of a package tour around Netherlands. The hotel itself was nice and clean. The dinner service was a bit chaotic although the tour company may have been responsible for that. The metro system in Amsterdam is amazing and you can reach the city center in about 30 minutes. We never felt uncomfortable coming back to the hotel late in the night around 2:00 PM. So overall, a good hotel to stay and explore areas around Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Airport. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

we hope you have enjoyed your package tour in the Netherlands and that you have seen a lot of beautiful things.

We hope you had a nice weekend in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. It is close to Amsterdam and we offer free parking.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.0 mi away
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Property: Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Address: Vuursteen 3, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport is a luxurious four star hotel that stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office services, comfortable deluxe rooms and an extensive choice of dishes at its atmospheric restaurant. Guests are welcome at the hotelbar and seperate smoking lounge. The hotel offers complimentary use of the fitness room and swimming pool. Free wireless internet access is available in the entire hotel. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport and can be easily reached within seven minutes by car. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility The hotel is ideally situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport and in the vicitiy of Business Centres in and around Schiphol/Hoofddorp. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. Many attractive cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 185 Deluxe rooms. The Deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, free WiFi, a working desk, a safe, free coffee & tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath/shower, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing